We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2c 2013”
Review of Alston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alston House
Ranked #2 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“C2c 2013”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We do the c2c each year and have stayed at Alston house for the last six. the rooms are beautiful and have just had the bathrooms refurbed to a very high standard. Malcolm Carol and the staff are genuinely very friendly and could not be more helpfully. The food is of a very high standard the rib eye steak was superb. I really look forward. To my stay at Alston house and plan to return soon just for a nice peaceful break and some more great food. There is also a great little cafe attached to the hotel if you fancy a nice coffee and cake if you are passing, well worth calling in. Bikers leather or Lycra clad are all made welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north side have better phone signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    63
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
126
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Called at Alston house for a meal after staying at a large hotel in Alston. The service was very friendly and the food delicious. We enjoyed it so much we went back the following evening.
After enquiring about rooms for future visits, the owner asked us if we would like to see them. We were very impressed and will be staying there in the future.
Highly recommended, value for money and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisamalgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We did the C2C over 2 days. following a few issues late start, weather and mechanical failures several of our group arrived late. Staff were welcoming and friendly taking late orders at the restaurant. Facilities were great and food was top notch. Many thanks to management and staff for a great stop off point which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Baths are not in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport in Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wet & windy weekend in Nenthead. After enjoying the historical sights we needed a solid, warming hot meal. We went to the Alston Hotel and had an excellent Sunday roast dinner with an assortment of vegetables inclusive & a delicious sticky toffee pudding. A bottle of Chardonnay helped. The service was polite, efficient & smiling. A friendly place with a good chef.Thanks.

Room Tip: Did not stay in this hotel..Just had the meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurnipTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed here while doing the C2C. the hotel is lovely, the room I had, a double was very modern and comfortable. food, especially breakfast was fantastic. The only downside i would say is that some rooms (maybe all?) are on the front of the hotel and is noisy with "boy racers" going up and down the high street until the earlyhours - not a problem if your a good sleeper, however if your not then it will keep you awake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCumbriaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Having cycled into the wind up 500m of ascent onto nearby Hartside Summit, we arrived sodden and very late, in need of warmth and comfort. We got just that. We were first welcomed by a lady who turned out to be our excellent chef, and the landlady followed with similar warmth and excellent service. She had earlier carried my wife's very large case up to our excellent room, despite, as we subsequently discovered, being 14 weeks pregnant ! Good beer, food and whisky, perhaps the wine list could offer more at the top end, but all in all I would recommend the Alston House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
2.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
12.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston House

Property: Alston House
Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding food at this family run hotel. There is a cafe, restaurant and bar and seven ensuite rooms. The cafe serves homemade cakes and scones with lattes, chill out and meet your friends. The popular evening restaurant has extensive menu catering for all. Most of the rooms are spacious with lovely fell views with comfortable beds. The service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Situated in Alstonwith all its facitities and within an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alston House Hotel Alston
Alston House Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing