We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Alston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alston House
Ranked #2 of 14 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Sadly this is just a comment on the Sunday lunch we had today and not an overnight stay, after going a few times over the last few months we have to say its great, friendly staff and lovely food. In the dinning area there is a very cosy, comfortable and warm feeling, nice and relaxed with views of the gardens and the fells. A cafe menu is available but i strongly recommend the Sunday lunch, its really very good. Alston is a bit of a hike, but well worth the run if your tummy is rumbling!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Alston House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Still a good experience - not 5 star luxury, but good food and slightly weird but satisfactory en-suite rooms (on this occasion the bathroom was round a corner with a step halfway along the bathroom floor which was a bit disconcerting). Overall a great experience for the price with no hassles.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the attention and friendliness if the staff. The food was excellent and badly needed after day 2 of the C2C. Cycles were stored and kept locked up, the room I had was very comfortable and cosy, the bathroom was first class, the bath was one of the highlights of the day. (Room 1)
It is obviously a very popular stay in the area as it appeared to be busy, certainly the restaurant was but they managed with our party of 16 well

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My son and I were very impressed with the service before, during and after our stay at Alston House. Carol looked after our bags before and after we passed through on our bikes. The twin room was spacious with a great shower. We had dinner in the restaurant and had an excellent steak pie; breakfast was plentiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This place is great, inside is clean and modern whilst still maintaining the English village charm. The food and drinks are reasonably priced and the food is very nice. We visited in te summer so spent a couple of days on the beer garden, it's really beautiful, the best place in Alston

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meredith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I was staying in Alston whilst doing the Pennine Way. Decided to have Sunday lunch at Alston House. The food is delicious and cooked with love.

I had a beef lasagna and for dessert, I had a sticky toffee pudding. One of the best that I have had.

This restaurant has the rating that it deserves and I highly suggest for you to go there for a meal.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rtplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We do the c2c each year and have stayed at Alston house for the last six. the rooms are beautiful and have just had the bathrooms refurbed to a very high standard. Malcolm Carol and the staff are genuinely very friendly and could not be more helpfully. The food is of a very high standard the rib eye steak was superb. I really look forward. To my stay at Alston house and plan to return soon just for a nice peaceful break and some more great food. There is also a great little cafe attached to the hotel if you fancy a nice coffee and cake if you are passing, well worth calling in. Bikers leather or Lycra clad are all made welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north side have better phone signal
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
2.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
118 reviews
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
2.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#8 of 14 in Alston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston House

Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding food at this family run hotel. There is a cafe, restaurant and bar and seven ensuite rooms. The cafe serves homemade cakes and scones with lattes, chill out and meet your friends. The popular evening restaurant has extensive menu catering for all. Most of the rooms are spacious with lovely fell views with comfortable beds. The service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Situated in Alstonwith all its facitities and within an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alston House Hotel Alston
Alston House Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing