We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog and people friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alston House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alston House
Ranked #2 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
teesdale u k
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dog and people friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We have just had a one night break with dinner. We took our dog, Harry, who we were able to take, on a lead, into all the public areas except for the restaurant proper and the breakfast room. We found a table by the log fire in the bar, for a pre dinner beer (very good local brewery), where we later had a very tasty and amply proportioned dinner. Harry was very much welcomed by Michael and Carole who run the hotel, and was entertained by a constant stream of other guests and the local WI who came in for their annual buffet. We found a warm welcome, and an obviously recently refurbished hotel, where both the public spaces and the rooms are nicely decorated to a good standard. Our room was warm and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom, with nice fluffy towels! Although it faced the main road, there was virtually no traffic noise.

Windows are all single glazed sliding sash. This is a very old building, and clearly difficult to heat, so some of the public spaces were not as warm as they might have been, although it was a cold night and we were fine by the fire. Double glazing would help address this, but the building may be listed, restricting what can be done in this regard.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay, and hope to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teesdalewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    60
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
35
123
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends while cycling the coast to coast. Large rooms with reasonable lev el of decor. Like a lot of old places it is difficult to fit modern ameneities without some rough edges appearinf every now and then.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for my wifes 65th birthday recently,warm welcome and a nice large room(no3),nicely decorated and clean,wonderful bathroom with terrific shower,and the bath! large (I could have learned to swim in it !),lots of hot water and complimentary bath products ,nice soft towels too,Carole and Mike have the whole hotel nicely decorated,the dining area is really cosy and decorated ,and the food well ..we have not stayed here before but have called in for meals several times on our way home from various areas of weardale and Cumbria and it always is of the top quality,all food is sourced locally and the Duck and my fillet stake were so delicious as usual,sunday lunch served all day looked good too,the complimentary loaf of fresh cooked bread is a bonus too,all in all this hotel or restaurant maintain there standards and is good to see,we will visit again as soon as we can ,and thanks to Mike and Carole for their hospitality..again;

Room Tip: If your long legged or tall room 3 the bath could have been designed for Americans who are tall and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petenmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Large, smartly decorated room (no. 3) overlooking garden and road, but very quiet at night, no obvious traffic noise. Room and bathroom fairly recently refurbished, kingsize comfortable bed. Shower a bit of a triumph of style over substance, but worked reasonably well. Few other guests/diners while we were there so dining room atmosphere was a bit lacking but food was pretty good - I had ribs and the portion was massive, certainly couldn't face dessert! Breakfast very nice also.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Yesterday we held our wedding at alston house, the whole day was superb from start to finish. Carol, Mike, Simone & all the staff did everything they could do make this day special day perfect. The food was absolutely amazing, everyone commented on how delicious the food was, both wedding breakfast & evening buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Went here at the weekend for a surprise 50th Celebration meal for my sister. A large group (16) of all ages - from teenagers to the more mature generation travelled from Manchester, West Cumbria, Cheshire and Wigan. We all thoroughly enjoyed the fantastic food and service. The staff were so friendly and welcomed us as soon as we entered. As for the warm organic bread......amazing! Thank you for making it a very special time to remember. We will all recommend you to our friends and intend to come back in summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

we had dinner at Alston house on Tuesday of last week and I can honestly say the food is just fabulous!!
I had the steak burger and it was huge (picture below) and it tasted as beautiful as it looked. my sister had the lamb which melted in the mouth, my husband had the pizza and he said It was one one the best he's had.
A lovely touch is while your waiting for dinner the waitress brings over free of charge a lovely warm uncut loaf of bread with a bowl of real butter and it tasted just wonderful.
Waitress was really really helpful nothing was too much bother for her
we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
3.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
12.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
2.5 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston House

Property: Alston House
Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding food at this family run hotel. There is a cafe, restaurant and bar and seven ensuite rooms. The cafe serves homemade cakes and scones with lattes, chill out and meet your friends. The popular evening restaurant has extensive menu catering for all. Most of the rooms are spacious with lovely fell views with comfortable beds. The service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Situated in Alstonwith all its facitities and within an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alston House Hotel Alston
Alston House Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing