We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noth Penines Hideaway”
Review of Victoria Inn

Victoria Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Alston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Noth Penines Hideaway”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Quite a jolly visit to this friendly hotel. The Indian restaurant at the back of the public bar gave good food and entertaing guests' conversation. Bedroom was 'Victorian' but modern en suite - glass and pine. Bigger room than I had for two in French hotel and the price for B&B here was below Travelodge and certainly more space. Look out for the cyclistts in Lycra and try not to get a bedroom above the bar!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We were staying in a cottage near by and decided to take a "punt" on the curry as I know the pub from years past and its pretty run down. We made a good decision. I had the vindaloo and the wife had chicken Tikkas plus starters, keema nan etc.
It was one of the best currys ive ever had and I dont say that lightly as I live in Leeds, not far from Bradford and we have curry every week.
Highly recommended, just see through the pub.

Room Tip: Didnt stay so no comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We didn't stay here but went in for the Curry.

It was a little dowdy and rundown and choice of beers wasn't the best. We did nearly leave, it looks/feels like a locals pub (pool table, young uns etc).

However, the Indian attached was one of THE best we've ever experienced: good portions of really tasty food. It was slightly expensive but hey, it's out in the boonies and the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Well located in Alston town centre with a friendly landlady and staff. Slightly tired decor, but quite comfortable and clean with a good shower. Breakfast was as it comes, however OK. The Indian restaurant in the pub was all a little unusual. For a relatively inexpensive overnight stay was all fine with secure space for the bike. However I will be reverting back to the Alston House Hotel as my normal referred choice in Alston if the accommodation is available ( was not for this trip)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I recently stayed at the victoria inn with two friends. on first entering no it was,nt WOW factor ,but am i glad we stayed there the landlady was a pleasure to meet helpfull and friendly as were the staff. The indian restaurant was sort of strange being in the dining room but it was an expeirience and the food we all agreed was the best we ever had anywhere so went back the following evening, this hotel is clean very good price and will be going back can,t wait. Shirley and friends

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 136Shirley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flookburgh, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Needed an inexpensive stop over that was convenient, close to amenities, shops etc. and found The VIC, a real and utter treasure beyond my expectations!!!!
The landlady (TIAN-I hope that is correct spelling) was a delightful Angel, nothing too much bother and her staff were first class.
A great PROPER pub (no CHROME & WALNUT pretentious crap here) with an integral indian restaurant and extremely friendly local crowd who know what fun is all about and enjoy themselves in a civil manner.
The SAVOY it is NOT!!!! BUT neither is the costing.... so I cannot understand the moaners and Whingers who have written insulting and negative comments about the VIC.
Such people really DO need to GET A LIFE!!!!
LOVE the place and as ARNIE once said....."I'LL BE BACK"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4cej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked in for one night in a busy week in August where we'd already been turned away from four fully booked B&Bs. So we jumped in. First thoughts were, what a great, amusing and friendly landlady, followed by a large and spacious en-suite room (see pic above).
The room was great, clean and tidy, with a large bed and seating. The en-suite was large enough, and clean.
Tea and coffee making facilitie were included, hand-wash and shower gel in the en-suite were a welcome bonus.
The only cons to the stay were the rather noisy extractor fan and toilet macerator unit in the en-suite which we thought would wake up the whole town, never mind the B&B, and the noisy lorries on the cobbles starting from around 6am. Oh and there being no real ales in the bar. Most other pubs within the town supply this so you're never far away from a good pint though.
Altogether the pros outweighed the cons. Which were first and foremost the amazing welcome, and chats with the incredibly friendly and amusing landlady, the comfort and space of the room we had, and the fact that it's right bang slap in a very pretty little town. The price was very reasonable too during a hectic tourist week.
Breakfast was good but not brilliant, but it was served with a huge smile and jokes, and we scoffed the lot (except the tomatoes which neither of us like) and enjoyed it.
We would definitely use it again, but we'd try and ensure we had a room at the back to reduce the road noise.
Thanks for making us feel so welcome landlady (didn't get your name).

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fodda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alston hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#8 of 14 in Alston
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
0.1 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 14 in Alston
270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: Front Street, Alston CA9 3SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Victoria Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Alston
Victoria Inn Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing