We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Mare
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St Bees)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
US$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
81
33
12
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
33
12
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmodern accommodationsunday lunchmobile phone signalsteak piescallop starterlovely friendly staffsea bassbar areaowners and stafflovely foodmain coursechecking outstayed for two nightscooked breakfastexcellent stayevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

had a great stay at the white mare, lovely room great location.Food exellent (breakfast plentyful) choice of food good and served hot.Host Phil was always cheerful and couldnt do enough for you and all other staff working there also exellant.Room was clean and comfy xxxxxxxxx
will be returning again xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It's well worth a visit if your in the area as the food is fantastic. Must take my hat off to the head chef what a pleasant chap he is made us feel really welcome will def be calling back again when in the area. Well done you

Room Tip: Did not stay only ate there so could not comment
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The rough being the wild and beautiful countryside all around, we found this wee gem using laterooms.com on our tour of the uk, lovely staff, very friendly , compliments to the chef for the morning breakfast, wonderful, set us up well for the rest of our journey xx

Room Tip: The proprietor let us have the White Mare Suite coz I think we were the only visitors that night, beautiful xx
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We decided to have our Sunday lunch at the White Mare and we are all so glad we did.
The food was excellent as was the service. We took our elderly mother along for her lunch and she thoroughly enjoyed it. We were greeted by lovely staff and a delicious carvery. The meal was so good that we are all looking forward to returning very soon. The Sunday Carvery is available from 12noon to 8pm, so it is a good place to enjoy a meal after a sunday afternoon walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My partner and I visited for the weekend and had a lovely stay. The village is very quiet and an ideal getaway! Staff were lovely and very very friendly-nothing was too much trouble. Food was great and the room was homely. We will definitely be visiting again! :0)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannimac247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews