We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up and coming!”
Review of The White Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Mare
Ranked #1 of 2 Beckermet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

From reading the last review I was very apprehensive about being booked into this hotel for by work, but as I wasnt paying what the hell!!
Was welcomed pleasantly by all the staff on entering to check in. Only one real ale on, but it was particulary good! As a member of CAMRA I am keen to see that real ale is being promoted especially in local pubs. On asking the manager why only real ale he told me that he had only been there a couple of weeks and that he would rather have one ale on that is kept perfectly, rather than 2 or 3 that might not sell. Hats off to the chap as it was excellent!
Food was what I expected, traditional pub grub that filled the plate and my belly! my only grumble is that it probably is a little more than what I would pay in my local!
Room was very comfortable, clean and warm. My breakfast was cooked by a lovely lady and the manager even stopped for a quick chat before taking his dog for his morning walk!
All in all i had a very enjoyable stay and would tell anyone to give it a try. Felt like staying with a relative for the night with a very warm reception and thoroughly enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: White Mare was more than adaquate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review, the White Mare has now been taken over by 2 local families. We endeavour to continue the high standards and we now have at least 2 cask ales on all the time.

Please come back and sample the ales and our extensive homemade and locally sourced menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This pub, owned by Star pubs, the new name for Scottish and Newcastle pubs, is best avoided for the time being. It has been run by a succession of temporary managers for a while and is almost always empty. My last three visits, just for an evening drink, were very poor. First time - the one real ale on was truly awful. Way too old and there was no more to put on. The second visit, around 9:45pm, they didn't even want us in. Were just waiting till the few hotel guests had gone to bed. The third - just one, very poor, real ale on, coupled with a funny attitude from the latest manager.

I hope it will improve when a permanent manager takes over.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdeCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

We are sorry to here of your poor service with the temporary managers.The White Mare has now been taken by two local families. Our aim is to bring the White Mare back to where it use to be at the heart of the village and make it a happy and welcoming place for all. There are now always at least two real ales on the food on the menu is predominately homemade and locally sourced and we have re-introduced the popular Sunday Carvery. Please come back and give us a try and sample our wonderful ales and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have been to the White Mare twice since my last review and both times I was disappointed, especially the last time. - I should have written a review but didn't, I am glad I didn't.

I said I wouldn't go back but got invited by a friend. I am very glad I did, the pub has been taken over by a new management team and the old atmosphere is back to where it was. The staff looked happier and actually seemed to want to be there which last time it was the opposite.

I had the carvery and it was lovely - The beef and gammon were juicy and the tatties were best I have had for a while.

Please give the new owners the benefit of the doubt and give them a try

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review Peter - I see you have visited the White Mare a number of times, I hope you will come back and see the changes we have made to the place since your last review. We have added a snug area and moved the carvery to the restaurant area. The menu has been totally changed from the previous tenants and now includes a large number of homemade and locally sourced items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Where to start, the staff and the owners in particular are rude and obnoxious and increased the price or beers as they knew we were not "local". The food came cold and had we noticed hairs in the meal and the plates had unusual staining. Please beware of visiting this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicken_pen_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliet H, Personal Assistant to Director at The White Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us, please would you kindly tell me on which day, and time and what you had to eat? We pride ourselves on excellent service and good food, this is out of the ordinary, so please let us know the information so that this concern can be dealt with appropriately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Went here a couple of weeks back when decided to venture out for Sunday Lunch. Was your typical carvery but a damn sight better than some we have been to in the past, generous portions and the veg was hot! Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. Only gripe would be if we were the ones who got stuck at the back of a queue waiting to be served like some we saw (only one person serving) but would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

ive been staying here on and off for the last 8 years i love the feel of the place staff are friendly and food is ok huge breakfast in the morning i just wish they would spend a little money on new mattresses in there beds i have woke up with back ache most of the time as the mattresses are far to soft i have stayed there at least once every year over the last 8 years i have slept in all the double rooms and its always the same no matter what room i stay in please sort this out and i will return this year and rate you much better :)

Room Tip: try out the bed first see what you think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upayforwhatyouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I came back to see where I use to work during school holidays and it was like stepping back in time, nothing had changed, apart from staff. the decorations were still the same.

Food was plentiful and excellent. It is full of regular eaters and the sunday lunch is worth noting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckermet
4.3 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
78 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Sella Park Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calder Bridge
158 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
169 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Mare

Address: Morass Road | Beckermet, Beckermet CA21 2XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Beckermet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beckermet
Price Range: £96 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Mare 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a £400,000 makeover, the White Mare in Beckermet now has 6 refurbished bedrooms available for discerning customers. Our fully refurbished Executive Rooms have been fitted out with new bathroom suites, new bedroom furniture (including luxurious king size beds) and have been tastefully redecorated throughout. Our orthopaedic mattresses and Egyptian cotton bedding are sure to aid a good night's sleep, while free internet access and new TVs will provide all you need for a relaxing stay. We also have two twin bedrooms, again fully refurbished with original bathroom suites. All rooms are located in a private courtyard with an outdoor private seating area for residents. Our new restaurant area has been fitted with a folding door screen to provide private conferencing and dinning areas for business clients or private parties. Seating up to 30 people, the room is fully equipped with a state of the art projector and screen plus all of the equipment you would expect from a quality venue. Hospitality ....The way it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Mare Beckermet, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing