We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food, good service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #2 of 3 Beckermet B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good pub food, good service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We haven't been to the Oak for a while as the food quality had been hit or miss for a while. With the Mare closed / closing, we thought we'd give it a go - overall, very pleased with the choice. Restaurant was quiet but still took quite a while for our food - however, knowing it was all cooked fresh made the wait worthwhile.

All our meals were well cooked & presented but lacked vegetables (apart from a salad garnish) but the homemade chips were plentiful and delicious!

Only downside to the meal was the bill - not the amount (very reasonable) but the fact that the card machine automatically adds a £1 charge irrespective if debit / credit card or value of bill. That's a new one to me and it's the principle rather than the charge itself.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    6
    3
    9
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Called for Sunday Lunch. Party of 4 adults and one child. Thoroughly enjoyed the food. Cooked well and very tasty. The service was also first class. I would recommend this establishment to anyone and will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davettom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

just had Sunday dinner at royal oak Beckermet Cumbria, great service, food spot on. Lamb cooked to perfection and all surrounds well presented highly recommend to all. Bar staff nice and friendly and heard accommodation is cheapest in area great value and well worth having a look.

Room Tip: nice,clean,friendly,great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A group of 13 adults and children when there for Sunday lunch last week. It was the best Sunday lunch that I have had in a while. The service was fast, pleasant and polite.
A real joy and friendly place to be in. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totty-Medic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seascale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

me and the wife decided to try the royal oak for our sunday lunch as we had noticed a few signs advertising new chef's and menu's and sunday lunch for £6.95 when we arrived the bar area was full of family's enjoying there meals and although the décor was in need of a facelift everyone seemed happy and the smell of the food was mouthwatering to say the least. we approached the bar where we met a young lady who was serving another customer but took a moment to greet us and said she would be with us in a moment as she was. we were seated in the resteraunt area which also could benefit from some new décor and new tables but still was pleasant. we were brought our drinks and were extremely surprised to see turkey on the menu in September !! we decided to try the turkey and lamb and must say we were really taken by surprise at what we received for what we paid it was a very enjoyable sunday lunch the best we have had for a while and could understand why we seen so many people enjoying it on our way in ! we were served by a pleasant young waitress whom checked that everything was ok for us during our meal.
I must say we were not expecting that quality of food and service and think maybe we were perhaps a bit 'snobby' with our first impressions of the place shall we say.
overall our personal experience was fantastic !
our compliments to the chef's for our lovely meals and a big thanks to the two young girls for their friendly and prompt service!
we will return in the future with our family for a meal !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We only called in on the off chance we were greeted at the bar by a pleasent warm and welcoming barmaid who treated us as if she had known us for years ! We ordered our meals and we're amazed by the prices for the portions we were served the food was lovely my steak was fantastic would definitely return again and would highly recommend to all my family and friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiemcleans000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Went for food with the kids. Steak and ale pie came with no top and was more of a steak soup than pie. My chilli was more like a spag Bol with kidney beans an added chilli powder. Restaurant was empty. Now I know why.

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beckermet hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckermet
0.9 mi away
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Sella Park Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calder Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Mare
The White Mare
#1 of 3 in Beckermet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#4 of 9 in St Bees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: Nursery Road, Beckermet CA21 2XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Beckermet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Beckermet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is now a family run free house located in Beckermet Cumbria. It has undergone a makeover with a new floor placed into the dining room, new decoration in the bars and rooms. We also offer free wifi, and have recently added Peroni and Thatchers gold to our alcohol selection as well as local real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Beckermet, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing