We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely walk”
Review of Fairy Steps

Fairy Steps
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I live in Arnside and can see Fairy Steps area from my house and have done this walk many times
Previous reviews have started the walk in Beetham
Try starting the walk in Arnside at the junction of Black Dyke Road and Briery Road
Footpath takes you over the fields up into the woods to Fairy Steps
Take a picnic and sit and enjoy the view from the top of the steps
You can then return past the quarry and come out by the Ship Inn at Sandside and have refreshments !!!
Then walk back along the estuary path which ends by Arnside Station, then walk back up Black Dyke Road to the start

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great short walk”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a short walk from the road at Slack Head, that can be made longer by starting at Beetham and doing a circuit that takes in Dallam Park too. There are areas of limestone pavement on the walk, and great views across Morecambe Bay to the Lake District on top of the Fairy Steps.
If you are a climber, you could bring your gear and do as few short routes as there are bolts on the crag; an older one being used to aid hauling coffins on the path from Arnside to Beetham.
A lovely walk, but be careful if it rains - limestone is slippery when wet.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Roseeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent adventure”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My 4yr old girl and 5yr old boy loved the walk. We started from beetham and played around the steps. Never went down or up them (very step) but walked around to the bottom.
We had a great time searching for fairies in 'the magic woods' we had a picnic too, plenty of places to put down a mat and eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry201184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting, but don't go too far out of your way”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The walk was nice and easy although it was very muddy. We walked from Beetham and back in under two hours. The moss on the rocks is beautiful. The steps are interesting and a good challenge. I would have been disappointed if I had travelled a distance to see them.
Combine the trip with cakes at the post office in beetham and overall its a nice half day out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another amazing feature in an overlooked area”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The area around Milnthorpe is awash with some great scenery, this covers both coast and countryside. The fairy steps is a path way cut into the limestone rock face. Its a bit of a tight squeeze but well worth the trouble. I believe this was the route the coffins took to reach the church at Bentham. Its hard to imagine has desolate nad isolated it must have been in this area to need such a route

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 625David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairy Steps also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Fairy Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing