We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nook Farm B&B

Nook Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nook Farm B&B
Ranked #11 of 16 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great Breakfast and near to Coast to Coast walk, Go to local pub for food. Place was clean and breakfast was early as we needed. Room was clean, shower could have been better. Perhaps could do with room to get changed out of wet clothes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived after a very long day's walking just in time to make it to the local pub for tea. You need to have ordered in the pub by 9pm (it is just a 5 min walk away from the B&B - and well worth getting there on time!).

B&B was nice, room comfy and very clean. I do agree with an earlier review that there was a lot of clutter on the bed. We were woken early by the farm dogs getting ready to go to work but this is to be expected on a working farm. We didn't say what time we wanted breakfast and so by the time we went down it was clear that the breakfast has been prepared a little earlier.

It is a good location - on the route.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I should have kept notes - we were doing the Coast to Coast and by the time we were done, I'd forgotten a lot about the places we stayed.

I can tell you that the beds were comfortable. The place was clean. The breakfast was good. We came in late (after 9pm) and felt bad that we had kept our host awake. We had to go straight to the pub before they stopped serving dinner. One of our party had raced ahead to let her know we had arrived in town but were at the pub. She seemed to understand that and was pleasant and polite.

We were a group of 5, 3 were to stay at Nook Farm and 2 were to stay at a nearby B & B. Unfortunately, I was unaware that sometimes brothers won't share a double bed -- so just as we were settling in, my brothers came knocking to explain their problem. So our host let 4 stay, since there were enough beds and one brother stayed alone at the other B & B. She also kindly added a breakfast so we could all eat together.

If you are doing the Coast to Coast, I recommend you bring a mobile with good coverage so you can let your accommodations know when you are running late. Also let your hosts know when you will need a packed lunch and check food service times at the places you plan to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, North Wales.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Arrived here from Ennerdale Bridge on the Coast to Coast walk, staying one night. We had booked a twin room, not ensuite, so you had to walk a short distance to the bathroom. The room was spotless with one large double bed and one single bed, tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent with plenty on offer for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent 2 nights here while walking the Cumbria Way. Lovely National Trust working farm property. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and spacious. The bed extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were made to order and tasty. Rosthwaite is a very small village but centrally located in the Borrowdale valley. Beautiful views and nice walks are all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was just great! Huge comfortable bed and very spacious room. The breakfast was very tasty and before we checked out we were lucky enough to be able to see the first two baby lambs of the season that had been born overnight - the bonus of staying on a working farm! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scheemda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

After arriving from the long day walking we gentle received by the owner. Obvious we have to take off our wet boots, but we could place near by the central heating them on a special shoeshelf. Very Good!! In the house was a lot of beautiful old stuff wich gives it a special atmos sphere. Our bedroom was spacious and also here was the typical atmossphere from the early days. In the evening we could sit in the cozy lounge watching TV
Breakfast was great with yogurt and of course bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nook Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nook Farm B&B

Property: Nook Farm B&B
Address: Nook Farm Borrowdale Valley | Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Nook Farm B&B Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing