We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch on a cold afternoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstrath Country Inn

Langstrath Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Borrowdale
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch on a cold afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Absolutely great. Arrived on a cold afternoon to be met by a roaring fire and a delicious lunch. Lovely atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie50302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service in beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited the Langstrath Inn on the basis of its beautful, remote location, but were very impressed with the excellent, well organised service and great food.

I particularly appreciated the soft and tasty bread with olive oil and butter which materialised on our table within a couple of minutes of ordering.

Well kept beers too.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

we recently came across this little treat of a place whilst camping nearby. The food is excellent, the staff are great and helpful,and the actual pub is quaint and snug. Defo worth a visit but book first as it's so busy. The meal is one of those you remember when you are really hungry and want to eat it again and again!! The lady who owns it is also really friendly and helpful

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stodnfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A haven for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent food - Menu had different specials every night. Wonderful location as well. Great for walkers and any visitor to this beautiful area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caffeine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
183 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good food and wine, albeit a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Despite not having visited the restaurant for two years, we were immediately recognised by the senior waitress, who made us feel very welcome. There were some communication problems with the Polish waitress whose command of English isn't great, and she needs some training in how to put dishes gently on the table, but she smiled throughout! The starters of soup and smoked trout were very good, although the bed of rocket under the smoked trout could have been omitted or replaced by some simple green leaves. The wholemeal bread was very good, but we were disappointed that there was only one slice each - when we asked for more, we were told that only sliced white bread was available. A restaurant of this type should have plenty of bread available at all times.
The main courses of Cumberland sausage and gammon were really good and more than adequate - my wife couldn't finish her sausage dish.
The wine list is a bit limited and very expensive, but the Italian red that we had was unusual and truly delicious. It would be good if there were house wines available at a more reasonable price - everything is over £20 a bottle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langstrath Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Langstrath Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing