We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“even in the rain”

Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #9 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“even in the rain”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

from ellesmere port to the lakes poured down .stayed in yewtree for a couple of days ,did the walk over to grange wellies on,watched some of olympics at local pub,everyone really friendly.back to the port still lashing down,stress levels zero back next easter i hope.bill hislop

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures.On the route. Most unwelcoming landlady of the whole three weeks – unfortunately as it is a lovely old farmhouse which is beautifully furnished. Perhaps the National Trust who own it should do a “secret shopper” visit. No evening meal but a local pub (Scafell Hotel) only a few minutes away. Good breakfast (not served by the landlady) at a shared single table. Breakfast at 0845 spot on (“Breakfast at 8:44 – I say that because everyone remembers it better than 8:45”), too late really for most Coast-to-Coasters. Comfortable separate lounge. Bedroom comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed as family of four on C2C walk. Comfortable quirky rooms with lots of charm and character. Breakfast was a 8.45am which was OK for us but could be too late for other walkers. Breakfast was the nicest on our whole walk with excellent sausages and a good packed lunch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMarc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Apparently Prince Charles and his sons have stayed here, and perhaps that explains the slightly haughty attitude from the owner ... When is breakfast, I asked ... Between 8.44 and 8.45 was the reply ... Oh well 8.44 then please, I wish to make an early start ... The room was small as was the presumably Jacobean bed, uncomfortable for me at 6foot4 ... but it was clean and in my room a small cupboard had been converted into a loo, and another into a shower. I was walking the coast to coast path, and on my walk I discovered that some B&B's are geared up for walkers, and others aren't. This one falls firmly in the "aren't" category, which is odd as it's surrounded by some of Englands' finest hills. The non negotiable breakfast time will hopefully eventually sink in with these owners, and they might be persuaded to get out of bed just that little bit earlier - I'd gladly stay again if they were to do that.

Room Tip: My bed was short - if you're tall ask if they have any decent sized beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Enjoyed the room. Not the friendliest welcome or service.
I cannot imagine a hotel catering to C to C travelers starting breakfast at a non negotiable 08:45.

Room Tip: Not the place for an early start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winnterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay at Yew Tree Farm and have had a wonderful time in this lovely cottage despite the poor weather!
Everyone at Yew Tree made us so welcome, the rooms are very cosy and breakfast was fantastic which really set us up for the day. Breakfast is set out on one large table which is great for chatting to other guests, and we met people from America and Australia plus some English guests who were staying there on their way across the Coast to Coast Walk.

This is such a peaceful place and if you need some time to chill out and relax in a beautiful setting then this little gem is the place for you!.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Recently our friends stayed here overiight they were doing a long walk. We stayed in Keswick and needed to contact them as there was no signal to their mobile, I phoned the Yew Tree and the lady who answered the phone was abrupt and not to willing to take my important message, 2 days later when we meet up with our friends, they told us that as they were going out of the door, she make made a casual remark about "someone called Ann phoned", but no other information was pass on. We were disgusted about that, and that the breakfast is not served until 8:45 for walkers who want to get on their way as early as possible. Despite the glowing remarks above, this is a place we would never stay or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrowdale hotels
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Seatoller House
Seatoller House
#2 of 3 in Seatoller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm

Property: Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Hotel Class:3 star — Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm Hotel Rosthwaite
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing