We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast”

Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #10 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We just spent a very relaxing weekend here, on the way home we felt like we'd had a week's holiday we were so relaxed!
Very welcoming, very comfortable, lovely farmhouse bedroom, en suite shower and WC, great breakfast, I'm on a special diet, which was no problem whatsoever. Big area inside the front door for leaving muddy/wet footwear. We're definitely going back again!

Room Tip: Only been once and tried one room, double bed, en suite shower and WC, I think the other guests were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

The title says it all.
We enjoyed a two night stay and this fitted the bill.
Our room was a wee bit cold but the bed was superb and once in we were as warm as toast.
The comfortable lounge downstairs with it's natural look 'gas' fire was great for catching up on emails/browsing the web on the free WIFI.
The breakfast was great, both in quality, quantity and choice.
Our welcome was friendly too.
What would make it a 5*? Flexibility around breakfast time. After a hard weeks work 08:45 was great this weekend, however in the Summer with Scafell Pike waiting, maybe an earlier option would be appreciated.
Another reason to stay is that this location is ideal for a huge variety of walks from the Yew Tree doorstep! Level and gentle, to uphill and challenging fell walks.
Dont forget the Flock-Inn cafe either, the food is very good and a showcase for their very tasty lamb, reared on the fields close by.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank neileasyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

from ellesmere port to the lakes poured down .stayed in yewtree for a couple of days ,did the walk over to grange wellies on,watched some of olympics at local pub,everyone really friendly.back to the port still lashing down,stress levels zero back next easter i hope.bill hislop

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures.On the route. Most unwelcoming landlady of the whole three weeks – unfortunately as it is a lovely old farmhouse which is beautifully furnished. Perhaps the National Trust who own it should do a “secret shopper” visit. No evening meal but a local pub (Scafell Hotel) only a few minutes away. Good breakfast (not served by the landlady) at a shared single table. Breakfast at 0845 spot on (“Breakfast at 8:44 – I say that because everyone remembers it better than 8:45”), too late really for most Coast-to-Coasters. Comfortable separate lounge. Bedroom comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed as family of four on C2C walk. Comfortable quirky rooms with lots of charm and character. Breakfast was a 8.45am which was OK for us but could be too late for other walkers. Breakfast was the nicest on our whole walk with excellent sausages and a good packed lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieMarc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Apparently Prince Charles and his sons have stayed here, and perhaps that explains the slightly haughty attitude from the owner ... When is breakfast, I asked ... Between 8.44 and 8.45 was the reply ... Oh well 8.44 then please, I wish to make an early start ... The room was small as was the presumably Jacobean bed, uncomfortable for me at 6foot4 ... but it was clean and in my room a small cupboard had been converted into a loo, and another into a shower. I was walking the coast to coast path, and on my walk I discovered that some B&B's are geared up for walkers, and others aren't. This one falls firmly in the "aren't" category, which is odd as it's surrounded by some of Englands' finest hills. The non negotiable breakfast time will hopefully eventually sink in with these owners, and they might be persuaded to get out of bed just that little bit earlier - I'd gladly stay again if they were to do that.

Room Tip: My bed was short - if you're tall ask if they have any decent sized beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Enjoyed the room. Not the friendliest welcome or service.
I cannot imagine a hotel catering to C to C travelers starting breakfast at a non negotiable 08:45.

Room Tip: Not the place for an early start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winnterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrowdale hotels
0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
853 reviews
0 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
498 reviews
0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glaramara
Glaramara
#1 of 3 in Seatoller
192 reviews
0 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm

Address: Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Hotel Class:3 star — Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm Hotel Rosthwaite
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing