We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic tranquil haven to escape to”

Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #13 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic tranquil haven to escape to”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Yew Tree Farm B&B in Borrowdale is an ABSOLUTE FAVOURITE of mine! I have stayed here 8 times in the last 7 years, as I find it is such a wonderful place to escape to, and I’ve met a number of fellow guests who have also been paying return visits for the same reason.

The setting of the B&B is really stunning – the view down the valley from the farmhouse and the attached tearoom is beautiful and so incredibly peaceful. The B&B is part of a working sheep farm, which is owned by the National Trust. It is run by Hazel and Joe, (a sheep farmer), who are delightful, and they have a number of people who help out who are very friendly. You need to get used to their Lake District dry humour! The accommodation is comfortable and very homely – an elegant lounge and dining room downstairs and three en-suite rooms upstairs, two doubles and a twin. The middle double room has a particularly nice, very spacious bathroom and the twin room has a great view of the valley. In all the rooms you fall asleep to the distant sound of sheep and wake up to the sound of birds right outside the window.

The breakfasts are delicious and absolutely HUGE if you go for the cooked option - they include the best bacon I have eaten. There are alternative options for people who are not planning to do the longest hike in history to walk it all off! Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 8.45am, which may not be ideal for those wanting to make a very early start, but it comes very promptly so you can usually make a pretty quick getaway straight afterwards.

I’d recommend taking the time to sit and enjoy the view from the garden of the tearoom opposite the farmhouse, whether its during the day when the tearoom is open, early in the morning as the dawn comes up, or in the evening with a glass of wine (you’ll need to bring your own, as the B&B isn’t licensed, but they will always chill a bottle for you). Amongst other things, the tearoom serves delicious pasties and stew made from the farm’s own Herdwick lamb, the best cheese scones and the largest portions of sticky pudding possibly for miles around. For evening meals, there is food at the local pub but I’d recommend taking a short drive or 20 minute walk to the Langstrath Inn just down the valley, which is better.

Be warned that there is no TV (which is fine for me when I’m up in the Lakes) and no mobile phone reception in Rosthwaite, but the B&B has wi-fi for Internet access. I’ve enjoyed some fascinating days out with Joe and his son, Stephen, to watch the farmers gather the sheep off the fells with their sheep dogs, the sheep shearing, and the lambing. Joe offers the opportunity to experience how a Fell Farm works – check out the details on the Yew Tree Farm website.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Macblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Its difficult to enthuse about Yew tree farm because we barely got to know it. We slept in the bed, and had breakfast, but there was no real interaction with our hosts, the introduction to our room was cursory and we saw no one until breakfast, - we were told what time breakfast was, in contrast with most of the other places we have stayed where at least a window of an hour to and hour and a half is the norm.
Personal gripe - can anyone tell me the purpose served by a foot-board on a bed? For me, and other long people, the sole function is to prevent a good nights sleep by inhibiting foot movement - I hereby declare a campaign against the wretched things!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This home was adorable. The rooms were quaint and cozy. The bed was incredibly comfortable - slept like a baby. The staff were very accommodating. This place was great value - by far the best place to stay in Borrowdale.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June. Carole greeted us on arrival and instantly made us feel welcome. We missed the pub food by 5 minutes but she made us a hearty snack with home made cake and rolls from the tea room opposite. The Riverside Bar stops food at 9pm so after a 6.5 hour drive from surrey this thoughtfullness was really appreciated. We had the twin room with two single beds next to each other, an ensuite and a lovely view over the fields of sheep to Cat Bells. Breakfast was very hearty and substantial- real bacon!! Even a vegetarian could be tempted to stray. I asked for a lighter option of srambled eggs/bacon and was happily accomodated. Packed lunches from the tea room were welcome as there is no other shop/cafe in Rosthwaite. A large roll,cake,crisps and water. just right. Carole chilled us a bottle of wine, we had brought with us, too to sit out and have in the tea room garden in the evening. Thankyou Carole. We liked the fact we could come and go freely with our own key . All in all the sun shone ,we ate lots of cake ,walked miles and slept well. Great location for walks without having to jump in the car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyPren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We just spent a very relaxing weekend here, on the way home we felt like we'd had a week's holiday we were so relaxed!
Very welcoming, very comfortable, lovely farmhouse bedroom, en suite shower and WC, great breakfast, I'm on a special diet, which was no problem whatsoever. Big area inside the front door for leaving muddy/wet footwear. We're definitely going back again!

Room Tip: Only been once and tried one room, double bed, en suite shower and WC, I think the other guests were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

The title says it all.
We enjoyed a two night stay and this fitted the bill.
Our room was a wee bit cold but the bed was superb and once in we were as warm as toast.
The comfortable lounge downstairs with it's natural look 'gas' fire was great for catching up on emails/browsing the web on the free WIFI.
The breakfast was great, both in quality, quantity and choice.
Our welcome was friendly too.
What would make it a 5*? Flexibility around breakfast time. After a hard weeks work 08:45 was great this weekend, however in the Summer with Scafell Pike waiting, maybe an earlier option would be appreciated.
Another reason to stay is that this location is ideal for a huge variety of walks from the Yew Tree doorstep! Level and gentle, to uphill and challenging fell walks.
Dont forget the Flock-Inn cafe either, the food is very good and a showcase for their very tasty lamb, reared on the fields close by.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neileasyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

from ellesmere port to the lakes poured down .stayed in yewtree for a couple of days ,did the walk over to grange wellies on,watched some of olympics at local pub,everyone really friendly.back to the port still lashing down,stress levels zero back next easter i hope.bill hislop

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrowdale hotels
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
797 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seatoller House
Seatoller House
#2 of 3 in Seatoller
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glaramara
Glaramara
#1 of 3 in Seatoller
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm

Property: Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Hotel Class:3 star — Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm Hotel Rosthwaite
Borrowdale Yew Tree Farm Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing