We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glennies”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Glennies”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Two day break at this wonderful hotel where nothing was too much trouble. Having a gluten allergy I can sometimes find staying at hotels trying, but at Loder Falls the staff knew exactly what was required and ensured that my stay was problem free. In particular Damian and a young hungarian hostess in the restaurant made my stay a delight. We were upgraded on arrival to a very comfortable hill view room which was extremely clean and well cared for. Situation of the hotel ensures that a car is not needed to access the wonderful walks surrounding the hotel and transport links to Keswick are excellent. I can thoroughly recommend the hot tub after a long day walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPGlennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    533
    181
    84
    73
See reviews for
388
1,282
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great location beside the lake. We were upgraded to a room with a separate lounge area and lake views at no extra cost on arrival. As it was my birthday, a box of Belgian chocolates and a card were left in the room courtesy of the hotel management which was a lovely surprise. Food was really tasty, varied and good value. My disabled parents came too and had a lovely room with disabled facitlities. Two minute walk down to the ferry. Kayaking at Platy+ nearby too

Room Tip: Lake view is worth the extra cost, but you may get upgraded at no extra charge depending on availabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Spent two nights here in August 2012. Great location on Derwent water and close to keswick town centre which is delightful. Many walks accessible from the hotel, we climbed "catbells", a fell which can be seen from the hotel. We had a standard room, which was a little small but was sufficient for the two of us. Had dinner one night which although not cheap, was fantastic along with the service.
Very clean and tidy,cosy bar and lounges, excellent service. Dogs are made very welcome.
Try the scones.......delicous!

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights on a special offer. The hotel has a lovely elegant charm, the staff smart, pleasant and polite. The room was of an adequate size, with a 6ft bed which was unbelievably comfortable. Evening meals in the restaurant are a bit pricey but the quality of the food is second to none. On a fine day take advantage of the open air pool and relax with the views over Derwentwater, or take the launch around the lake using the hotels dicounted tickets. If a relaxing time with great views, good food and a touch of elegence is your thing , then this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: window seats are in demand in the restaurant, so book one the night before with the restaurant staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STUGDERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have been going to this hotel for about 15 Yrs that how much i like this hotel. We have stayed in all styles of rooms but we usually have lake view rooms or suite. The staff are very friendly. Food has been really good but recently its been a little hit and miss. I will still return to this hotel just for the location and the peace and quite. Service we received is second to none. Only wish its wasnt so expensive to stay at the hotel. Well done keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notahappybunny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel it was clean and very friendly . we had a lovley big room and the bar/ lounge and dinining room are both large and elegant . The food and service were first class and the gardens are beautiful , Frankly quality plus and run by experts

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike123456444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a very good hotel. The location is stunning and the property has a waterfall and a stream running through its gardens. The food is outstanding and the spa is good. A bit pricy - but then, quality does not come cheap!

Room Tip: Make sure that you room has Wifi signal. The corner rooms to the right have the best views but are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
959 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing