We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again :)”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2012

A return trip to celebrate another anniversary as we enjoyed it so much last time.The card & chocolates in our room were a lovely touch.
Food was excellent & plentiful, one meal served luke warm but cheerfully & quickly replaced, service attentive & quick even though very busy, in fact needed slowing somewhat but that request happily met.
The room & bed comfortable & adequate , the lake view superb & worth paying for.
The hotel beautifully decorated for christmas and extremely comfortable. I love the cosy fireside spaces.
Sherry & mince pies on the Keswick lauch followed by one of the hotels recommended walks up to the stone circle at Caslerigg was stunningly beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubin785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

Whilst the room was clean and functional bed fantastic alas the hotel is looking tired. We were at a christmas function two weeks ago the food for the dinner dance was awful the veg was rock hard starter tasteless and the lamb tasted like old mutton and the desert left a lot to be desired. some say its difficult to cater for groups but this is supposed to be one of the prestigious hotels in the Lakes! and it doesn't come cheap . Breakfast was good but well anyone can make a breakfast. I did send an email to the hotel voicing our concerns but as yet I have not had a reply, perhaps they don't want future business ? Oh and parking is across the road watch out for the bend each way as its bad to see on coming traffic

Room Tip: the best rooms are on the front with a lake view but that is at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidstannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

I am so surprised to read this review as I have received a fantastic "thank you" card from your group saying how much they enjoyed the whole experience and how fantastic the hotel looks with it's glorious Christmas adornment, consequently you do seem to be in a minority in your opinion

With regard to your comments about value, I am pleased to advise that you were given a 51% discount against our normal tariff for your fell side room, which I believe shows that we offered you great value. The main car park of the hotel is across the B Road to the front of the hotel and we have provided mirrors to assist with safety in accessing this area.

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us recently but do feel that you are being ever so slightly harsh in your making of this wonderful hotel.

Kind regards & Merry Christmas

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Attended a wedding here on the 17th November. Having never stayed before we were really looking forward to it. Having been for afternoon tea earlier in the summer. We booked 3 rooms, two double and a single and were all impressed with the standards. We had a fantastic time from the dinner the night before the wedding the wedding breakfast and breakfasts on both mornings (we stayed two nights). We also used the hotels pool and hot tub (make sure you book a time for the hot tub), all were wonderful. The staff were without exception all very friendly and most helpfulI. I would most certainly recomend this hotel to anyone. Go and enjoy!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank JRH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We've been visiting this hotel for almost twenty years and since the Graves family have taken it over it has become better by the year. The views from the front reception rooms and bedrooms is sublime,- the Cat Bells ridge and the Skiddaw group. Lots of walks available as well as easy access to Keswick. The bedrooms are comfortable, the lounges too and the food is excellent. Above all, the service is both friendly and efficient around the hotel, in the bar and in the dining room. It's a magical place to spend a few days in winter and we're already planning our next trip.
Front rooms have wonderful views but are more expensive...and not necessary when the days are short! Best for couples and groups I would say although when we've taken our grandchildren they've been made very welcome and the relatively small pool suited them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was our third visit to the hotel and what can I say but fantastic. From the reception staff, bar and waiting staff, housekeeping, all vert attentive and excellent service provided.
The food again was excellent, well cooked and did not disapoint in terms of quality and taste.
We had a lake side room and the view over derwentwater was great, room spacious and very well decorated. Very clean.
The hotel and trimmed up for christmas both inside and outside. I don't think I have been to another hotel with as many christmas trees on view.

Room Tip: lake side room if you want the best view over derwentwater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Hotel reception was a joke, very rude and inefficient, I was part a wedding party ie brother of the bride, and the hotel had canceled my room and the hotel was now full for the night, came up with some lame story about no deposit was payed so they let my room go, spoke to other family members regarding this they did not pay a deposit either and they had there rooms. we're very rude started trying to serve other customers with out sorting my room out, owned by the same company who have armathwaite hall were I got married similar things happened to us there on our big day. As much as I love supporting our local hotels these silly mistakes and unhelpful staff on the lodore reception does not make me want to return anytime soon.

The good news was the help the general manager gave us but we had to visit reception 4 times and complain about this situation before he came to see us, but when he did he was very helpful and sorted us out and put us up in the lodore house we were very relieved, so mr general manger thank you for doing that it was very kind and we appreciated it. But I hope you take these points on board and address a tardy reception, because everything else at the hotel was fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevieshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

I am so disappointed that you have chosen to place this review, but am happy to comment as follows:

There were seven rooms booked by the bride to be, six of the rooms paid the requested £40 per person deposit to secure and confirm the booking. You did not pay the deposit and the room was released. This was explained to you last Saturday and you agreed that you had not paid the required deposit to confirm the room.

I became involved as soon as I was aware of the situation and organised for you to stay in our 4 bedroomed, luxury self catering cottage, Lodore House. You thanked me and agreed that everything was now alright, it is therefore a real shame you have placed such a poor record on this site when ALL the staff at this hotel bent over backwards to ensure that you were accommodated.

It's great to read that enjoyed the wedding.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Just returned from a two great night stay. A friendly and welcoming receptionist set a tone that all staff maintained throughout our stay. Currently decorated for Christmas, the hotel is delightful from the outside throughout its interior.
Our room was possibly more than expected (considering our dog was in tow) however, the room was spacious, clean, very warm and well provided with tea/coffee making facilities.
Breakfast selection was sumptuous with very attentive service and again so friendly.
Unfortunately I don't have time to write more, suffice to say, having travelled extensively and stayed in many hotels worldwide, this hotel lacks little. Have a great stay ....

Room Tip: Be specific when booking if you want a lakeside/woodland view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
998 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £163 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing