We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Lakeland Break”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed at the Lodore Falls Hotel from Tuesday 12th to Friday 15th Feb.taking advantage of their 3 for 2 DBB offer . We stayed in the Tower suite room 331 which afforded spectacular views across Derwentwater . The room was spacious with a lovely comfortable bed and , a sofa and chairs for relaxing . The bathroom was also spacious with a lovely deep bath , his and her sinks and a very powerful corner shower .We spent quite a lot of time in the Hotel lounge as one day of our break was very snowy so we stayed close to the hotel all day. We took advantage of the bar food service and it was tasty and well presented.In the evening the food we were served on the 3 occasions was absolutely excellent accompanied by wine recommended by the hotel and bar manager .All the staff were courteous , helpful and always
had time for a smile and a chat .The hotel sits just in front of the beautiful Lodore waterfalls and it is easily accesssed and well worth exploring . We didn't take advantage of the Spa but had a brief look at the pool and Hot tub and all those who were using the facilities seemed to be enjoying themselves.All in all a brilliant relaxing time spent at a most wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel would all have good views over Derwentwater .One thing about the Tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURSLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,600 - 1,606 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have stayed here before and have throughly enjoyed the beautiful location in the Borrowdale Valley and the comfortable "shabby chic" of the public rooms. The bedrooms are comfortable (we upgraded to a lake view room) and warm. The bar staff are very friendly and the large sofas and gas fires make this a very comfortable area. We were disappointed this time with the quality of the cooking. A sirloin of beef cooked medium rare was tasteless and very chewy. A goose dish, whilst tasty was again chewy. I had to send a fish dish back because it was cold. It's replacement was excellent but because of this my husband had finished his meal long before I had started mine. The plate had obviously been waiting at the pass for some time. A large teachers' conference party on the last night of our stay made the dining room service somewhat patchy. Breakfasts are excellent and the staff pleasant. The hotel has a pool, gym,sauna and hot tub which are free to guests as well as spa treatments (payment extra). Still a nice hotel but attention to detail needs to be racked up a bit in the kitchen.

Room Tip: A lake view room may be worth the extra cost but it does depend on which lake view room you get. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamboBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have just spent 2 nights here for a special 60th birthday celebration and we could not fault one thing. The staff were so polite and courteous they made us feel so at home. The rooms were superb we all had Lake View Rooms and the views were to die for. The food was absolutely outstanding lots of choices with every course. The breakfast was excellent with great choice and cooked to perfection. The service in the restaurant was fantastic the staff were so attentive to detail with everything. We will definitely be returning very soon we cannot wait.

Room Tip: We all stayed in the Lake view rooms they were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiniwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here on a special winter offer and had a wonderful relaxing break.

The hotel is warm and very comfortable and the public areas are recently refurbished. Wonderful open fires (gas) and comfy sofas provide quiet corners for reading, drinks etc and the restaurant is excellent.

The staff are attentive but never intrusive and the standard of housekeeping excellent throughout.

We did not use the spa which looked very appealing but walks kept us outside most of the time.

Dogs are welcome and beds provided. Our spaniel was very happy to lie infront of the fire on our return from a long day out and there were several others doing much the same.

Our room was to the back but looked out to the hillside over the yard and unless you stood directly at the window it was only the trees on view. It was clean, warm and very comfortable and had controllable heating. Bliss

This may be our favourite hotel yet.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely lake views but our room at the back was perfectly adequate and if a similarl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon551746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Visited here for a spa day with friends. Upon arriving we stood around at spa reception desk for about 10 mins until someone turned up. Staff were not very helpful appeared very unorganised. The spa was a disappointment as pool was small and only a small sauna..Expected more such as a steam room. Was a jacuzzi however only allowed a 30 min time slot for whole day. The massage treatment was rather poor as the therapist was chewing a sweet for the full treatment which was very obvious as well as loudly yawning felt very much like i was wasting her time. The food was lovey could not fault. Overall would not choose again for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pops22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

3 friends and myself stayed here in a lake view room on the second floor for one night this weekend.
We were very impressed by the attention to detail in each of our rooms which were beautifully decorated and thoroughly clean.
The spa was fantastic, both of the ladies there were cheerful, professional and fantastic at what they did.
The restaurant could not have been better- from someone in the business that is high praise! Despite being almost full both times we were well looked after, wanted for nothing and felt that the pace of the fantastic four courses we received was perfect for us. They say its the little things that matter, we didn't once have to ask for our water (at dinner) or breakfast tea to be replenished, both were done without any fuss before they were finished, a small, but completely significant touch!
Both food and wine (which was complementary with our meal) were just outstanding- I couldn't have been more impressed with the choice of vegetarian meals (my goats cheese wellington was simply delicious) and my companions were equally overwhelmed by the choice and quality of their non- vegetarian choices (locally sourced lamb/duck mains if memory serves)
We had intended to hit the local pubs after our meal, but, having been so well fed and watered we settled down in front of the fire with our drinks and a pack of (French, dinosaur themed) playing cards!
Following a peaceful and rejuvenating nights sleep in the slightly jealousy inducing beds- if we hasn't been in a mini they might have come with us- we had our delicious breakfast and checked out with zero hassle, leaving our bags with the front desk.
The surrounding area is outstanding, and the 2 minute walk up to the falls is well worth it (though sensible shoes are DEFINITELY recommended!). The town on Keswick is well worth a visit, particularly on a Saturday when you will find a local market on the high street... Otherwise, plenty of pubs, cafes and kitch shops to spend a few hours wandering around.

Drawbacks? If I'm being honest, although I was completely impressed by the hotel, there were a couple of slight drawbacks;
The first was the inaccessibility of water in the leisure facilities; unfortunately the spa had run out of water by the time we got there (though I gather there is usually a jug for clients provided, it was empty when we were there). Following my massage I was recommended to drink plenty of water and advised that I could get some at the pool. This meant asking for some repeatedly from the pool desk attendant- following my next comment it will become apparent why this was a bit of an issue... Why not just have a poolside water cooler when you know people are likely to be spending long periods of time poolside, either in and out of the sauna or following spa treatments which dehydrate?
Also linked to the leisure facilities is my next drawback, quite simply the lack of robes. The website states that robes are available in both the hotel and spa. However, the room robes must be left there at check out (or incur a £35 charge). We then presumed that we could get them in the spa or poolside, only to be told poolside we couldn't... Cue us then having to move between the pool to the spa with only towels to cover our swimsuits! We were then informed there that we could ask the pool attendant when we returned for robes as we had used the spa, but again were told no... It just seems silly that there were no robes for people using the spa who had checked out, that the two areas we were moving between we're separated by a public access corridor ( which we had to wander in our towels) and that the people we were speaking with we're telling us different things about their availability. Surely robes could be numbered to allow them to be removed from the rooms and returned via the spa for those using the facilities after checking out?
The last point is unfortunately also about the spa - we had booked the (amazing) hot tub for the half hour before we had to get ready for dinner and had planned to take the champagne which we had ordered to the room with us to drink. Not realising that we weren't allowed glasses we arrived, got changed and headed out to pop our bubbly and get in. The attendant came out and told us we couldn't have glass at the hot tub, which was fine- our mistake. We enquired about using plastic glasses which he said he had, but couldn't give us. When we asked why he said the problem wasn't the glasses, it was the champagne, we couldn't take that out. So we asked why and he changed his story and said we could take it, but there was a corkage fee...... For something we had already paid the hotel for?!?!?!? Needless to say we were not happy about this and it put an unhappy tinge on the night, in true female logic fashion, we did the hot tub with no champs and retreated to our room to drink it there after.

Overall, the hotel really is outstanding and I would absolutely recommend going there, but I do feel that in order to post an honest review I had to include the small things that did bother us on our stay, otherwise it would have been perfect!

Oh, and just a quick n.b. make sure you double check what you are paying for/ booking as we were quoted a price over the phone which when the email turned up turned out to be per person, not per room; essentially doubling the price. It wasn't something that bothered us too greatly, until the flyer which turned up under our door not long after check in which offered us the same room for an additional night for £99... Have to say, nothing will bother me more about paying almost £300 for a room than being told it can be done for a third of the price. Not the best move on managements part!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank taintedrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is in the most fantastic setting at the foot of ladore falls on derwent water nr keswick. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and very attentive. the food was excellent and the restaurant service was brilliant. We had dinner bed and breakfast and it was all fabulous. The live singer during dinner was a lovely touch. The spa facilities were ok (I have had better} however the hot tub was good. We were 4 women having a 1 night girly weekend and it was fantastic. The bar prices are very fair considering there isnt another pub or hotel in the vicinity. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend. I only gave the room 4 circles because although it was lovely it was quite small, there are however bigger ones available.

Room Tip: We had fell side view and it was a very small room with views of the lower floor rooftops and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,028 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,752 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £109 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Hotel Improvement works 2017. We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand-new luxury spa, dining experience, and 18 new bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guest’s experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing