We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lodore Falls Hotel”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodore Falls Hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Recently had a two night stay at this hotel, to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary. The hotel, although clearly a high quality hotel, had a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We had a set menu one evening, which provided delicious food in very pleasant surroundings, whilst being well looked after by the professional and friendly staff. The bedrooms were very comfortable, with the only negative being the bathroom was a little shabby. Overall though a great time was had at this gem in the lake district, which we hope to return to at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear RoamingRopers

Many thanks for your kind words about this "Gem" of a hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us all went well with the golden wedding anniversary celebration you were attending.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    541
    183
    86
    76
See reviews for
391
1,296
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed one night , this was the first time in a hotel with the dog. Great room with lake view. Food was good and service without fault. The only quibble was the vanilla parsnip mash with the venison, a bit too fragrant. The venison and red cabbage were delicious. Comfortable lounge to relax and plenty of space. Will be back for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Betsy L

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on this site.

I am delighted to read that all was well with your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in October 2013 for my husbands birthday. We had a lakeside view and the room was lovely and warm. The service was excellent and the staff could not do enough to make our stay something to remember. The dining experience was an absolute delight the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Would recommend this hotel and will go again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lakeside view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy Janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Dorothy Janine

What a lovely review of our beautiful Lodore.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that the team here ensured your husband's birthday was a memorable one.

Many thanks for your kind words, I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here in August with my In laws, they had stayed here a number of times before and loved the place and wanted to take us there to spend some quality, special time together as she has a terminal illness.
When we arrived all the disabled spaces outside we're taken up, at least 2 by apparently able bodied guests (I know you can't always know if people are genuinely in need of these spaces but none of them were displaying blue badges)! If you're not going to try to police the spaces and it's just first come first served don't bother labelling them disabled in my opinion!

The rooms were lovely and aside from a stain on one of the towels I couldn't fault them.

The problems started when we got to the bar for dinner. We had booked for 7pm as we have to eat at certain times for mother in laws medication. We were given menus and all decided what we wanted to eat. Meanwhile lots of guests came in, ordered there food and got shown to their tables while we were still waiting to order. We eventually had to ask if someone could take our order. At 7.45 we had to ask if our table was ready!
The soup and bread was lovely, then came the starters. 3 of us had ordered the same but two of the starters were obviously burnt and had to be sent back, they were that bad, especially compared to the not burnt one that there is no way they should have left the kitchen.
The sorbets came next and then we waited, and waited, and waited.......... 9pm, we had to ASK AGAIN if we could have our mains (we'd booked to eat at 7!). The problem this time was that someone had forgotten to take our sorbet cups away.
By this time mother in law could hardly eat a thing, she then declined dessert but the restaurant manager, trying to make up for the bad service offered to bring her a small piece of something and then, as mother in law had gone for some fresh air, she was practically chasing her round the place to give her a dessert!

The food was gorgeous when it came and wasn't burnt but the service was utterly dreadful and it ended up being a very stressful evening and completely un-enjoyable. This night away cost us a lot of money and the main part of it was completely ruined. The hotel manager was aware of our problems but we had to ask to see him before we left, I feel he should of found us to apologise. He said he would speak to everyone concerned to make sure it doesn't happen again, well great but that doesn't help us!!!
To add insult to injury, by way of compensation we have been offered an upgrade on a room if we decide to stay again (as if) and a £5 (house) bottle of wine!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Michelle C

Thank you for taking the time to review Lodore on this site.

I am very sorry to read that certain aspects of the restaurant were not up to expectations on the occasion of your stay with us last August. We always try to ensure super service throughout and I do regret that we seem to have failed in this goal on the night in question.

Both my restaurant manager and deputy manager, the next day, were genuinely attempting to rectify the shortcomings you experienced and I will be pleased to discuss the matter personally with you should you be kind enough to contact me on 017687 77285 or stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent hotel which is very efficiently run and it was obvious that the management attach a great deal of time in staff training. The food was excellent, nicely presented and all the restaurant staff were efficient and friendly with no waiting to be seated or delays in courses. The bars and lounge areas were comfortable and warm and again the service was quick and friendly. We were given the impression that the hotel wanted to make your stay a memorable experience and they succeeded.

Room Tip: We had a Fellside room which had lovely views and were able to watch red squirrels feeding on a bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Jonathon S

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and delighted to see you describe your stay as memorable which, as you state, is just what we want our guests to feel after visiting this most special corner of the Lakes.

Thanks you once again for your kind words and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. Despite being in a standard sized room with a view to the back of the hotel, the bed was comfortable, we could hear the falls through the open window and our needs were met. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were a feast in themselves with selections of haddock, eggs, salmon and much more. Dinners were elegant and relaxed. We loved sitting outside looking across the lake and hills for cocktails or afternoon tea.
Great walk around the lake with an optional trip back by boat from Keswick or places along the lake. Easy access to other sites in the lake district. Only downside was there were no bookings for the spa when we arrived due to a wedding party. Next time. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Kirstine2013

Many thanks for reviewing us on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and very much hope to look after you again next time you visit our shores.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location, as it faces up Derwentwater. To get this stunning view, it is best to upgrade to a 'lakeside view' room - we can recommend Room 207 it having a double full-length window. The room is very comfortable, with a king-size bed and a lovely bathroom (bath with shower over). The pillows were not feather, but sponge, so remember to take your own pillows if this is a problem. There is coffee and tea making facilities in the room, but there is no mini-bar or safe. Free wi-fi is available, and mobile phone reception is patchy. On arrival, you get a free cream tea gift voucher, and also a £10 off gift voucher to The Fall Health and Beauty spa. There is a small lift from reception to the three floors of the hotel. The restaurant is excellent, with a large a la carte menu - my wife and I were on a Secret Escapes package so we had to choose from a smaller menu but this was excellent with three choices for the three courses, and included coffee or tea with petite fours in the lounge after dinner. The wine list was very comprehensive. Breakfast was more than enough with the choice of a full English cooked breakfast if required. Despite the restaurant staff being Hungarian, Polish and other nationalities, they all spoke excellent English and were very efficient. There is a landing stage by the hotel where you can catch the Keswick Launch and go either clockwise or anti-clockwise round the lake - discounted tickets are available from reception. Behind the hotel are the Lodore Falls, well worth going to have a look at. There are lots a walks and things to do in the area, but the hotel is a great place to relax and enjoy the facilities.

Room Tip: Upgrade to guarantee a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear ColinDick

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

It really is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and I have passed on your very kind comments to the rest of the team here. I am pleased to advise that we do have soft, firm and feather pillows available for our guests' comfort, I'm sorry that you were not made aware of this whilst you were with us recently.

Thank you once again for your wonderful words and I do very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
972 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing