We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, spoilt by the staff.”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights last week whilst travelling around different parts of the lakes. The hotel is set in a superb location, with the most stunning views. Very good facilities, pool, outdoor hot tub and massage facilities were all sampled, and all we're very good.

The hotel itself was clean, a little dated in places in terms of decor but otherwise pleasant.

My main issue however with this hotel was unfortunately the staff which unfortunately have left me with a very poor opinion of this hotel as a whole.

There was a wait when first booking in, whilst waiting staff booked in an elderly couple and a family in front of us. The staff, a male and a female we're very accommodating and polite to them, offering wake up calls, newspapers, meal reservations etc.
We as a younger couple we're not offered any of this, I'm not sure if it was due to our age or that we were wearing walking attire, but staff were short and did not show the same level of customer to us which we both felt was poor. Only when the receptionist realised we had booked the 'Tower Suite' (The large suite with a reasonable price tag per night!) that his attitude changed considerably and he then seemed to contact a porter to carry our bags to the room.

Had it just been the one occasion I wouldn't have felt the need to comment about it all on here, however the same negative attitude towards us continued from the staff the following two mornings at breakfast. Staff serving breakfast were again short and rude at times, even pushing past people stood in the queue waiting for breakfast. It seemed that if you didn't book a restaurant reservation for the evening staff just didn't seem to make the same effort to provide a high level of customer service.

Breakfast on the final morning was even worse, the breakfast room wasn't particularly busy, many tables were set, yet staff escorted us to a table in the very far corner of the restaurant away from everyone else and nowhere near the lovely views of the lake at the front of the hotel.

Overall, good hotel, good facilities, just left with a bitter after taste thanks to staff at the hotel. Would not recommend for younger couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ben2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear ben2891

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and facilities of our beautiful Lodore Falls hotel, you're right the hotel is set in the most stunning part of the Lake District and is a must visit for those exploring this wonderful part of the world.

I am shocked to read your thoughts on the quality of our staff as we always get such high score on here, and other review sites. We always try to provide the warmest of welcomes in all departments at all times, so I very much regret that you left the hotel with anything other glowing praise for all aspects of the hotel and certainly hope you will visit us again, when you next come to the Lakes.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

After spending over 40 years visiting the Lake District and staying in a range of tents, B&Bs and hotels I finally decided to stay at Lodore falls hotel. From arriving to leaving the service was excellent, provided mainly by well trained Eastern Europeans. The food is of a high standard well served and with all those little extras modern hotels miss. Toast in a toast rack ! Served at the table And not those terrible rotating toasters! The room was a fell side view and was large enough for ruck sacs and other gear. The spa is small but adequate although I should imagine in peak times not big enough. All in all a great place to stay even though it is a little on the expensive side, you get what you pay for. As a fell walker it is ideally located and there are a number of high level walks from the hotel.....and deeper Borrowdale is only a short bus ride away.

Room Tip: Lake views better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Eric W

Many thanks for taking the time to review Lodore Falls on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and have passed your kind words to the rest of the team here.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed two weekends ago for our 29th wedding anniversary. We had booked a fell room but we were pleasantly surprised to find our room (132) looked out onto the fells and also the lake. Another surprise was that there was a box of chocolates and a card for our anniversary. The hotel was extremely clean and all the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a very beautiful location and made all the better for seeing Red squirrels in the garden. Can't remember when I last saw a red squirrel!! Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable and enjoyable - We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 132 has view of Fells and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellyrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear bellyrot

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

We were honored to be selected as the venue for your special celebration and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. I look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful corner of the Lakes in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Recently had a two night stay at this hotel, to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary. The hotel, although clearly a high quality hotel, had a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We had a set menu one evening, which provided delicious food in very pleasant surroundings, whilst being well looked after by the professional and friendly staff. The bedrooms were very comfortable, with the only negative being the bathroom was a little shabby. Overall though a great time was had at this gem in the lake district, which we hope to return to at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingRopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear RoamingRopers

Many thanks for your kind words about this "Gem" of a hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us all went well with the golden wedding anniversary celebration you were attending.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed one night , this was the first time in a hotel with the dog. Great room with lake view. Food was good and service without fault. The only quibble was the vanilla parsnip mash with the venison, a bit too fragrant. The venison and red cabbage were delicious. Comfortable lounge to relax and plenty of space. Will be back for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Betsy L

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on this site.

I am delighted to read that all was well with your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in October 2013 for my husbands birthday. We had a lakeside view and the room was lovely and warm. The service was excellent and the staff could not do enough to make our stay something to remember. The dining experience was an absolute delight the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Would recommend this hotel and will go again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lakeside view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy Janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Dorothy Janine

What a lovely review of our beautiful Lodore.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that the team here ensured your husband's birthday was a memorable one.

Many thanks for your kind words, I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here in August with my In laws, they had stayed here a number of times before and loved the place and wanted to take us there to spend some quality, special time together as she has a terminal illness.
When we arrived all the disabled spaces outside we're taken up, at least 2 by apparently able bodied guests (I know you can't always know if people are genuinely in need of these spaces but none of them were displaying blue badges)! If you're not going to try to police the spaces and it's just first come first served don't bother labelling them disabled in my opinion!

The rooms were lovely and aside from a stain on one of the towels I couldn't fault them.

The problems started when we got to the bar for dinner. We had booked for 7pm as we have to eat at certain times for mother in laws medication. We were given menus and all decided what we wanted to eat. Meanwhile lots of guests came in, ordered there food and got shown to their tables while we were still waiting to order. We eventually had to ask if someone could take our order. At 7.45 we had to ask if our table was ready!
The soup and bread was lovely, then came the starters. 3 of us had ordered the same but two of the starters were obviously burnt and had to be sent back, they were that bad, especially compared to the not burnt one that there is no way they should have left the kitchen.
The sorbets came next and then we waited, and waited, and waited.......... 9pm, we had to ASK AGAIN if we could have our mains (we'd booked to eat at 7!). The problem this time was that someone had forgotten to take our sorbet cups away.
By this time mother in law could hardly eat a thing, she then declined dessert but the restaurant manager, trying to make up for the bad service offered to bring her a small piece of something and then, as mother in law had gone for some fresh air, she was practically chasing her round the place to give her a dessert!

The food was gorgeous when it came and wasn't burnt but the service was utterly dreadful and it ended up being a very stressful evening and completely un-enjoyable. This night away cost us a lot of money and the main part of it was completely ruined. The hotel manager was aware of our problems but we had to ask to see him before we left, I feel he should of found us to apologise. He said he would speak to everyone concerned to make sure it doesn't happen again, well great but that doesn't help us!!!
To add insult to injury, by way of compensation we have been offered an upgrade on a room if we decide to stay again (as if) and a £5 (house) bottle of wine!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Michelle C

Thank you for taking the time to review Lodore on this site.

I am very sorry to read that certain aspects of the restaurant were not up to expectations on the occasion of your stay with us last August. We always try to ensure super service throughout and I do regret that we seem to have failed in this goal on the night in question.

Both my restaurant manager and deputy manager, the next day, were genuinely attempting to rectify the shortcomings you experienced and I will be pleased to discuss the matter personally with you should you be kind enough to contact me on 017687 77285 or stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,018 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £127 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Hotel Improvement works 2017. We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand-new luxury spa, dining experience, and 18 new bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guest’s experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing