We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - and service”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location opposite Derwent water. The room was clean and well appointed. We came for a short Christmas getaway, and everything was wonderful - the food, attention to detail, and excellent staff. There was a large wedding on at the same time as well as a Christmas party evening, but the staff managed to make us feel special andnfrequently checked that everything was OK. breakfast was excellent. As previous reviews have mentioned, it is great to see a British hotel paying such attention to detail doing such a good job. Well done!

Room Tip: The first floor romms facing the lake have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,320 - 1,326 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed for one night and booked the Tower Room which is right in the middle of the hotel at the highest level with great views of the lake but not located on the edge of the lake as we thought after seeing the photographs.
Room was good and bed very comfortable, access to the room is via a steep staircase, which took some careful negotiating when carrying our suitcase.
The hotel lounges are very comfortable with lots of comfy sofas and armchairs spread around.
We had a Christmas platter in the bar which we found disapointing, too much cheese and not enough cold meats.
There was a lot of staff around the bar, but you still have to go to bar to order and pay for your food which was a bit like Weatherspoons and didn't feel right considering the prices.
We ordered 2 glasses of wine which were filled to the brim which looked good value, but really should have been served in a larger glass.
We really enjoyed the evening meal which was excellent and the service equally as good. Breakfast again was first class.
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Book a room on the front of the Hotel for great views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hotel is clean, well appointed, very comfortable. Bed, blanket and bowls provided for pooch.

Staff are friendly, efficient, keen to please. Note the manager's response to posts here with his direct number attached.

restaurant dining is limited to the full table d'hote, which is very well prepared and presented but probably a little over the top for every night of a stay. An option to choose one or two courses would be good. Service, at a quiet time, was on the brisk side.

Breakfast is extensive and excellent, be on time or the staff will hurry you along with fast service.

Bar, waiting, room service VERY switched-on, a real treat.

We had a standard room and were surprised by size and quality. Rooms overlooking the south side have some background kitchen/extractor/machinery (?) noise through the night; reminiscent of a city hotel.

In the lakes we're more pub with rooms type folk. That said, the Lodore Falls WAS open when most elsewhere had closed for the season and given the location, facilities and quality it is value for money.

Would go again for a treat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a superb location!
Everything was just perfect! The staff, the food, the organisation were all second to none.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Lovely to see an English Hotel so well maintained and where staff, many from overseas, take a pride in their individual roles and in the overall success of the Hotel.
Well done Lodore! You worked so hard to ensure we enjoyed a weekend to remember.

Room Tip: The Lake view rooms ate obviously a bonus but all have a view of either the lake or the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suesw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed as a couple as we had seen a deal offer on Travelzoo. We often travel to the lakes but had never stayed at the Lodore Falls.
The booking process was excellent.On arrival at the hotel we were met by a lovely receptionist, we had asked for a room upgrade on booking and maybe because we arrived on a Sunday it was possible, so we received a lake view room!

Amazing room...(one of the many A ratings) huge bed very comfortable,
very warm, great furnishings, spotlessly clean, luxurious fittings and excellent bathroom......chocolates in room awaiting us together with a voucher for mulled wine and mince pies, better and better....

Long story short, it had been fitted throughout with very many Christmas trees and lights! there were open fires everywhere...Amazing atmosphere...on top of that a leisure centre with a sauna and hot tub and indoor pool....great location right on the banks of Derwent water and it's own ferry landing stage......in the grounds a magnificent waterfall....worth seeing in all the autumn surroundings.

Finally after a great day and a relaxing pre dinner time we went for the main meal....the next to last of the A awards...amazing food quality! great fine dining! great restaurant........breakfast? The last of the A ratings....amazing.....local produce, freshly prepared, non-buffet Cumbrian full breakfast.

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in whilst visiting the lakes...Do seek out the "deals" either the hotels own offerings or other we based offers and be amazed.....you do get what you pay for and this is not inexpensive, but DO treat yourself......absolutely lovely!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank BrianAnnManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our first wedding anniversary after getting married here last November.

The room was fantastic, the food was delicious, the service was exceptional and our stay was absolutely perfect - so good that we decided to stay an extra night! Such a relaxing atmosphere and amazing views.

Everything about the hotel is excellent. The staff are friendly and Hans always remembers us! This is a perfect hotel for a relaxing break in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The Lake View rooms are definitely worth staying in - amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLWJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights for my sons wedding in november 13.It's says it all when he and his now wife wanted to get married in the place they first met and worked over 12 years ago. The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the lake side, no matter what time of year, the scenery is stunning. There were lots of people who enjoy walking staying here but you could also use as a base to visit further afield, Keswick only a matter of a few miles away..The staff are very friendly and helpful and we were checked in very quickly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, I would have loved to bring the bed home it was so comfy but so big. We thoughly enjoyed breakfast with a choice of cereals, toast to full English. There is a lovely large lounge/bar with comfy chairs and sofas and again the bar staff very friendly. We didn't use the leisure facilities but some guests did and would recommend you try them out. In all I would recommend this hotel and my thanks to all staff for making this a fabulous weekend for my son and daughter in law and their guests. I'm sure some of the guests will return for a weekend stay again.

Room Tip: Room 300 has two bedrooms, lounge area and a balcony over looking the lake. Room 317 over looks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june300554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear june 300554

Many thanks for writing such a glowing report on us following your son's wedding with us recently. I am delighted to read that all went so well and very much hope to welcome back many of the guests who enjoyed the event in this special part of the world.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,000 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,704 reviews
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £166 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing