We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful getaway”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and beautiful getaway”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stopped at the beautiful hotel for 2nights on dbb I got a good rate through work. I phoned up to see if I could upgrade to a fell side room. The reception manager Alex did me an excellent discounted rate on a lake view room and also promised to give me one of the best rooms with a view as asked. On arrival the staff was so welcoming. My room truly was beautiful, one of the newly decorated room with a front and side view which was amazing. The breakfast was cooked to order and the best breakfast we have had. The dinner was also very good. Outdoor hot tub is amazing but you must ensure you book before you arrive to ensure you get a slot. We will definitely be returning as long as we get to stay in the same room. Thank you ladore falls and Alex for making a our stay extra special.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmalally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    541
    183
    87
    76
See reviews for
392
1,298
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our first Christmas away, we chose the Ladore Falls Hotel after visiting its restaurant in the summer and it is close to our favourite Cumbrian town, Keswick.
The hotel has a wonderfully unique balance of offering a 4 star service, an award winning restaurant and yet making you feel as relaxed as you would be curled up in front of the fire in your own home. In fact, on Christmas morning, my husband and children ventured downstairs in our PJs to open our pressies in front of one of the fires in the sumptuous, comfortable lounge areas.
If you are looking for a classy traditionally furnished hotel, with professional service second to none and an outstanding dining experience then look further...and that's not to mention the beautiful position on the shores of Derwent Water, the outside hot tub at the foot of the Ladore Falls itself, the spa etc etc. Another good thing was the proper mattresses for the children, who normally have to endure bed settees or flimsy 'put-you-ups', even in 5 star hotels we have stayed in.
Our break was not cheap but the whole experience was complete value for money and more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiNoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JARROW
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Fabulous, Amazing, Excellent just not enough words to describe our 4 days over Xmas. Room had amazing view, food was out of this world. Staff were so on the ball attended to every need checking all the time you had everything you wanted and were happy with food or coffee etc. This hotel has to be one of the very best for service, food and customer care. Thanks to everyone for all your hard work.

Room Tip: Give it a try you will be amazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIVIEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Three days full of Christmas Magic so lovely we've booked for next year xx

Arrived on Christmas eve had a Christmas meal in dining room complete with locals singing Christmas Carroll's. We retired to the Gazebo for mulled wine and marshmallows.

Christmas Day lunch was magical with guests entering into the spirit of things by firing screaming balloons within the restaurant.

Hotel Boxing Day walk up to the top what a hike but what a view complete with mulled wine mince pies and Christmas cheer.

The Boxing Day buffet what an amazing finale to our 3 day stay.

To say the hotel pushed the boat out was an understatement everything was polished to perfection so clean you could eat your dinner off the bathroom floor.

The staff were genuine and worked tirelessly throughout a credit to them.

We always love our stays at the hotel but this surpassed all previous visits.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oberall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We had our Christmas Lunch at the Ladore and it was very good. All the staff were very pleasant and the food was very good. There was a great atmospher in the dinning room. We would like to thank you all for a great day

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redthroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location opposite Derwent water. The room was clean and well appointed. We came for a short Christmas getaway, and everything was wonderful - the food, attention to detail, and excellent staff. There was a large wedding on at the same time as well as a Christmas party evening, but the staff managed to make us feel special andnfrequently checked that everything was OK. breakfast was excellent. As previous reviews have mentioned, it is great to see a British hotel paying such attention to detail doing such a good job. Well done!

Room Tip: The first floor romms facing the lake have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed for one night and booked the Tower Room which is right in the middle of the hotel at the highest level with great views of the lake but not located on the edge of the lake as we thought after seeing the photographs.
Room was good and bed very comfortable, access to the room is via a steep staircase, which took some careful negotiating when carrying our suitcase.
The hotel lounges are very comfortable with lots of comfy sofas and armchairs spread around.
We had a Christmas platter in the bar which we found disapointing, too much cheese and not enough cold meats.
There was a lot of staff around the bar, but you still have to go to bar to order and pay for your food which was a bit like Weatherspoons and didn't feel right considering the prices.
We ordered 2 glasses of wine which were filled to the brim which looked good value, but really should have been served in a larger glass.
We really enjoyed the evening meal which was excellent and the service equally as good. Breakfast again was first class.
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Book a room on the front of the Hotel for great views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
977 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing