We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in August 2013 and wish we could have stayed longer. As it was our 'honeymoon', I had asked for a 'nice' room when I booked and we were given a lovely room with small balcony overlooking the lake. My only slight gripe was that we did get there early but had to wait quite a long time for our room to be ready. However we spent the time having drinks and cake in the bar so it worked out fine. The evening meal was absolutely amazing, I have not had such a good meal in a long time.
The leisure facilities are o.k, the pool is quite small but the outside jacuzzi is a nice touch. We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful.
Yes there is a small road between the hotel and car park but its a quiet country road, not the m25 as some reviews led me to believe before I stayed there! All in all a lovely hotel and we shall certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heronhill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    533
    181
    84
    73
See reviews for
388
1,282
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on the new year break. Excellent!
Food first class,Staff extremely helpful, wonderful location(shame about the weather).
Entertainment package good.
We were in room 111 which looked like it had been renovated and was excellent apart from the bathroom which was cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Visited the Lodore Falls Hotel for a pre Xmas short stay. Lovely location and very good facilities and open fireplaces in the lounge areas. Our particular room was of on the small side but reasonably well appointed. The restaurant prepared food was excellent, if I were to give any criticism it would be that it is maybe some of the dishes are a little too over the top; the service and presentation was immaculate however! The Staff were very friendly and polite. The pool, sauna and outdoor jacuzzi were great.

Improvements - Shelf or stand in the room / closet to put luggage on, background music in the spa facilities.

Overall very happy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazRoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have never wrote a review on anything but after an amazing two night stay over new year I felt compelled to do so. I visited the hotel with my two children aged 3 and 6 and my parents. On arrival we were met with friendly staff and a feeling from all that work there that nothing is too much trouble. The surroundings are traditional but very cosy and inviting, I felt at home straight away. We stayed in the lake view rooms which were lovely with big comfy beds, we were extreamly happy with the rooms.
The hotel is very child friendly and very well organised for things for them to do. Im not sure if that was just because it was a christmas/new year break so you would need to double check before booking.
Overall it was a lovely homely hotel with very helpful friendly staff, we will be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna3161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed, 2 adults , 2 boys 10 and 12, over New year with the staff at The Lodore Falls. Note I say "stayed with" not "at the hotel" because that is exactly what it felt like. This is not a large corporate hotel but a very informal, friendly place with a very happy, attentive family feel. However basic it is not. A true luxury hotel in every sense with fantastic food and helpful and competent staff. We stayed in the brandlehow suite and found it of a very high standard and comfort with stunning views. The whole package was not cheap but value for money as we and our children were looked after and entertained throughout our stay. If you measure value by how much one enjoyed a stay and achieved one's goal of being relaxed, rejuvenated and happy then I think we had a bit of a bargain. The hotel looked gorgeous and stereotypically Christmassy and the buffet was a masterpiece on New Years Day as were the incredible food sculptures. We've booked straight away again for this year and are looking for an excuse to visit before New Year if we can. I've read some of the negative reports and cannot believe some of them. It is true a bus runs occasionally past the hotel. How brilliant so that one can take it up and down borrowdale; that most beautiful of English valleys. The lake is a 2 minute walk away, the scenery unparalleled, the waterfall stunning, the river delightful, the flora and fauna beautiful, (red squirrels in the garden). Keswick is a ten minute drive or a 45 minute walk. Where else could one be better served in the world. Oh and for all those negative souls...the weather wasn't great but unlike some I will not lay that at the hotel's door and complain. Remember even the weather is beautiful just wear the right clothing. I Canot recommend The Lodore Falls team and experience highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Last time I reviewed I gave it a harsh 4, this time it is a generous 4.
Its still very good but.....
There are two areas to sit with a drink the bar (no dogs) or the fireplace lounge type area. Stay when theres a wedding party on and you will find all the seats not in the bar area reserved for the wedding, this means that if youve got a dog this dog friendly hotel has nowhere for you to sit with a dog and enjoy a drink.
The service in the restaurant is inversely proportional to the amount of guests. The more guests the worse the service. The staff are in the vast majority excellent and do their best but the amount dont seem to flex up. Quiet morning, "would you like anything with your waffle" "ok I'll bring that right over", next busier morning "would you like anything with your waffle", "you'll find it right over there on the trolley"!!!
Food, it is very good but previous years have seen a complete menu change every evening. They now have a winter menu that stays the same with a choice of specials that changes from night to night. A sign of cost cutting?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year due to attending weddings. On both occasions we stayed in the family rooms. Which reminded me of a 1960s butlins chalet. The hotel is tired and over priced. Some of the staff are unhelpful others just plain rude ( I include the manager in the latter).

All in all over priced tired and would never consider staying again.

No doubt the rude manager will make some smart comment as he has on other comments where guests dared to tell the truth.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel plenty of fantastic ones in the lakes and this is not one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Julie R

I am not sure of the motivation for your, clearly malicious, review. It is so obviously in such stark contrast to the vast majority of reviews on this site, that I find it very hard to believe your words to be anything other than a malevolent attempt to discredit this fine and well regarded hotel.

I will be pleased to discuss any issues which may have lead to you placing this piece and can be contacted on 017687 77285 or Stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
959 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing