We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodore Falls Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$203
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,257)
Filter reviews
2,257 results
Traveller rating
1,288
583
207
95
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,288
583
207
95
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslodore fallshot tuba lake view roomoutdoor poolon arrivaltower suitespa treatmentscourse menubuilding worklovely hotelflat roofafternoon tealake districtsconesfirst classleisure facilitieslounge bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,399 - 1,404 of 2,257 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Came to hotel for half day spa experience. Overall very average experience and only just worth the money (we got a special deal on travelzoo). When you arrive you are ushered into a conference type room with several tables set up in rows, not very relaxing feels like you are speed dating or in a works meeting. The robes and towels you are given are thread bare and need replacing. The pool area is very small and with only 5 sun loungers, (2 of which had mould on them)not nearly enough to accommodate everyone on the spa experiences. No steam room. Very odd that u only can use hot tub at allocated time and embarrassingly a member of staff has to come and tell you to get out when your time is up! Changing room tiny and very narrow, only really suitable for 2-3 people at a time, plus only a couple of large lockers the rest very small. Treatments were just ok, didn't feel like they used a lot of different products on my skin and wasn't told at the end what they used. On the plus side the 2 course lunch we got as part of the deal was excellent. Overall had far better spa experiences elsewhere for similar kind of money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Banana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a short break at the Lodore Falls. Upon arrival we were made to feel so welcome by the charming young lady at the front desk. We arrived way before check in time however we were informed that our Lake view room was in fact ready. Our suitcase was whisked away by the porter and we were in our room within minutes. Service at the lounge bar for lunch was excellent as was the bar snack we had . What was so outstanding about this hotel was dinner in the lakeside restaurant. The food was outstanding with so much to choose from. Then the staff.... They were absolutely charming and delivered in my opinion a diamond class service. The whole evening flowed and was absolutely flawless. Breakfast was the same the staff work as a team and work extremely hard to ensure your stay is perfect. Well done to the management and staff of this beautiful hotel. Just a little niggle the spa facilities In my opinion were poor. The pool is very small and just a couple of pool beds and a little grubby but the super service and food made up for this. Thanks for a great stay !

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must for fantastic views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

went here for a pamper day and stayed overnight, it was first class from start to finish. The ladies day here is highly recommended great value for money and sitting in the hot tub which is outside and looking at the beautiful scenery is top class.The beds are so comfy you dont want to get out of them and so clean are the bedrooms, the breakfast here is first class so are the meals lovely hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

First of all, to be balanced, excellent location, food and frontline staff.

What does let this hotel down is the behaviour of its management. Having been told incorrect information by the restaurant manager on menu choice (which he acknowledged), then belittled by the deputy manager (which was commented on by other restaurant users) and then a failure on the night to take my complaint seriously by the assistant manager (who evidently offered us complimentary drinks which we were unaware of) - I have not been surprised by the personal response by the manager (very similar to his attitude towards others on this site).

It is sad that managers do not accept feedback and adopt an infallible attitude especially when their staff can obviously pull the wool over their eyes and they fail to take up the invitation to personally discuss issues raised.

Mr Johnson, please write what you wish as a reply as you have done with other contributors on the site - but you need to welcome both positive and negative feedback.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Richspedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived at lodore falls the week before Christmas, the hotel had lots of Christmas trees and was lovely & festive. We checked into our room that was clean and tastefully decorated, sadly the view was mainly of the roof and not of the lovely scenery behind it, I had expected this though, because I had purchased the room through secretescapes.com
We visited the hotels restaurant but there was a Christmas party going on that we had to walk through first, which was slightly uncomfortable. The meal on the first evening was nice & the products were good quality, but I personally felt that the meal would have been better, if the chefs let the quality of the produce speak for itself instead of trying to add flavour with things that didn't appeal to me personally, on the second night I asked for any sauces on the side and enjoyed my food immensely.
Following our meal we retired to our room, which was sadly located next to the lift and we could hear every word of the songs being played at the party.
The staff at lodore falls are very friendly & helpful & offered to move us rooms but we declined as the party would be finished soon. I would suggest that the hotel try's to place guests attending functions in this room so people aren't disturbed.
We had breakfast which was very enjoyable and then used the hotels pool and sauna, which are a great feature of this hotel.
The best feature by far however is the beautiful waterfall behind the hotel. I wasnt expecting a large waterfall but when we walked up to it, I was pleasantly suprised and would advise anyone staying here to visit, although it wouldn't b accessible to any disabled guests.
I felt really relaxed at this hotel, dispite some minor hiccups, I would recommend it to anyone, as we found are stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews