We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, noisy room!”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of April. Ladore Falls is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful place with lovely views. We used the swimming pool and hot tub and both were great. The breakfast was also lovely, probably one of the best we have had. The only problem I had with this hotel was the room we were staying in. We had a family room at the end of a corridor, next to a fire escape. The room was clean, but felt cold and drab and had a poor view from the window. The main problem with the room though was the fact that the pipes which were running through it to the radiators made the most horrendous banging through the night, all night. The pipes were right next to where my daughters bed was too, which resulted in all of us having no sleep at all, which I just feel when you pay quite a lot of money for a one night stay you would expect to have a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Mrs D

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food and services to be very good.

I am sorry to read, and sincerely apologise, that your sleep was disturbed by some noise coming from the heating pipework and have instructed our maintenance team to urgently investigate what has caused this disturbance.

Thank you once again for your comments and I do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Lodore Falls Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed four times at this wonderful hotel. The situation couldn't be better, overlooking Lake Derwentwater. All the staff were helpful and courteous, the food superb and the public rooms comfortable. The easy chairs and fires inviting you to sit and read on the odd rainy day one expects in the English Lake District. Walking is great in the immediate area and a bus to Keswick stops outside the hotel if you feel like a change from driving. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 113kathleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay at The Lodore Falls. We do enjoy welcoming people back to the Hotel over and over again, it's always such a pleasure to see familiar faces.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed with Lake District hotels many times at Inn on the Lake and thought it time to try another. We were not disappointed. Our room was on a corner at the back but had wonderful views of the fells and also with a slight head twist the lake. It had been newly refurbished and the standard was excellent, with nice toiletries in the bathroom.
The hotel was very busy , it being Easter, but the food at dinner and at breakfast was of a very high standard and beautifully presented. The staff were courteous and helpful, so why four stars, some of the public areas were a little tired, worn carpet from the first floor on parts of the stairs and some paintwork in need of attention. Am I being picky? no I don't think so, the sister hotel has had a total refurbishment and looks great and this one has a higher room rate. We would must definitely stay again, ideal spot to leave the car in the car park and just walk.

Room Tip: Some fell view room do not have a good view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in the Lake District. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodore Falls or any of our sister hotels in the very near future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Booked in for Mothers' Day lunch before we came down to the Lake District for a week's break. Despite the fact that it was very busy and it was a celebration day, the service was superb and the food was amazing! Four courses for £27 and flowers or chocolates for the mums. There were half portions (for half price) of the adult four course menu for my hungry nine year old son which he loved. Great value, great food, great staff, great location. We'll be back!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your visit to The Lodore Falls on Mothering Sunday. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch with us and the little gifts for the mums.

I hope it was a memorable day for the whole family and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had been looking for a mini break up in the lakes for a while and came across this hotel on secret escapes for a very good deal. We chose a lake view room and it was definitely worth paying the extra money for. Our room was lovely and had the only balcony that was great to sit on with the sunshine! The service from all the staff was great. They were all very friendly and ready to help at all times. The choice for breakfast and evening meals was good and the vegetarian options for evening meal were amazing! The only slight complaint was that breakfast took a while to be served on 2 out of the three mornings so be wary if you need to head off quickly. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradders2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for the delightful review you were kind enough to write following your Secret Escape with us. I have passed on the comments you make regarding service to my team who always enjoy hearing how much our guests enjoy their stay.

I am sorry to hear that the service of breakfast wasn't as prompt us usual, we pride ourselves in the service we provide, so I will investigate why this was on that particular morning. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I hope that we will welcome you back to The Lodore Falls in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed at many top hotels and this is an absolute gem.
There was 40 of us staying, as a 'business' party. The quality of the food was excellent, the best Venison ever! The staff very friendly and professional. The rooms are of a high standard, clean, comfortable and quiet. And as you would expect in the Lakes, stunning views. We will definitely be staying again. To prove how good it is, this is the first time I have left feedback on any hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_W_Knaresboroug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at lodore falls 13042014 it had been bought us a gift through amazon local. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the lakes and this is definitely now on our favourite list. Recently refurbished our room was modern and comfortable , we were greeted by a friendly welcome and the offer of complimentary tea and cake . Our evening meal was delicious , one of the nicest we've had with good choice of wines and breakfast didn't disappoint either. Small but clean pool and outside hotub which I would recommend booking for . We are planning on returning soon after our relaxing night away .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
988 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £168 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing