We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and staff”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and staff”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend with another couple fora birthday celebration.
We have often visited this hotel for a cuppa and a scone when passing and have always said we would like to stay.
Everything about the hotel is wonderful; the rooms; the views; the food and most of all the very attentive staff - nothing is too much trouble for them.
We dined both nights and really enjoyed the crab bon bons, the trio of chicken, the rhubarb fool. would loved to have stayed more nights so that we could have tried other dishes on the menu.
Had a standard double room but the juliet balcony meant we had a lake view.
The weather was dreadful all weekend but this hotel made us forget about that and it is one of the best, if not the best hotel we've ever stayed in - can't wait to return.
There were 2 weddings on while we were there but they are kept apart from the main hotel so we didn't even know they were there. the restaurants high standards were not compromised by the wedding parties either - very well organised.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear alshell

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I have passed your comments on to all concerned with making your stay so enjoyable.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    541
    183
    87
    76
See reviews for
393
1,298
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very good hotel with very good service.The rooms. We're very nice and clean.We were on the top floor with a lovely view of the gardens on the side window and the waterfall on the back.Food was excellent we had a lovely meal both nights and the breakfast was excellentWell stocked bar and wine was a good price 2

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia55Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Good Afternoon Patricia

Thank you for the glowing review of the Lodore Falls following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you particularly liked the beautiful Fell Side room that you stayed in and that your experience in our Lake View Restaurant was excellent.

I have passed you kind remarks on to my team and hope to welcome you to the Lodore Falls again very soon.

Kind regards
Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights this weekend and were very impressed. Staying in a lake view room which was very spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff extremely polite and helpful. The location was beutiful and even on a rainy day the views are fantastic. If you are planning a wedding, I would thourougly recomend this hotel and the wedding organiser who is brilliant at her job and will ensure a perfect day is had by all.

Room Tip: I would recomend the lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulG123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Good Afternoon Paul

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for the delightful remarks about our Hotel and the team. I have passed on your comments to all involved in your stay and the wedding you attended.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a stay at this great hotel. This was our fourth time. The hotel is in a beautiful location and ideal if you want to get on the fells or just have a trip into Keswick. The hotel has a laid back and friendly atmosphere. The lounge bar area is a nice place to relax whether it's with a pint or a book. We used the leisure facility's and I would recommend the outdoor hot tub. The food is very very good and the staff are very attentive. They have been very well trained and the service is friendly and fantastic. Thanks Ladore for another great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review you posted of your most recent stay at The Lodore Falls. I have passed your kind comments on and hope to welcome you back to the Borrowdale Valley in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Arrived for a short romantic break with my new girlfriend, and found the Lake District to be beautiful, yet bleak and grim as it rained constantly. This didn't affect the experience as the Hotel staff at Lodore Falls were excellent, welcoming and uniformly helpful. Most of the staff we encountered appeared to be from Eastern Europe, and their customer service skills were outstanding. The Bell Boy who without prompting appeared to assist with bags from the car, to the dining staff who were courteous and knowledgeable about their menus. This brings me to the highlight of our stay, the food is Amazing!!! Venison cooked to perfection, sea bass, lamb and duck dishes were enjoyed and devoured. Lodore Falls is a wonderful place to stay,and I haven't even mentioned the grounds which include the Falls either.

Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had a generally lovely time for a weekend here with 3 friends. Hotel reception was excellent and friendly. Very efficient. As was the porter staff who helped with our bags. Rooms were nice and clean


1st nights meal was booked for 8. When we arrived the table wasn't ready but that was fine we went to the bar for a drink. When we were seated the waiting girl was not unfriendly but was a rad cold. Food was nice.

2nd night was also booked for 8. We changed it to 9 as we had the opportunity to have a hottub at 7:40 (you need to book) so when we arrived at 9:05 we were seated and in less than 2 minutes were asked for our orders. We asked for a few more minutes and were told the kitchen was closing. A total of 3 rude staff asked us to order.
My order was from the more expensive £42-50 menu (5course)this night and was told about the supplement. I said that was fine. When my starter we arrived before the 1st course I mentioned I was on the ungraded menu and was told I would get a 3 course meal. I then queried the supplement and was informed that I wouldn't have to pay!

You guessed it the supplement was on the checkout bill so we gad to explain the whole story. To which we were told the restaurant took bookings unto 9:15. I'm not sure what would gave happened if we'd be been any later.

Such a shame. When thus could have easily been a 5 star review!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yarmy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Yarmy3

Many thanks for your kind words about our wonderful hotel.

I think you're being a little harsh on the team here when you describe them as "rude", I'm certain that all they were trying to do was give you great service, but I do apologise unreservedly if their enthusiasm came over as a little too much.

I'm pleased to note that the billing issue was quickly resolved prior to you leaving the hotel.

Thank you once again for your review and I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to this wonderful corner of the Lake District again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night in April this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there for a break and also to check out the hotel as a potential wedding venue. The manager showed us around and he was very friendly and approachable. The location is beautiful with amazing views across Derwent Water. We were fortunate to have a first floor room with a picturesque view across the water. We were too late to dine in the restaurant and instead ordered room service which we didn't have to wait long for. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The room was very clean and well decorated. We slept well as the bed was so comfortable! The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful and the few queries we had were dealt with promptly and efficiently. We were not disturbed by the wedding that was going on while we were there. We enjoyed lunch at the bar the next day. The menu offered a good choice without being pretentious, the quality of the food was very high and the waitress was very friendly. We didn't have time to use all of the facilities, but would like to when we come again.
All in all we had a great time. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear David_and_Sue20

Many thanks for taking the time to place this review.

I do indeed remember showing you around the hotel and sincerely hope that we will have the privilege of hosting your special day.

Thank you once again for your review and wonderful comments.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
977 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing