We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
antigua
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Lodore Falls Hotel is set in a perfect location, overlooking Derwentwater and a short drive from Keswick. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, complete with waterfalls cascading from the fells, with plenty of tables and chairs where you can sit with a drink to enjoy the view. Our room, which had been recently refurbished, was attractive, quiet and comfortable, The food was delicious and stylishly presented, with the exception of the carrot soup, which should have had the coriander, it promised. The staff were polite and hardworking, and seemed happy to be working at such a lovely hotel. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return for another holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear leeAntigua

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your kind comments to all concerned.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    513
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
374
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night on the 13 th June. On arrival we were checked in very efficiently. Our case was taken to the room. Room 130. It was a very nice and clean room. We were very lucky to have a small wooden balcony. We had a lake view although it also took in the car park but that can't be helped.

My husband had ordered strawberries and Pimms which we had outside in the hotel garden.

The hotel is a few minutes stroll from the lake and you can take the bus to the much busier town of Keswick.

For those of you who stay longer than us there is a spa with hot tub etc and tennis courts.

We opted for the five course dinner which was delicious. The service again was very prompt and the staff could not do enough to please.

After a well cooked breakfast we had our last walk to the lake and then had to leave for the journey home

The cost of the hotel I think is a little overpriced but nevertheless would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room at the front of the hotel they all have large full size windows or a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Fay Cheshire

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

I am delighted to read that all went well with your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My initial experience of the Lodore was, sadly, not the best. I was sold the 'penthouse suite', mostly because of my personal situation and so that with an invalid husband, I could enjoy the leisure options offered and the treatment sessions. Very expensive but I felt the facilities would be worth it.

On entering the room, we were somewhat overcome by the smell of cigarette smoke. The lady showing us around said she couldn't smell it but there again said she had just had a cigarette so that was why. After she had left, a trip onto the balcony showed that this had not been swept in weeks and was littered with cigarette ends - I collected 10! The furniture was covered in cobwebs and all the paint was peeling off the balcony - not quite the luxury you would expect for £700 for two for two nights!

I set off to make appointments for treatment sessions, only to be told they were fully booked for the period we were staying but went off for a swim. The following day all leisure facilities were over-subscribed because the hotel was having a 'pamper day' so I could not even swim. What had I paid for? I was so incenced I drafted a note to the hotel manager who did not even afford me the courtesy of a meeting, a reply or even a telephone call.

The staff and food were the best attribute to the hotel and instead of the manager leading by example, they were in fact setting the tone for the hotel. Two friends joined us unexpectedly on the second day and as we had a second bedroom in the suite we asked if they could stay. That cost me a further £150 for the privilege including them having to share a bathroom.

Very disappointed and feeling very let down that I was not able to enjoy the privileges I had paid for in an effort to satisfy a very well earned rest for a 24/7 carer. It also saddened me that although the hotel is a little 'tired' in places, the overall ambience is one of good feeling and welcome, set in splendid grounds and with a good restaurant. It only takes and experience like this to leave a sour taste.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Beryl S

I am sorry that you felt it necessary to write such a one sided version of you recent stay with us.

I do admit that there were some cigarette ends on the balcony of you suite, for which we apologised and cleared away as soon as you had made us aware of the oversight.

It's such a shame that do don't mention the free upgrade you were given or the fact that our chef personally prepared dishes which were not on the menu. I also question that you couldn't have a swim, our leisure facilities are never so "over subscribed" that guests cannot use the pools and, having checked the levels of business on the days that you were with us, your statement just is not the case.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We first visited Lodore in February 2013 after getting engaged at Christmas. We were looking for a venue to get married at.
The service was fantastic! And the views were magical.
We therefore decided to get married there on 6th June this year.
We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone! The manager Stephen and all his staff are fantastic!
Our wedding day and the few days afterwards were amazing. Couldn't fault it one bit.
We will defiantly be returning!
We'd highly recommend the lake cruise which we took all of our guest on as well. The location and views are out of this world.
The food was delicious too!

Room Tip: Brilliant hotel in every way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Tracey B

Thank you so much for your kind words.

My team and I will remember your wedding fondly for many years to come as the whole day was wonderful and your guests were a great party crowd. I have passed on your fantastic comments to all concerned.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Lodore in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here in May with a group of friends, and we all enjoyed the occasion. The hotel has a large bar/lounge area with plenty of space and comfortable chairs. The room we had was large, with a very comfortable bed, good pillows, poor bedside reading lights. The bathroom was perfectly adequate and clean, but was small and needed modernising. There was a large, rather uninviting balcony which appeared to be part of a roof. We hadn't paid extra to overlook the lake and weren't expecting much but it was an unappealing view all the same.
The hotel is in a wonderful location and you can go on excellent walks straight from the hotel.

Breakfast was ok, but we have had a better choice of breakfast fresh fruit in B and Bs we have stayed in recently. We would have rated the hotel "good" rather than "very good", but there is not that option. We didn't use the swimming pool or spa, which presumably pushes the price up and it is not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear jandgro

Thank you for reviewing our wonderful Lodore on this site.

Having worked at this hotel for the last eight years I still get the "Wow Factor" every time I come on duty. It could be the magnificent location, it could be the stunning building, it could be the fact that we have invested over £2 million in refurbishments over the last few years, it could be the wonderful guests who stay with us or it could be the fantastic team of people I am privileged to share Lodore as a work place with.

I'm sorry you didn't experience the same joy, but would be delighted to welcome you back in the future so that we can change you opinion.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Where do we begin? There is just so much great stuff to say. From the first communication with Erin and Donna regarding booking the hotel for our wedding we realised this hotel was the one for us. The way Donna and Erin answered all our hundreds of questions was just amazing. All the information given was helpful and because we had brought it forward it was gratefully appreciated. Queries and emails were always dealt with promptly and we never felt like a bother to them. We booked Lodore house for ourselves and 8 other family members from the 30th of may until 6th of June and the pictures really do not do it justice. Family and friends also stayed in the hotel and felt equally comfortable and well looked after. We had our hen and stag night on Friday the 30th and just before venturing out we met the pure angel of a wedding planner Jeanette. She was just the best planner and all round lovely person anyone could wish for. She took control of a few last minute things and took the strain right off us. A true gem indeed. On the Sunday we got married at 3pm outside and once again everything looked stunning and went so smooth. The staff were all so helpful,and genuinely made us feel very special . The food was outstanding, we chose the Cumbrian menu and wow what a great choice. Every guest commented on how lovely it all was. The night do also went lovely and the atmosphere was perfect. Thank you so much for the best day of our lives. Even the cheeky flash under my husbands kilt of his bum was a talking point for days and the staff are just unbeatable. The hotel, house, staff, scenery, and everything else at Lodore falls is just out of this world. We will be back. X x Pamela and Tim Watson

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Pamela & Tim

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

We were honoured that you chose Lodore as the venue to celebrate your special day and delighted that all went so well for you and your guests.

Thank you once again and I do very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked this trip via secret escapes so this may have an impacted on my review as the package limited the food selection.
We arrived at lunchtime on Saturday the 14/06/14 to celebrate our anniversary. This unfortunately coincided with a wedding and the obvious increased demand on the limited car parking. Having pulled onto the hotel frontage the car was unloaded and my wife left to attend the bags while I tried to locate parking in what was a pretty full car park. This completed returned to the Hotel and completed the check in process.
Directed to room not shown as is often the case in the better venues, the room had a lake view and was tastefully decorated not to long ago. The en suite was new too if a little small and one of the biggest misses in the bathroom was a hook of any description to hang bathrobes etc.
The bar was very popular catering for a multitude of walkers along with the wedding guests and passing trade calling for lunches. This caused the not too surprising delays with both food and drink orders.
We contemplated travelling to Keswick not too far down the road by either the Bus service that passed at regular intervals or possibly the launch that was visible from the bar that was also pretty frequent. In the end we stayed and enjoyed lunch and a couple of drinks both of which were enjoyable.
I felt a residents bar would be of benefit or at least another option during high traffic times in the lounge.
Having enjoyed a short walk into Borrowdale and the nearby river we returned to dress for dinner.
We found the general dress code was casual as the cliental seemed to be more outdoor pursuits than fine dining and it seems the management have set out to cater for this.
The four course tab menu we were offered was limited but having considered the alternative menu at an increased price of £7.50 each this too seemed unadventurous.
Out of the three main courses the chocolate tart was the only one that stood out for me although my wife enjoyed the Thai fish cake .
The breakfast was of high quality and we both enjoyed the cooked element very much.
Checking out completed with only the wine and a couple of beers to pay for, purchased after the bar closed to accompany the England game and the remainder of the £50 upfront charge refunded we left for home. Only to find our initial journey would coincide with a cycle event also going to Keswick you just never know what else will affect you're trip !

Room Tip: Rooms facing south don't look to have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear David B

Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

Having said how much you enjoy the location, room and most of the food offered whilst staying with us last weekend, I do think that you have been very harsh in marking us down....surely we were better than 3 out of 5?

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,234 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing