We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great setting and location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great setting and location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The welcome on arrival was very good, and the room was lovely with great views of the gardens and the fells, if we sat down near the window the view of the lakes was good.
We had complementary Pimms and strawberries served in the lounge area which was lovely. Everything went smoothly for our first night's evening meal, our order being taken by the bar staff and very soon being collected by the restaurant staff, the menus were very good with plenty of choice and the food and wine where delicious.
The breakfast next morning was very good, hot and tasty. We asked if we could book a lake view table for the evening meal which was agreed upon.We had a lovely day out at Keswick which is very close. we came back and had a swim in the lovely warm indoor pool.
On coming down for the evening meal the lounge bar staff served us drinks and then took our restaurant order for the restaurant. Forty minutes later we were still sat there waiting(as were another couple who had ordered at the same time), One of the bar staff then said have you not been taken through to the restaurant. We were then rushed through, being told we could not have the lake view table, not much of an apology for being late. Our starters were lovely, then came our main meals,my husbands lamb dish was perfect but my duck breast was almost raw and could not be cut into. The restaurant manager was very efficient giving me either a choice of cooking the duck breast more or having a different choice, I chose the lamb which came very quickly and was perfect.The rest of the meal was very good and we had coffees in the garden.

We then went to bed and were fast asleep when the fire alarm went off at 12.55, this luckily was a false alarm but we know that if there is a fire we would certainly be woken up.(GOOD)
Check out the next morning was very quick and efficient. We would love to stay here again, without the fire alarm but with 'promised / confirmed' seating arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear patsylandin

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the issue in the restaurant was quickly and professionally dealt with.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    514
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
375
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CO DURHAM
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and paid extra for a Fell View room. The room overlooked the spa, so if you opened your curtains you felt like the people exercising were looking directly into your room. Not what we'd expected at all. Also the hotel advertises that its "dog friendly" but we didnt find this at all. As soon as we arrived and i mentioned we'd brought our dog (which they should have known as we'd paid extra for this) i was handed a piece of paper which told me i needed to clean up after her! As a responsible dog owner i found this offensive. We have stayed at lots of dog friendly places and never been told how to look after her. Also there was no where for us to eat after 5ish as dogs arent allowed in the areas where they serve food on an evening and also breakfast was a problem. Everywhere else we have stayed have areas where they will set a table for you to be able to eat with your dog. So we ate at the hotel over the road on the evening and had to put her in the car so we could have breakfast the following day. I'd heard good things about the Lodore Falls and was really looking forward to staying there but we wont go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROWNSCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear BROWNSCoDurh...

As dog owners themselves, our directors take pride in offering a warm welcome to dogs within our hotels.

We do however need to ensure that guests without four legged company are also able to enjoy the wonderful comfort offered by Lodore, to this end we do not accept dogs in the hotel restaurant or main bar lounge. We do however welcome canine company in our library, reception foyer and throughout our extensive grounds.

When dogs arrive their owners are given a door hanger which is used to alert our housekeeping staff that a dog is in the room and information regarding where the bins for placing our furry friends droppings are located. I'm sorry that you took exception to being given this information, as it is purely meant to be of assistance.

Our room categories are standard, fell side and lake view. You booked a standard but upgraded to a fell side, at a small extra cost. The term fell side refers to the room facing the fells to the rear of the hotel and whilst there are admittedly other buildings belonging to the hotel, the view is predominantly that of the beautiful fells which surround the hotel.

I'm sorry that you won't be visiting Lodore again in the future and would very much enjoy the opportunity of welcoming you back to change you opinion of our fantastic hotel.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this break at a discount price and well worth the money. Firstly the staff are great, courteous and very professional. We had a room with a balcony at the side of the property and although the 'view of the fells' was a little misleading it nevertheless looked onto lawns and trees. The weather was fantastic and we had tea and scones on the lawn. We only ate one night in the restaurant as it was a bit pricey and quite small portions but still very tasty. The bedroom was a good size though the bathroom was a bit small. Still you don' spend your hols in the bathroom. Lots of excellent white towels and robes and the water was always hot whatever time of day.
The reason for the four stars is that the people above must have had a dog in their room and because of creaking floorboards and the fact that someone or something walked the floor all night it did mean a disturbed night for us. I did mention this to the receptionist when clearing the bill and she said 'it is a dog friendly hotel'. I suggested they may try the room with someone walking and check out the noise before putting an animal in the room. She was sorry we had a disturbed night and gave me a free bottle of wine (which was very unexpected).
This would not deter me from staying there again if the opportunity arose for the same discount package. We visit the lakes frequently for short breaks at all times of the year.
Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: The side room with the balcony had sunshine from early morning and well through the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear noroof

Many thanks for placing a review on here.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently, but sorry that you disturbed by another guest although pleased to read that my receptionist handled your concern with understanding and care.

It's good to read that you will return to Lodore in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent food especially the 5 course meal..staff were brilliant and treatments were top class!!! Our stay here has been memorable and relaxing.....the landscapes and views were unreal....a very dog friendly hotel which was refreshing ...the room was beautiful Thank you very much...... Mark and Leeann xx

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Markleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

You can't beat the setting of this beautiful hotel. We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather and so cream tea or a drink on the lawns was very relaxing. Service was superb from all the staff. The meals were excellent and views from the dining room beautiful. We were offered a standard room - very small and very hot. We then upgraded to a slightly bigger but much cooler room.

Room Tip: Check out the standard room and upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear CathyS51

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel on this site.

You're right Lodore really does have the most perfect setting, even more so when we are blessed with the great weather we've been enjoying recently.

I do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antigua
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Lodore Falls Hotel is set in a perfect location, overlooking Derwentwater and a short drive from Keswick. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, complete with waterfalls cascading from the fells, with plenty of tables and chairs where you can sit with a drink to enjoy the view. Our room, which had been recently refurbished, was attractive, quiet and comfortable, The food was delicious and stylishly presented, with the exception of the carrot soup, which should have had the coriander, it promised. The staff were polite and hardworking, and seemed happy to be working at such a lovely hotel. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return for another holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear leeAntigua

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your kind comments to all concerned.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night on the 13 th June. On arrival we were checked in very efficiently. Our case was taken to the room. Room 130. It was a very nice and clean room. We were very lucky to have a small wooden balcony. We had a lake view although it also took in the car park but that can't be helped.

My husband had ordered strawberries and Pimms which we had outside in the hotel garden.

The hotel is a few minutes stroll from the lake and you can take the bus to the much busier town of Keswick.

For those of you who stay longer than us there is a spa with hot tub etc and tennis courts.

We opted for the five course dinner which was delicious. The service again was very prompt and the staff could not do enough to please.

After a well cooked breakfast we had our last walk to the lake and then had to leave for the journey home

The cost of the hotel I think is a little overpriced but nevertheless would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room at the front of the hotel they all have large full size windows or a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Fay Cheshire

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

I am delighted to read that all went well with your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing