We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived at the entrance of the Lodore Falls Hotel (a rather grim looking building) situated in the heart of the Lake District near Keswick, to find that there were only five car parking spaces there, which were all taken. That necessitated us having to park the car quickly, then go into Reception to see where the 'proper' car park was, since there were no signs indicating its whereabouts. Irritating start. Then we parked and went into the hotel, where the Reception dealt with us efficiently, but not with much warmth. However, after a splendid dinner that evening and excellent service from the (mainly Eastern European) staff, the hotel was starting to grow on us. We were there three days and didn't have the best of weather, but we enjoyed our stay. I thought the room was a bit small and rather tired, decoratively, although my wife felt it was fine. It was perfectly clean and tidy. There was no fridge in the room and no air conditioning, so we were quite lucky the weather wasn't too hot. Finally, the clincher - Breakfast was made fresh by a chef and was great.

Room Tip: The 'Fell View' rooms, DO look across at the Fells, but over the flat roofs of adjacent buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericjhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ericjhan

Many thanks you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and have passed on your kind words to all concerned. I agree that the Lodore is an imposing building, but would never describe it as "grim" as it truly reflects the Lakeland stone and slate fells within which it so perfectly nestles.

The car parking spaces immediately to the front of the building are reserved for disabled guests, whilst the main car is across the road, there are signs on the main building advising of this.

Thank you once again for your review and I do very hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    513
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
374
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. We had take the opportunity to try the hotel as we got a good deal on Secret Escapes. However I was disappointed, I certainly would not want to have paid more than the price we paid.
We paid extra for lake view and the view was stunning, however we had to have one of the last sittings for dinner and felt a little rushed. The food was okay, but not wonderful, it did feel a little like mass production. The next day we had the five course meal and ate earlier, this was much better and more individual, with the quality of the food higher.
In summary would I stay again, maybe, but I would want a la carte and lower price for room. I wanted to select good and not average, this was not a choice and felt I could not select very good

Room Tip: You need to book lake view as I did look at a fell view room and it was very small and overlooked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Help56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Help56

Thank you for taking the time to review Lodore on this site.

I am sorry that you felt a little rushed at dinner on the first night of your stay, this most certainly wasn't our intention and I will ensure that the restaurant team are aware of your feelings. It is good to read that things were more "normal Lodore" the following day.

Many thanks once again for sharing your thoughts and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We got married here last year (which, I must say - the staff were wonderful with, it was a tiny ceremony but we never felt like anything was any bother and our day was truly magical) and chose to come back to visit on our first anniversary. We originally wanted to stay again but unfortunately it was full booked the day we wanted so we opted to have late lunch instead and just enjoy being in the beautiful grounds again. The staff, as ever, were very friendly, polite and helpful - even when my picky husband wanted to change the cheese on his sandwich!! We both had the pulled pork with blue cheese (for me, anyway) and Apple and they were definitely the best 'sandwiches' we've ever had. They were out of this world, and it was wonderful being able to sit outside and able to see the gazebo we got married in a year previously. We hope to come back to stay another time - definitely a stunning place! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jen A

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am thrilled to read that we lived up to your expectations on your return visit and have passed on your comments to all here at Lodore.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Most reviews have already mentioned what a lovely setting this hotel has. Probably one of the best situations on Derwent Water. We were blessed with wonderful weather on our arrival, and everyone was sitting out in the garden, enjoying either teas or a cooling drink. The amenities are excellent, although we didn't have time to use them. Room clean, in new part of building, but very hot, even though we kept the window open at all times. Dining room has views over the lake, as does the lounge bar. We had the 5 course meal (part of the package that we had booked), all delicious, but we did have to wait on the first 2 nights for 30 minutes between our sorbet and main course. This seemed unnecessary, as they had served the first 3 courses in very quick succession. If they had organised how long our mains was going to be, they could have avoided a long wait for our mains. However, on the next 2 nights, the meal was served at a very pleasant pace. Staff friendly and helpful, courteous and clearly well trained. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom, good white towels and bathrobes. Only criticism was that although the decor of the room was very pleasing, the curtains and the bed runner had holes in them, I was not sure whether they were silk, so the light had clearly affected them. Bathroom lacks a shaving mirror and a light directly over the mirror. So shaving and make up was difficult. This could be easily remedied. There were a couple of big parties of people in on our last night, so it was very noisy in the Lounge Bar, but after having our coffee there we moved to the inside Lounge, which was much quieter, and they don't have piped music here! What a good idea. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Gardens very pleasant and well tended.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view, you will have to pay extra to have a room overlooking the front. Those to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear GillH007_12

Thank you choosing our wonderful hotel as the venue for your husband's birthday treat, we believe Lodore to be the perfect setting for such special occasions and it is fantastic to read that you had such a good stay with us.

I have taken on board the comments you make regarding the room and will ensure that these are addressed straight away.

kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The welcome on arrival was very good, and the room was lovely with great views of the gardens and the fells, if we sat down near the window the view of the lakes was good.
We had complementary Pimms and strawberries served in the lounge area which was lovely. Everything went smoothly for our first night's evening meal, our order being taken by the bar staff and very soon being collected by the restaurant staff, the menus were very good with plenty of choice and the food and wine where delicious.
The breakfast next morning was very good, hot and tasty. We asked if we could book a lake view table for the evening meal which was agreed upon.We had a lovely day out at Keswick which is very close. we came back and had a swim in the lovely warm indoor pool.
On coming down for the evening meal the lounge bar staff served us drinks and then took our restaurant order for the restaurant. Forty minutes later we were still sat there waiting(as were another couple who had ordered at the same time), One of the bar staff then said have you not been taken through to the restaurant. We were then rushed through, being told we could not have the lake view table, not much of an apology for being late. Our starters were lovely, then came our main meals,my husbands lamb dish was perfect but my duck breast was almost raw and could not be cut into. The restaurant manager was very efficient giving me either a choice of cooking the duck breast more or having a different choice, I chose the lamb which came very quickly and was perfect.The rest of the meal was very good and we had coffees in the garden.

We then went to bed and were fast asleep when the fire alarm went off at 12.55, this luckily was a false alarm but we know that if there is a fire we would certainly be woken up.(GOOD)
Check out the next morning was very quick and efficient. We would love to stay here again, without the fire alarm but with 'promised / confirmed' seating arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear patsylandin

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the issue in the restaurant was quickly and professionally dealt with.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO DURHAM
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and paid extra for a Fell View room. The room overlooked the spa, so if you opened your curtains you felt like the people exercising were looking directly into your room. Not what we'd expected at all. Also the hotel advertises that its "dog friendly" but we didnt find this at all. As soon as we arrived and i mentioned we'd brought our dog (which they should have known as we'd paid extra for this) i was handed a piece of paper which told me i needed to clean up after her! As a responsible dog owner i found this offensive. We have stayed at lots of dog friendly places and never been told how to look after her. Also there was no where for us to eat after 5ish as dogs arent allowed in the areas where they serve food on an evening and also breakfast was a problem. Everywhere else we have stayed have areas where they will set a table for you to be able to eat with your dog. So we ate at the hotel over the road on the evening and had to put her in the car so we could have breakfast the following day. I'd heard good things about the Lodore Falls and was really looking forward to staying there but we wont go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROWNSCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear BROWNSCoDurh...

As dog owners themselves, our directors take pride in offering a warm welcome to dogs within our hotels.

We do however need to ensure that guests without four legged company are also able to enjoy the wonderful comfort offered by Lodore, to this end we do not accept dogs in the hotel restaurant or main bar lounge. We do however welcome canine company in our library, reception foyer and throughout our extensive grounds.

When dogs arrive their owners are given a door hanger which is used to alert our housekeeping staff that a dog is in the room and information regarding where the bins for placing our furry friends droppings are located. I'm sorry that you took exception to being given this information, as it is purely meant to be of assistance.

Our room categories are standard, fell side and lake view. You booked a standard but upgraded to a fell side, at a small extra cost. The term fell side refers to the room facing the fells to the rear of the hotel and whilst there are admittedly other buildings belonging to the hotel, the view is predominantly that of the beautiful fells which surround the hotel.

I'm sorry that you won't be visiting Lodore again in the future and would very much enjoy the opportunity of welcoming you back to change you opinion of our fantastic hotel.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this break at a discount price and well worth the money. Firstly the staff are great, courteous and very professional. We had a room with a balcony at the side of the property and although the 'view of the fells' was a little misleading it nevertheless looked onto lawns and trees. The weather was fantastic and we had tea and scones on the lawn. We only ate one night in the restaurant as it was a bit pricey and quite small portions but still very tasty. The bedroom was a good size though the bathroom was a bit small. Still you don' spend your hols in the bathroom. Lots of excellent white towels and robes and the water was always hot whatever time of day.
The reason for the four stars is that the people above must have had a dog in their room and because of creaking floorboards and the fact that someone or something walked the floor all night it did mean a disturbed night for us. I did mention this to the receptionist when clearing the bill and she said 'it is a dog friendly hotel'. I suggested they may try the room with someone walking and check out the noise before putting an animal in the room. She was sorry we had a disturbed night and gave me a free bottle of wine (which was very unexpected).
This would not deter me from staying there again if the opportunity arose for the same discount package. We visit the lakes frequently for short breaks at all times of the year.
Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: The side room with the balcony had sunshine from early morning and well through the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear noroof

Many thanks for placing a review on here.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently, but sorry that you disturbed by another guest although pleased to read that my receptionist handled your concern with understanding and care.

It's good to read that you will return to Lodore in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing