We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, but dinner's not top notch any more”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but dinner's not top notch any more”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is in an unbeatable location. Our suite had a view that couldn't be bettered, and then through another window it had another excellent view. Communal areas are a bit tired, but you get what you pay for here and we usually stay at far more expensive hotels.

My one gripe is that dinner has gone downhill. Two years ago one got generous amounts of excellent food. Last year one got reasonable amounts of excellent food. This year one gets reasonable amounts of good but not excellent food. The choice of bread was stale white or stale brown. One main course of rack of lamb contained almost no meat whatever (though the excellent head waiter was very apologetic when this was pointed out and didn't charge us - this meal being for a third person not covered by our room booking deal).

I wonder whether the fact that one usually pre-pays for one's dinners for the entire stay means that they have been tempted into not spending enough. Perhaps there's a problem with suppliers. It's mostly the ingredients that seem to be the problem, not the preparation. If we hadn't pre-paid for dinner, we would have tried one or two nearby hotels for a change.

Breakfast has been identical each year and bar food is remarkably good. Try the pulled pork tasca or the minute steak!

The waiting staff are mostly Eastern European. Their English can be strange and some of them look a bit solemn, but I like them.

Take your own hair conditioner. For some reason the hotel doesn't supply any. Good, free wifi.

Room Tip: The views are worth paying for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampstead_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,184
    516
    178
    78
    72
See reviews for
378
1,250
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool England UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel, ignore the last review about the road its a country road and really quiet. Would go again, great location. Lovely places to walk or just chill out at the hotel and enjoy the views of the lake

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravellinggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in July as a stop off point between walking Ben Nevis and Scafell Pike (the hotel is very close to Seathwaite where one of the routes up Scafell starts) hoping for a good rest. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely location on one of the prettiest lakes in the Lake District. We had a lake view room with a great view (photo attached). Dinner was good and it was nice at breakfast the following morning to have the breakfast cooked specially (the bacon was done so much better than at a buffet). The staff were very helpful and friendly - overall the stay exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went end of June. stayed a couple of nights. Whilst there was a large wedding going on it was never intrusive. The way the hotel manages events means that one's own time there is just as importantly.

We didn't have much choice when booking two nights and our room was quite small - but this was clearly shown at the time of booking. having said that it was very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wudg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having stayed before I was not disappointed, in fact better than ever - all the staff from Alex and Hannah at reception, to the restauraunt/bar, leisure club to housekeeping were cheerful, helpful and very hardworking. They all have a professional attitude to customer service, and make staying here a pleasure.
It is good they are a dog friendly establishment, which extends to cats also. It is a real home from home. Despite the hotel being busy staff always have time for the guests, to help with queries or just ensure they are happy.
The cleanliness of rooms, and all public areas could not be faulted, and as it was hot weather took advantage of the outside pool which was spotless. The standard of the food is first class as is service in the stylish dining room. The Hungarian staff are charming, helpful and hardworking as is everyone working at Lodore, too many to name all but you know who you are.
The rooms are well appointed, and wonderful to see the swallows return to nest again, the gardens are well maintained and colourful, and you can walk up to the falls just behind the hotel. The views from the hotel are unsurpassed and it was peaceful and relaxing when I stayed despite the hotel being full!
I would recommend this hotel unreservedly to anyone wanting a relaxing break in a wonderful setting, and especially if you enjoy fell walking as it is in the heart of some excellent walking country. I hope it will continue to maintain the same high standards of service and elegance for many years to come. A big thank you to all at Lodore from me and Miss Polly.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same high standard and level of comfort but lake views are worth the extra, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Lodore on the 27 th and 28 th June to celebrate a special wedding anniversary.
The first room we were shown to which overlooked the lodge next door , looked extremely ' tired ' , certainly nothing special ! I have to say we have stayed in better rooms in Travel Lodges.My husband asked if we could change rooms ,shown to another room which did look to have been refurbished, more like the standard of room we were expecting.We were given a seat in the dining room with an excellent view and we did enjoy our meals,food very good,but, on the first night we were served our starter and ' then forgotten ' about. We did ask about this when numerous other diners who had arrived much later than us were finishing their meals, while we were still waiting in anticipation of our main course. The waiter apologised, telling us our meal would be ready in about 10 minutes.The 'head waiter', delivered our meal, but did not acknowledge what had happened and was noticeably absent when we left an almost empty restaurant, very disappointed with this service. We did not make a ' fuss' as we were not going to let this incident spoil our weekend away. My husband also spent the 2 days away sneezing and feeling congested, which stopped when we arrived home. We had not realised when we booked this hotel that dogs are allowed in all bedrooms . Disappointing stay at the Lodore!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked a 2 night stay here for my husband's 60th birthday and we were not disappointed. From the moment of booking in until the time of checking out, the smile never left our face. We booked a lake view and couldn't have had better if we had picked it ourselves. Everything was immaculate, clean and fresh. Having read some of the negative feedback I can only wonder if they were at the same hotel! The staff were mostly foreign, but the service(with a smile) from them and all other staff was infectious, and I feel sure had we had anything that didn't suit us it would have been sorted In short order. All meals were served in the beautiful dining room overlooking the lake. They were of the highest quality and Chef is to be congratulated in producing such delicious, and wonderfully presented food, he obviously has very high standards.

Room Tip: The lake views are worth the little extra if you care for a few. The rear rooms view the mountains a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing