We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel the best in the lakes”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel the best in the lakes”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I love visiting the lodore it's a fabulously luxurious hotel and the staff are amongst the best for customer service .
My husband and I have just booked yet again for our yearly visit in December you can't beat the christmas festive feeling you get as you approach with the exterior decorations and then as you enter and later relax in the many lounges the atmosphere is lit with twinkling christmas trees and low carols to send you back in time and relive the anticipation of the coming season
Love it ,,,can't wait for December the 5th x

Room Tip: Spoil yourself there are swimming pools, gym,salon,bar,restaurant snugs beautiful views and an overa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitchen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    541
    183
    87
    76
See reviews for
393
1,298
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel for my husband's big '0' birthday. I had let them know in advance and we were upgraded which was splendid. The suite of rooms was wonderfully comfortable, stylish and well equipped. The room had a view over the Lake which was magnificent as the colours changed over the fells and water. We had a complimentary box of chocolates left in the room too.

It was the night of the England World Cup match that would decice whether they progressed into the knock out stages and the hotel had provided a large TV, nibbles and a dedicated room for the football enthusiasts

There is parking at the hotel, over the road though so if you had a lot of luggage it would be worth unpacking at the main entrance and parking afterwards.

The breakfast was superb with a huge choice and delightful staff.

Altogther a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We wanted to stay here for one night in order to go to a production at the Theatre on the Lake in Keswick. I saw a good deal with Telegraph Handpicked hotels but it included Dinner B&B but we wouldn't be able to make dinner with going to the theatre so we wanted to see if we could book the deal but change the dinner to lunch. So I telephoned the hotel and spoke to 3 people who couldn't answer this simple question so I agreed to e-mail instead. Still awaiting a reply!!!. Booked into a nearby hotel instead!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank christina175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived at the Lodore Falls Hotel at 8.30pm after having walked Scafell Pike, we called ahead to advise that we would be late for our 8pm dinner reservation & were advised that the latest time we could sit down for dinner would be 8.45pm. When we arrived looking dirty and bedraggled (!) the manager and restaurant manager met us with menus in reception and offered us the full restauant menu in our rooms or pre-order for the restaurant providing we could be back (clean and changed) within 15 minutes! Amazingly we all managed to get ready for dinner in the restaurant and the staff were so accomodating, to top it all the food was absolutely superb and me and my 6 friends all had a wonderful evening. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was fantastic and although we were the last table to leave we were not rushed at all. Sunday was spent relaxing in the outdoor hot tub (despite not pre-booking the staff were able to find us a slot within 15 minutes which was perfect). All in all our stay was fantastic, the staff could not do enough for us and we will most definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We got married at the stunning Lodore Falls on 12th July and the whole experience and service provided by the hotel was absolutely amazing and second to none and we cannot thank them enough.
Every member of staff made us and our guests feel so welcome and special.
My husband and I had a Spa day there which was so relaxing, enjoying the indoor and outdoor pools and lunch. They also did our nails for the wedding, they were great. The Spa also put us in contact with Chrissie Barnes who did all of the bridal parties hair. Chrissie was amazing and worked her socks off, dealing with some very demanding ladies and everyone loved what she did for them, she came to the hotel and worked from our room which really helped.
The food at the hotel was second to none, not just for the wedding but for our whole stay before and afterwards.
As I’ve said, all of the staff made us feel special, but we couldn’t go without giving a massive thank you to a few people. Donna Walker was our wedding planner and she was absolutely fantastic, I would send her loads of plans and changes, and nothing was a problem, she assured me time and time again that I was not being a bridezilla (even though I’m sure at times I was!)
Jeanette was the hands on person on the day and again, nothing was a problem for her, she made us feel really relaxed on the day and had it all in hand having met with us beforehand to go over the fine details.
Hans was also brilliant, he made sure everyone was in the right place at the right time and always kept us calm, even at the points that should be stressful. He even got somebody up on the roof to help search for a missing cuff link!
These guys worked their socks off to give us everything we had wanted and more.
The General Manager Stephen took the time to have a chat with us the following day which made us realise that our wedding had been just as important to him as the rest of the team.
Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, best day ever. We cannot recommend The Lodore Falls Hotel highly enough for anyone thinking of tying the knot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareandLee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is in an unbeatable location. Our suite had a view that couldn't be bettered, and then through another window it had another excellent view. Communal areas are a bit tired, but you get what you pay for here and we usually stay at far more expensive hotels.

My one gripe is that dinner has gone downhill. Two years ago one got generous amounts of excellent food. Last year one got reasonable amounts of excellent food. This year one gets reasonable amounts of good but not excellent food. The choice of bread was stale white or stale brown. One main course of rack of lamb contained almost no meat whatever (though the excellent head waiter was very apologetic when this was pointed out and didn't charge us - this meal being for a third person not covered by our room booking deal).

I wonder whether the fact that one usually pre-pays for one's dinners for the entire stay means that they have been tempted into not spending enough. Perhaps there's a problem with suppliers. It's mostly the ingredients that seem to be the problem, not the preparation. If we hadn't pre-paid for dinner, we would have tried one or two nearby hotels for a change.

Breakfast has been identical each year and bar food is remarkably good. Try the pulled pork tasca or the minute steak!

The waiting staff are mostly Eastern European. Their English can be strange and some of them look a bit solemn, but I like them.

Take your own hair conditioner. For some reason the hotel doesn't supply any. Good, free wifi.

Room Tip: The views are worth paying for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampstead_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool England UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel, ignore the last review about the road its a country road and really quiet. Would go again, great location. Lovely places to walk or just chill out at the hotel and enjoy the views of the lake

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravellinggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
977 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing