We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
779 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Elegant and historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a delightful lunch on the lawns beside the flowing creek at this historic and very beautiful hotel. Drinks and food were ordered from the bar and delivered promptly by a personable waiter to our outside table. Our meals were tasty and enjoyable, but even if they weren't the scenery is so lovely we probably wouldn't have noticed.
The setting is unbeatable with fabulous views across the lake and the falls themselves are accessed by a pathway immediately behind the hotel.
If you are in the area this is the perfect spot for a dignified lunch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    513
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
374
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What an absolute disappointment! I had been really looking forward to coming here! We walked about 6 miles to get here! Place was heaving! Wonderful looking place! In a wonderful part if the world! From the outset we were ambushed by wasps whilst sitting outside! We then went to sit inside and were ambushed by more wasps! We ordered food which when delivered was slapped (the only words to describe this) on our table! We were not asked if we would like any condiments! The chips were cold! And the rarebit we had ordered was pleasant enough but paltry! At £10 for glorified cheese in toast! One expected a little more than one circle if bread!!!!! My partner went to the bar and asked for the wine list and then attempted to order a bottle of wine! The waiter asked for her order and then proceeded to serve the next 2 customers!!!!!! When my partner asked for our wine - an Australian Chardonnay! The waiter offered a bottle of a French wine! He then stated he would bring it to our table, by this point our food was cold cold cold! The waiter then finally delivered our wine to our table in a more than sarcastic manner! All in all a very poor service! Despite the hotel being very busy! And clearly not enough staff to cope with demands! I would certainly not rush here in a hurry! A very over rated priced place for lunch! Better service in McDonald's and a 5th of the price! What a let down!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cattyally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a lake view room and the view was simply stunning! Check in was easy and the staff were very pleasant. We had dinner in the restaurant, the food and service were both superb. The reasons that I haven't given 5 stars are 1) at the end of the meal we were left with dirty plates for a good 10-15 minutes and we left the restaurant before they were cleared and 2) the rooms are looking a little tired, that said I would definitely recommend and won't hesitate to return should the opportunity arise.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful location on the shores of lake Derwentwater which can be viewed from the restaurant and the lounge/bar area. We had Pimms and strawberries on arrival which could be served outside. The staff were very helpful an the facilities were great. The highlight was the food in the retaurant for our evening meal, absolutely delicious and a great selection. The only down side was that the outdoor hot tub had to be reserved in advance and we weren't aware of this so we didn't get to use it.we would definitely go back as the walk to Cat bells was just directly opposite the hotel and the service was great.

Helpful?
Thank joolsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After having afternoon tea here some years ago, we've always wanted to stay so our 44th wedding anniversary was the perfect reason. We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, on a corner with views over the gardens and to the main car access at the front. The deal included Pimms and strawberries on arrival which was delicious, along with nuts and olives. The sun broke through on cue, so we enjoyed a walk up to the falls in the company of other guests. The meal was superb, beautifully presented and absolutely wonderful. A truly memorable way to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: They're all superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel last week to celebrate a birthday and fellwalking

The hotel was relaxed, comfortable, and the atmosphere was very good. The evening meal was very good...excellent choice of vegetarian meals. Service was very diligent and generally well paced. Wines good...an excellent Chilean gewertztraminer of particular note

We had a standard room....clean, comfortable and reasonably well appointed. View virtually non existent....just the roof of the kitchen, with standing water and extractor fan. The room was unberably hot (and this after the previous weeks hot spell) although the subsequent request and provision of a fan meant it was tolerable

Enjoyable, and we will return...just a feeling it should have been even better..............

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have very little view......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel not only for its location, professional service and wonderful staff. I felt so welcomed & they catered for my needs at very high standards. Thank you all so much for having & looking after us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing