We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on Dervent Water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel on Dervent Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and stayed for 2 nights on a Bed, Breakfast and Dinner offer. The hotel is excellent; the staff are all very friendly, helpful and professional. The food is excellent. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the amenities are excellent and a great base for the Dervent Water lakes area. We both can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trubador09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    505
    170
    77
    72
See reviews for
367
1,230
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Four of us went for a spa afternoon at the Lodore Falls Hotel. This is our 3rd visit and can only say good words for it. A family ticket is £24. Use of two pools, sauna, gym and hot tub. We then had a round of sandwiches in the garden afterwards. Lovely setting, good friendly service and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilly97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel for spa days twice during our holiday in the lakes and would totally recommend. The spa facilities are good and the food delicious. The staff are excellent, particularly Peter on the spa team who was so kind and attentive on both days. He really made our visit extra special. Samantha was also so professional and friendly, she really is a credit to the spa team at the hotel. If you're in the lakes and fancy a pamper day, I would be more than happy to recommend the experience at the Lodore Falls.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 459shirleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The outlook from lakeview rooms over Derwent water is ever changing from morning to evening and brilliant sun to misting rain. Although there is a public road within metres of the front of the hotel, judicious use of double glazing virtually nullifies traffic noise. The rooms are somewhat dated but have the essentials, effective shower, desk, old but working TV, queen sized bed,etc. The public areas are also dated but effective and the restaurant was almost full every meal we had there over two days with what appear to be European waiting staff, keen, but not fully trained. When I ordered a Meursault from the waitress who asked for my wine order, she asked its number from the wine list. There are two fixed price menus, not a la carte, which is a bit irritating if the main course you wish to order is on the wrong menu or if you only wish to order a single course meal.The quality of the food, and we had all three meals there, is excellent. Their roast sirloin was tender and pink with perfect Yorkshire puddings. For a very busy kitchen, they did not miss a beat on food quality. Reception is reasonably efficient although the tiny, 3 people at a squeeze, ancient lift should be in an engineering museum.

Room Tip: The views from the Lakeview rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Got a half price spa afternoon with afternoon teas and wine all for £39. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The changing rooms were very small and cramped with 1 toilet and 2 showers. Average pool but limited space around only 2 loungers.Good sauna, I had an Indian head massage the treatment area was lovely and the treatment was 1st class. Afternoon tea was excellent all home made cakes and scones and plenty of it. Tea and coffee was available free all afternoon. The hot tub outside was fab very tranquil amongst the trees with views of Derwent water. Overall a lovely day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank farmhousesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Lodore Falls Hotel on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. The rooms at the back of the hotel look out onto a steeply wooded hillside so not as good as a lake view at the front but less expensive. The room was comfortable, very clean and tidy, and had good storage space for clothes and a sitting area. A very comfortable bed. We were there four nights and the variety of the menu and quality of the food could not be bettered. Staff were very attentive and clearly trained to a high standard. A wonderful stay with plenty of opportunities for walking and the town of Keswick nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were invited to a wedding here and so decided to book and stay overnight. Our room overlooked the lake and was lovely, the bed was so comfy it was a real hardship getting out of it in the morning (nothing to do with the Prosecco we were drinking the night before!). The staff couldn't do enough for us, they were all friendly and courteous and the service was excellent. Whilst we didn't eat in the restaurant as such, the wedding breakfast we had was delicious and breakfast the next day was freshly cooked to order and there was a very good continental selection as well. We enjoyed our stay so much we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel and had a lake view, the back of the hotel looks out onto steeply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel will be completely renovated at the start of 2017 and will be completed by mid-February 2017. From the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing