We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel with most things done very well”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with most things done very well”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed for two nights in the Lodore Falls and overall enjoyed the experience very much. We went on a special package which included some extras. One was cream tea on the afternoon of our arrival which was lovely. Huge scones, nicely served in the very comfortable lounge with a spectacular view. Another extra that we didn't get however, was a room upgrade. We were told on checking in that this wasn't available as the hotel was so busy. It certainly was busy and the small print of the deal we booked did say that the room upgrade was subject to availability. Having acknowledged that though, I did think it was dealt with in a rather peremptory manner and it would have been a nice gesture if something else had been offered to make up for not getting the upgrade, for example cream tea on day 2. The room we did have was comfortable and spotless with high quality furnishings and fittings. However it was also quite small, most notably the bathroom, where there wasn't space to put a toilet bag which was inconvenient.
The food (we had dinner both nights) was pretty good for a hotel. Although not top restaurant standards, it was very tasty and well presented with good quality ingredients. Given how many people they were catering for it was commendable and the dinner service was excellent. The same could definitely not be said for the breakfast service. On our first day we intended to take the bus to Keswick which only ran once an hour. We left an hour for breakfast which turned out to be insufficient. Although toast and coffee arrived very promptly (and stood getting cold whilst we waited for our cooked food to arrive) we waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and had to eventually grab someone to ask. He was rather surly about it and it was another 20 mins before one of the breakfasts arrived. In fairness the quality was good but there was no sign of my porridge which should have come at the same time. Once again I had to grab someone to ask and after another 5 minutes it eventually turned up. By then I didn't have time to eat it as we had to dash for the bus. It was in any case cold, so not very appetising. In effect I went hungry, as all I had to eat was half a slice of cold toast and some fresh fruit. The continental breakfast table was good with a varied selection and on the second morning I stuck to that. We mentioned our experience to the hotel manager that evening who was very gracious and apologetic. He clearly was as good as his word when he said he would look into it, since we were moved to a different part of the dining room the next morning, and the person in charge made a point of ensuring we had been served. On the one had it was good that criticism was properly received and action taken, but I think it would have also been a nice gesture to knock the cost of one breakfast off the bill which didn't happen.
Generally the service was very good and the staff extremely friendly, creating a pleasant atmosphere. Overall, we felt this was a very nice, well run, comfortable hotel, which could have been even better if it had just gone that extra step to recognise when things weren't quite right. I note the manager reads these reviews (a good thing I think). So I hope he will think about what I have said. I know we weren't strictly speaking entitled to the upgrade. but it was disappointing not to get it. We were certainly entitled to the breakfast and one of us (me!) didn't get it. One other good point is that extras like drinks were reasonably priced which is not always the case. We will very probably go back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    533
    181
    84
    73
See reviews for
388
1,281
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We have just returned from the Lodore falls Hotel, food great, location fantasic and staff first class. The outside hot tub was great in the snow.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outandabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east lothian
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Booked a 3 night midweek stay at the lodore looking for a relaxing break and certainly found it. Service throughout the stay was excellent. Considering that the hotel was fully booked service delivery in lounge bar and restaurant could not have been better .Breakfasts good - avoid the hash browns unless you want dental work. Drinks and canapes in bar a lovely start to evening and dinner choice , food quality and service all excellent. Wine list over priced compared to similar or some higher grade hotels.
Rooms clean, lots of storage - good views if you pay the premium.Our bed seemed unusually short - definitely not for 6 footers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Spent a very nice 3 day break at the Lodore, Staff were very welcoming and unfailingly polite, Room was at the back so not a great view and there was a large water stain on the wall opposite the bed, not nice to see when first waking. Breakfast was ok good choice but if you went any later than 0830 items like the hash browns were obviousley cooked for 8am and left on a hot plate to harden good for building a wall but not to eat!! However dinner was very good on all three nights with service much better than at breakfast. Only one down side the cost of a bottle of decent wine, They stock a very good red wine by Simon Hackett and charge £27 for it, this wine retails for around £10-12 so how do they justify £27 for a wine they probably by in for around £8 when bulk ordering? This said, overall the Hotel is very nice, in a wonderful position with great staff so well worth a vist.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We just wanted to have a quiet break with our daughter away from very stressful jobs. Although we were only there for two nights, it certainly de-stressed us and our daughter slept like a log.

We were very grateful to be upgraded to a beautiful lake view room. The food was absolutely wonderful, the best meal we have had in ages. Our compliments to the chef and the service was excellent too. We didn't think our daughter could behave as well in the restaurant on the second night, so ate in the leisure club, but we regretted this as the restaurant was so good.

We had a wonderful time and would unreservedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2010

My partner booked the hotel for a two-day break for my 60th birthday. I've stayed in hotels all over the world but none can match the warm welcome, amazing views and truly incredible food of the Lodore. If you're looking for a room with a truly stupendous view then ask for 209, where we stayed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiKie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We took the opportunity of a 2-night special break which included tea & scones on arival, dinner, bed & breakfast on the 1st night then bed & breakfast for the 2nd night. Excellent value for money as the scones served in the lounge were huge and tasty and the view out to the lake was lovely. Dinner was absolutely delicious with a good choice of wine and really attentive service without being over-bearing. We felt like we were being treated as special guests but everyone was treated like that. We were remembered and greeted in such a lovely friendly way by the staff throughout our break which was a nice touch. Breakfast was also excellent with a great choice & on the 2nd morning we had kippers which were a nice change and very good! The setting is beautiful - looking out to Derwent Water. Even though we didn't have a lake view the lounge and restaurant looked out to the lake. The room was fresh and clean with a decent sized bathroom and good quality toiletries. As someone who stays in hotels for work on a regular basis - I wish they were all like this one! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. On a quick note- we got a taxi into Keswick for dinner on the 2nd night and can thoroughly recommend The George as a place to eat but whatever you do - don't order the whole cow pie unless you are very very hungry...It has 1 kilo of meat in it!! Thankfully we listened to the waitress & my husband only had the half pie which he still battled to finish!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziQ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
959 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing