We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying a bit hard, but a nice hotel”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a long weekend on my first trip to the Lake District. The hotel was clean but the staff was not particularly helpful. For a hotel in the middle of the Lake District, they did not particularly cater to walkers. Also, while the room was nice, the restaurant simply tried too hard -- high prices and ostentatious service, but the food wasn't particularly good. I'd recommend the hotel because the location is unbeatable but I'd probably stay in a smaller B&B the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,043 - 2,049 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed for two nights in the Lodore Falls and overall enjoyed the experience very much. We went on a special package which included some extras. One was cream tea on the afternoon of our arrival which was lovely. Huge scones, nicely served in the very comfortable lounge with a spectacular view. Another extra that we didn't get however, was a room upgrade. We were told on checking in that this wasn't available as the hotel was so busy. It certainly was busy and the small print of the deal we booked did say that the room upgrade was subject to availability. Having acknowledged that though, I did think it was dealt with in a rather peremptory manner and it would have been a nice gesture if something else had been offered to make up for not getting the upgrade, for example cream tea on day 2. The room we did have was comfortable and spotless with high quality furnishings and fittings. However it was also quite small, most notably the bathroom, where there wasn't space to put a toilet bag which was inconvenient.
The food (we had dinner both nights) was pretty good for a hotel. Although not top restaurant standards, it was very tasty and well presented with good quality ingredients. Given how many people they were catering for it was commendable and the dinner service was excellent. The same could definitely not be said for the breakfast service. On our first day we intended to take the bus to Keswick which only ran once an hour. We left an hour for breakfast which turned out to be insufficient. Although toast and coffee arrived very promptly (and stood getting cold whilst we waited for our cooked food to arrive) we waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and had to eventually grab someone to ask. He was rather surly about it and it was another 20 mins before one of the breakfasts arrived. In fairness the quality was good but there was no sign of my porridge which should have come at the same time. Once again I had to grab someone to ask and after another 5 minutes it eventually turned up. By then I didn't have time to eat it as we had to dash for the bus. It was in any case cold, so not very appetising. In effect I went hungry, as all I had to eat was half a slice of cold toast and some fresh fruit. The continental breakfast table was good with a varied selection and on the second morning I stuck to that. We mentioned our experience to the hotel manager that evening who was very gracious and apologetic. He clearly was as good as his word when he said he would look into it, since we were moved to a different part of the dining room the next morning, and the person in charge made a point of ensuring we had been served. On the one had it was good that criticism was properly received and action taken, but I think it would have also been a nice gesture to knock the cost of one breakfast off the bill which didn't happen.
Generally the service was very good and the staff extremely friendly, creating a pleasant atmosphere. Overall, we felt this was a very nice, well run, comfortable hotel, which could have been even better if it had just gone that extra step to recognise when things weren't quite right. I note the manager reads these reviews (a good thing I think). So I hope he will think about what I have said. I know we weren't strictly speaking entitled to the upgrade. but it was disappointing not to get it. We were certainly entitled to the breakfast and one of us (me!) didn't get it. One other good point is that extras like drinks were reasonably priced which is not always the case. We will very probably go back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We have just returned from the Lodore falls Hotel, food great, location fantasic and staff first class. The outside hot tub was great in the snow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Booked a 3 night midweek stay at the lodore looking for a relaxing break and certainly found it. Service throughout the stay was excellent. Considering that the hotel was fully booked service delivery in lounge bar and restaurant could not have been better .Breakfasts good - avoid the hash browns unless you want dental work. Drinks and canapes in bar a lovely start to evening and dinner choice , food quality and service all excellent. Wine list over priced compared to similar or some higher grade hotels.
Rooms clean, lots of storage - good views if you pay the premium.Our bed seemed unusually short - definitely not for 6 footers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Spent a very nice 3 day break at the Lodore, Staff were very welcoming and unfailingly polite, Room was at the back so not a great view and there was a large water stain on the wall opposite the bed, not nice to see when first waking. Breakfast was ok good choice but if you went any later than 0830 items like the hash browns were obviousley cooked for 8am and left on a hot plate to harden good for building a wall but not to eat!! However dinner was very good on all three nights with service much better than at breakfast. Only one down side the cost of a bottle of decent wine, They stock a very good red wine by Simon Hackett and charge £27 for it, this wine retails for around £10-12 so how do they justify £27 for a wine they probably by in for around £8 when bulk ordering? This said, overall the Hotel is very nice, in a wonderful position with great staff so well worth a vist.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We just wanted to have a quiet break with our daughter away from very stressful jobs. Although we were only there for two nights, it certainly de-stressed us and our daughter slept like a log.

We were very grateful to be upgraded to a beautiful lake view room. The food was absolutely wonderful, the best meal we have had in ages. Our compliments to the chef and the service was excellent too. We didn't think our daughter could behave as well in the restaurant on the second night, so ate in the leisure club, but we regretted this as the restaurant was so good.

We had a wonderful time and would unreservedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

My partner booked the hotel for a two-day break for my 60th birthday. I've stayed in hotels all over the world but none can match the warm welcome, amazing views and truly incredible food of the Lodore. If you're looking for a room with a truly stupendous view then ask for 209, where we stayed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiKie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,722 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £129 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing