We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our lovely wedding at the Lodore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our lovely wedding at the Lodore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We got married at the Lodore last November, the whole weekend was magical.
We dealt with the wedding co-ordinator Sophie who was very helpful from us booking the wedding in June up until the day itself. Because we had guests from India who were strict vegetarian & found british food bland, we had issues with the wedding breakfast menus we were given. This problem was sorted out with a couple of phonecalls to Sophie & one of the chefs and our menu was tailored to perfection!
The only unfortunate thing was that we had several guests drop out before the day but were unable to reduce the numbers, even though it was well in advance...however, they were able to accomodate extra numbers easily!
The function room was freshly decorated prior to the day and we couldn't fault it at all, the room was set out beautifully & many of the guests comented on how lovely it was.
We arrived on the Friday evening & after having a few treatments in the beauty rooms, a large number of us met up for a lovely dinner in the restaurant...the food was fantastic & there was a separate vegetarian menu which was a huge bonus for us.
The beds were lovely & comfy, I stayed in the family suite the night before the big day & was woken several times by the rain bashing the window...inevitable really as it is the Lake District in November! This large room was perfect for getting ready on the morning of the wedding, we had the hairdresser, make-up artist etc and the bridesmaids, mother & mother-in-law, we still had space to eat our breakfast which was delivered up to the room for us.
We had booked a boat trip from the hotel launch & when we booked this back in the summer we were told that it would only be cancelled in extreme stormy conditions...well it was raining heavily on the wedding day & the boat company cancelled (Keswick Launch)...then they all went home leaving our crates of champagne locked in their shed & no way of contacting them!!! This was very stressful & I can only urge you to make sure you have a back up plan if you intend to use this company as they caused us a huge amount of hassle & avoidable stress on the day...we understand that the weather is not under their control but surely someone must have thought " hang on, we have 40 bottles of champagne in our shed & the owners are getting married today...I wonder if they will need it?!!!"...well apparently not!!
Thankfully, the breakfast was brought forward by an hour so the lack of the boat trip wasn't a problem. After the ceremony, there wasn't a dedicated room for the guests but everyone mingled in the bar area & around the sofas where our string quartet was playing...this was fine & not a problem except that the photographer didn't seem able to round people up for photos as everyone was so spread out...we have no family shots whatsoever which was disappointing! However, we got some lovely outdoor shots when the rain held off...breathtaking scenery which cannot be matched outside of the Lake District!
The wedding breakfast was a delight, the food was amazing, the service was 10/10! & the room was beautiful...After this, there was plenty of room for the guests to relax in & wait for the evening reception.
The evening reception was great, the room was plenty big enough, as was the dancefloor & the buffet was out of this world...The guests were really impressed
& I have some fantastic memories...shame it had to end at midnight!
All in all, I would definately choose The Lodore to have my wedding in again, it was a truely magical weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetelikiclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    508
    171
    77
    72
See reviews for
368
1,231
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

We could only manage to get away for one night to celebrate our ruby wedding so decided on the Lodore Falls. What an inspired choice. From start to finish everything was perfect. The reservation staff were extremely helpful as it was the Easter weekend and normally they only accepted bookings for a minimum of two nights. However, I explained the situation that we could only get away for the one night and they returned my call to say they would make an exception. How glad we were that they did. On arrival we were shown to a room named the Ulleswater with a lake view. It was superb in every way and we just spent the afternoon taking in the magnificent view of the snowcapped mountains across the lake. On to dinner and what an occasion that was. Wonderful food served by a friendly and attentive staff then after the cheese and port, a seat by a roaring fire in the lounge. Breakfast the following morning was equally as good with a fantastic choice of dishes. It was an expensive night's stay buy we came away feeling it was worth every penny and more. We will be back. Thanks to everyone at the Lodore Falls for making it a special time for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Just back from this Hotel with my two daughters. We enjoyed our one night in a great location. Room service was quick, the pool and sauna were great. In summary we all felt it was a great location and a good place to stay. No complaints. Free Wi Fi is available in the lounge, Rooms comfy with plenty of space. Very handy for the Boat on Derwent Water.
Breakfast was excellent, fast service and great quality food. Service from all staff was courteous and spot on.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davescunningplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a long weekend on my first trip to the Lake District. The hotel was clean but the staff was not particularly helpful. For a hotel in the middle of the Lake District, they did not particularly cater to walkers. Also, while the room was nice, the restaurant simply tried too hard -- high prices and ostentatious service, but the food wasn't particularly good. I'd recommend the hotel because the location is unbeatable but I'd probably stay in a smaller B&B the next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed for two nights in the Lodore Falls and overall enjoyed the experience very much. We went on a special package which included some extras. One was cream tea on the afternoon of our arrival which was lovely. Huge scones, nicely served in the very comfortable lounge with a spectacular view. Another extra that we didn't get however, was a room upgrade. We were told on checking in that this wasn't available as the hotel was so busy. It certainly was busy and the small print of the deal we booked did say that the room upgrade was subject to availability. Having acknowledged that though, I did think it was dealt with in a rather peremptory manner and it would have been a nice gesture if something else had been offered to make up for not getting the upgrade, for example cream tea on day 2. The room we did have was comfortable and spotless with high quality furnishings and fittings. However it was also quite small, most notably the bathroom, where there wasn't space to put a toilet bag which was inconvenient.
The food (we had dinner both nights) was pretty good for a hotel. Although not top restaurant standards, it was very tasty and well presented with good quality ingredients. Given how many people they were catering for it was commendable and the dinner service was excellent. The same could definitely not be said for the breakfast service. On our first day we intended to take the bus to Keswick which only ran once an hour. We left an hour for breakfast which turned out to be insufficient. Although toast and coffee arrived very promptly (and stood getting cold whilst we waited for our cooked food to arrive) we waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and had to eventually grab someone to ask. He was rather surly about it and it was another 20 mins before one of the breakfasts arrived. In fairness the quality was good but there was no sign of my porridge which should have come at the same time. Once again I had to grab someone to ask and after another 5 minutes it eventually turned up. By then I didn't have time to eat it as we had to dash for the bus. It was in any case cold, so not very appetising. In effect I went hungry, as all I had to eat was half a slice of cold toast and some fresh fruit. The continental breakfast table was good with a varied selection and on the second morning I stuck to that. We mentioned our experience to the hotel manager that evening who was very gracious and apologetic. He clearly was as good as his word when he said he would look into it, since we were moved to a different part of the dining room the next morning, and the person in charge made a point of ensuring we had been served. On the one had it was good that criticism was properly received and action taken, but I think it would have also been a nice gesture to knock the cost of one breakfast off the bill which didn't happen.
Generally the service was very good and the staff extremely friendly, creating a pleasant atmosphere. Overall, we felt this was a very nice, well run, comfortable hotel, which could have been even better if it had just gone that extra step to recognise when things weren't quite right. I note the manager reads these reviews (a good thing I think). So I hope he will think about what I have said. I know we weren't strictly speaking entitled to the upgrade. but it was disappointing not to get it. We were certainly entitled to the breakfast and one of us (me!) didn't get it. One other good point is that extras like drinks were reasonably priced which is not always the case. We will very probably go back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We have just returned from the Lodore falls Hotel, food great, location fantasic and staff first class. The outside hot tub was great in the snow.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outandabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east lothian
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Booked a 3 night midweek stay at the lodore looking for a relaxing break and certainly found it. Service throughout the stay was excellent. Considering that the hotel was fully booked service delivery in lounge bar and restaurant could not have been better .Breakfasts good - avoid the hash browns unless you want dental work. Drinks and canapes in bar a lovely start to evening and dinner choice , food quality and service all excellent. Wine list over priced compared to similar or some higher grade hotels.
Rooms clean, lots of storage - good views if you pay the premium.Our bed seemed unusually short - definitely not for 6 footers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel will be completely renovated at the start of 2017 and will be completed by mid-February 2017. From the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing