We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never recommend this hotel.”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This is the third time I have written a review of this hotel and someone keeps removing it. I was with a wedding party in December and didn't discover until several weeks later that the hotel charged my debit card an extra 100 pounds for damage to a dresser. This is an absolute crock. The groom was also charged the same extra amount for damage to his daughter's room. What a wedding spoiler that was. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank lazyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,073 - 2,079 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed here for a one day stop on route back from Scotland.
Check in is bit of a hassle as ther are insufficient car parking space at the main Hotel Car park, so it is a case of pull up, unload your own luggage, cart it up a short flight of stairs,go back to the car and drive it over the road to a separate car park, walk back,up the stairs again, then finally reach reception.

Our room was first floor level and reached by a tiny lift. The room was clean and adequate with a good view from the window.

At 5.00 pm,The bar was bustling with activity and was pleasant but rather plain and left no lasting memory of anything to note.

The Restaurant was clean and excellently managed by a Super efficient German Manageress who had eyes like a hawk and she quietley instructed staff and went about her own duties with Military precision. The Resaurant itself was somewhat cramped for space but the extensive use of mirrored glass made it seem larger than it actually was.
The decor was fresh and bright but the style was somewhat dated. The food was good but uninspiring.

Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and was a good self service buffet with the option of cooked food from the menu.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

If you're looking for a comfy hotel with pools, spa, nice bar, great food and for the most part, friendly staff, then this is the place for you. Oh, and Derwent Water is just across the road too! We had a great stay here!

When we arrived we found our room a little bit small but we asked if there was anything a bit more spacious and they sorted it out with no problem whatsoever. A big thank you to Alex at reception.

Would def recommend to a friend who wanted an 'away from it all, with some walking on the side' kind of experience. Go there - it's lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

A romantic break with my partner and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay, the location is superb, the food and accommodation were first class, I would have NO hesitation in recommending the Lodore Falls Hotel.


www.maturedatingonline.org

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78derngate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I have just returned from a weekend at Lodore Falls that my fiance booked for my birthday and he couldnt have picked a better place to go. It was absolutely beautiful, the staff was amazing, so helpful and kind and not in your face. The hot tub was the best. It was just the perfect weekend break away, i would love to go back

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The location of this hotel is fantastic for lovers of the Lake District. It has fabulous views of Lake Derwentwater and the surrounding fells, at the back of the hotel are the beautiful Lodore waterfalls. I have stayed at this hotel years ago but I must say it changed for the better-the rooms have been refurbished, the excellent leisure facilities now also include an outdoor hot tub. It is very family friendly and you can even bring the dog (which really helps when you are trying to persuade the kids to go for a walk! )
The food and service in the hotel were absolutely excellent and there was a real sense of "occasion" in the dining room without it being overly stuffy.
We had a fantastic 2 night break and I will definitely return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobthetarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My daughter was married last week at the Lodore Hotel and we had a fabulous time. The Wedding Coordinator(Sophie) did a wondeful job, very professional from the minute we booked the wedding over 12months ago.
Everything went very smoothly. The staff were not 'in your face' but were always on hand when they were needed. The sevice was excellent.
I throughly recommend the cruise on the lake to any one else thinking of getting married at the Lodore, it was really appreciated by our guests, many of whom had trvelled from various parts of the country to be with us.
29 of our guests(us included stayed at the hotel for the whole weekend-- Brill. is all I can say

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,029 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,754 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £110 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Hotel Improvement works 2017. We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand-new luxury spa, dining experience, and 18 new bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guest’s experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing