We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

My family and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years from the early 80s onward. We returned after a several year hiatus and spent a week in the Lodore House adjacent to the hotel proper. The hotel and the service has unfortunately gone downhill in the last twenty years. The house was not clean and looked about to fall over, the service in the restaurant was atrocious and inconsistent and the hotel was full of awful Brits who made faces every time one of us dared laugh out loud. The location is beautiful and the grounds are tremendous. That is about all it has going for it anymore. A shame.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on this site.

I do wonder why you have been so negative about your experience as my team and I remember looking after you and most certainly believed that we had done a good job of ensuring your comfort, a fact that seemed to be reflected in the gratuity left by your party.

As for your anti British comments, we welcome clients from around the globe with open arms and delight in the fact so many nationalities enjoy our beautiful part of the world. Funnily enough we do actually enjoy the sound of our guests "daring to laugh out loud"!

Kind regards


Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    514
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
375
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wigston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were a little apprehensive reading some of the reviews, but on staying there for 5 days, we were very impressed, excellent views and walking. hotel was comfortable, welcoming and the staff were excellent, helpful in every way. Food was enjoyable and plentiful. Facilities very good. We would stay there again. I suppose the saying is "you can please some of the people some of the time. most of the people most of the time but not all the people all of the time"

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougiembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. My team and I are delighted to read of your satisfaction with all aspects of your stay and we totally agree with your observation regarding previous reviews.

Thank you once and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to this most beautiful area again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We have stayed in this hotel twice, on both occasions in a lake view room, the first stay was fine, the room was large and well appointed and spotless with a view of the lake. However, when we returned recently, we were given a room in the newer section of the hotel, this was situated directly above the road and opposite the car park. The traffic noise was intolerable. The bathroom was very small, with a damp smell and mold growing on the ceiling. On complaining to the manager, he showed no interest at all, he agreed that he also didn't like that room! On asking if he cared if his guests were happy, he shrugged his shoulders.
If you stay here, check the room you have been allocated before you check in as they vary greatly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanetCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
I am most concerned by your comments and would ask that you provide me with some further information as who you spoke to about your room. We take great pride in our bedrooms as they have all been refurbished in the six years that Lake District Hotels have owed the property and there is not one room I wouldn't be happy to stay in.

Please call me on 017687 77285 or e mail stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk so that I can establish which member of my team dealt with you. In the meantime I will be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade on the occasion of you next stay with us.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed here last month for a night and were well looked after. The hotel is old fashioned and a little scruffy in places as it does need a bit of a makeover (especially in the spa). That said, it was comfortable and well appointed, and the staff were all very good. The service is also old-fashioned, but not in a stuffy way - it is traditional good service with personality - especially in restaurant.

Reception were also very good - the room we had booked was just down the corridor from workmen renovating a nearby room. We had to haul our bags over dust sheets and paint pots. When I returned to reception to tell them we weren't happy, they did just the right thing and put us in another room - they only had a nice lake-view suite left. Now the suite was like a throwback from the 70's: new bathroom but really old everything else. It certainly was different, but was spacious, comfortable and had a great view.

So overall, our stay was good. However, it is such a shame that a month later I get two junk emails at the same time, one saying 'please click here to complete your subscription to our newsletter' (I always tick the no marketing box). The other said 'Thank you, your subscription is complete'. Now, part of good service is respecting customers privacy. For this reason, service gets two stars instead of four, and the overall rating gets 'average' instead of 'good'. What a shame!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

My first experience of the Lake District was absolutely fantastic, but this was more to do with the location than the actual accomodation. The hotel itself was nice enough, but a little too pricey for what room we got. I probably should've requested another room, but we got a non-too impressive 'Fell view' room, that overlooked the ugly back of the hotel and lots of trees. Having said that, I had a look at some of the Lake View suites and they do look rather impressive, with stunning views of the lake and fells.

The room itself was not a bad size, was reasonably clean and the bed was a very good size. We took a travel cot for our young baby that fit in just about right. There was complimentary tea/biscuits, wardrobe space etc. The bathroom was a ood size and clean, and towels were nice, thick and absorbant - good quality for a 3-star hotel. However there was no A/C, and it was very warm even in low 20's temp, we had to get a small fan to cool us down...

We didn't eat at the hotel (went out to nearby Keswick instead) as the prices looked a bit too steep, however we had breakfast here, which was to a very good standard, with choice of a cold breakfast buffet and made to order English Brekkie. The staff were friendly and attentive (especially the head waiter, who acknowledged us by our names!).

IOur aim was to stay at a nice hotel but flexibility to visit nearby eating establishment; parking after 6:30pm was free so this was a good bonus (£6 for the whole day ).

Check-in at the hotel can be improved, as there was no-one manning the reception desk when i got in, but once there the staff were reasonably friendly and courteous; bit of pain to get luggage in, but was a small issue; could do with telling us a bit more about what is available at the hotel instead of us having to discover it for ourselves...!

All in all it was a good stay, but we were hardly at the hotel, would probably stay i na good B&B next time, but it's location and style made for a stunning break, where we explored around Keswick, Derwentwater, climbed the Catbells (breathtaking) etc; we then headed off to Wasdale for a stay in a B&B so that I could climb Scafell Pike, this was another story altogether...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed for one night only and I wish I had booked longer. The room we were initially given looked over a flat roof which was quite depressing and dark. However, after speaking to the Receptionist we were handed two further room keys and asked to choose which ever room we prefered. The room we stayed in was called the Garden Room which was bright , clean and very comfortable. Infact, the bed has to be the best I have slept in in any hotel, kingsize, crisp cotton bedding and wonderful pillows.
We dined at the hotel and had the four course evening meal which was very nice but I thought the menu could have been more extensive. Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice.
All in all a wonderful brief but relaxing break. One night is just not long enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_secret_garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

This is the third time I have written a review of this hotel and someone keeps removing it. I was with a wedding party in December and didn't discover until several weeks later that the hotel charged my debit card an extra 100 pounds for damage to a dresser. This is an absolute crock. The groom was also charged the same extra amount for damage to his daughter's room. What a wedding spoiler that was. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank lazyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing