We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for... and a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Perfect 2 night break. Paid extra for our Prestige room which was well worth it for a special occasion and we had lovely views, Such a relaxing and quiet location felt totally wound down. The staff were friendly and accommodating.The food was very good and the restaurant service was very quick, professional, finely honed and the staff worked very hard. Vio, The Assistant Restaurant Manager was a credit to the hotel. After a day out relaxing with a drink by the fire in the bar was lovely. There are also 2 other cosy sitting rooms to relax in. After dinner coffee is served in the conservatory which was another treat. The Travelzoo deal was exceptional value which included the 4 course dinner and cream tea on arrival. The rooms were tastefully decorated, spotless with plenty of beverages and toiletries. Will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

A beautiful country hotel in a gorgeous setting. The staff, decor and food were all wonderful. However, what really impressed me were the small touches, that make all the difference. Plenty of tea,coffee etc. in the room, lovely toiletries, nice soft robes in the wardrobe and very good quality toilet paper!, All in all, a wonderful stay and can,t wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday09England_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We booked two nights dinner b&b at this hotel and found it to be in a great location with numerous walks through borrowdale on the doorstep. We had fine clear weather and took full advantage of this enjoying the scenery. Staff were very helpful and friendly food was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights through a deal booked on Secret Escapes. Check-in was quick and smooth and we were made to feel welcome by reception. The cream tea on arrival was a nice touch and delicious.

Our room was recently and tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and a fair size. The dinner included in our booking was nice and offered good variety. Breakfast was plentiful and set you up for a day outdoors. Staff in restaurant and bar were very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was our second visit to the Borrowdale we upgraded to a prestige room with lake view we were not disappointed we had a large spacious room with a lovely bathroom and a well stocked tray along with sparkling water. The evening meals were of a high quality with a good choice. I would recommend the wine tasting as Steve was well informed and well travelled!

Room Tip: Worth upgrade for the extra space and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I took my mother here on a Travelzoo deal. From start to finish the 2 night break was absolutely top class.

We arrived around 4.30 and parked up in the very spacious car park. Check-in was very swift and friendly. The receptionist gave us a voucher for our tea and scones and was insistent that someone helped us upstairs with our bags but we declined as we only had limited baggage.

We then had our tea and scones. The scones were hot and very light and the tea and coffee were silver service.

At 6 we were booked in for the wine tasting. This was free and it was very informative and interesting and there was no sell at the end of it which I found very refreshing.

We went from there to the very cosy bar and had a couple more drinks before dinner. We had booked dinner for 8. The assistant manager took our food orders and told us to just go into the restaurant whenever we were ready. We went in at 8 as planned. The four course dinner was part of the deal and the food and service were absolutely the best you could ask for. The cheese trolley was superb with 6 or 7 huge pieces of cheese to choose from. The wine list is very extensive from the newly built walk-in cellar.

The rooms were of a good size and decorated to a high standard. The bathroom was newly refurbished to a very high standard.

A lot of the guests had been coming to the hotel for many years which speaks volumes for the place. It was good to see that even the hotel manager served on tables. No airs and graces here - everyone does their very best to make sure the ship runs perfectly - and it does.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned from a two nights stay and it was BRILLIANT! The staff were great, food fantastic; we even joined the wine tasting. We went with friends and at first our rooms were at different ends of the hotel but without hesitation we were located together in rooms 51 and 52. Both rooms are recently refurbished and have great views over the hills and as they are at the end of the building very quiet. We took a splash in the sister hotels spa which was free for access to the pool, sauna and hot tub. We can not fault our stay and would recommend the hotel and the rooms we stayed in without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms 51 and 52 are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
871 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £127 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing