We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Borrowdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just Perfect !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Borrowdale, which included the Royal Photographic Society's Northern Region weekend, and in every respect our stay was just perfect.
A lovely old building with character, friendly helpful staff, a really comfortable bed (Room 29),
top-class food (good size portions,well-cooked and well-presented,and with no delays),lots of individual sitting areas,and a warming fire in the bar to accompany a pint of Something Borrowed Ale from the Brampton brewery (clever isn't it - Borrowed Ale).
Although we were on the second floor and there isn't a lift, the staff were more than willing to help with our luggage.Swimming pool and spa facilities are available free of charge at the nearby sister hotel, the Lodore Falls.
It's clearly a family-friendly and dog-friendly hotel and we were aware of perhaps 4 generations of the same family in residence at the time of our stay.It's the sort of place with a loyal clientele,who return on a regular basis.
There are little touches of quality everywhere,indicating that much thought has been given to ensuring guests' comfort and satisfaction.
We're already booked in for a return visit next year - it can't come soon enough !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
We are delighted to read your review of your recent stay with us at The Borrowdale hotel and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.
The Borrowdale valley is a beautiful part of the world and is a wonderful area for photography any time of the year.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Borrowdale Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    252
    87
    41
    24
See reviews for
121
612
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
STOCKTON-ON-TEES
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay booked through Travel Zoo. This included Tea and a slice of malt loaf when we arrived and a wine tasting experience at 6pm. The wine tasting was conducted in an extremely professional manner and was worth doing.
We upgraded to a classic room and as previously mentioned in reviews, this is certainly preferable due to an increase in size over the standard room.
Food was much better than we expected and this in conjunction with excellent service throughout made our experience so special at this hotel. Well done the management for creating this welcoming atmosphere. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a classic or superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockton_on_teesIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review.We try to create a warm and welcoming hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My kids and I have just had three nights at The Borrowdale Hotel. A hotel my late husband and I have been to many times over the past 25 years. As usual, we weren't let down and the hotel made the children and I feel relaxed the minute we walked through the door. I was nervous returning on our own but all the staff were superb! Charlie, in particular was an absolute star, playing cards and interacting with the children. The rooms were clean, very comfortable, with modern bathrooms and stunning views. All the staff were extremely friendly, efficient and went out of their way to help. The food was excellent with good choices and exquisite presentation. Looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a superior room, would definitely recommend, as rooms are much larger. Rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 447SallyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and it has been absolutely delightful. The refurbished rooms are clean and very comfortable, with modern bathrooms and lovely toiletries. All the staff have been very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with good choices, exquisite presentation and very tasty -it couldn't be faulted at all. The waiters were knowledgeable about the food and the wines. The wine tasting was very informative, too. We loved the open fires, afternoon tea and the great outdoors. From this hotel, there is so much to see and do, you don't need to use your car at all! We have had a wonderful rest here and I'm sure we'll be coming back very soon. Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

A lovely and relaxing holiday. Restaurant is very good - high standard of food and not expensive for the quality. Service was very fast as well. We are in our late 20s and were probably the youngest people in the hotel by quite a way, but that's not a negative comment!

We upgraded to a classic room and had room 28 which was on the front of the hotel with lovely views. The bed was very comfy and I couldn't pick any faults with the room.

There is a lovely path across the road from the hotel which will take you the whole way around Derwent Water.

Drying room is also very handy as we managed to get soaked both days we were there.

We booked through secret escapes and had a free afternoon tea. We got there at 4:30 and were told that the voucher was only valid until 5, so make sure you get there early if you want to use this. They also wouldn't change one of the hot drinks for a cold drink for my boyfriend as he doesn't drink tea or coffee, but he just had a glass of water instead.

Room Tip: Room 28 (classic room) has a lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed for a long weekend at this hotel and was very impressed with the staff, who went the
extra mile, when a colleague had a slight medical problem. My room was small, but compact, the bathroom made up for the size of the bedroom, large with a lovely big bath and bath towels that were not the usual face clothe some hotels give you!
The food in the restaurant was the standard one expects from a good restaurant in London.
As we were a photography group the hotel accommodated us by letting us book dinner at 8.30 so we did not miss the sunset!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If not a dog lover (which I am not) ask to have a room that does not accommodate them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your lovely review. I’m glad to hear you had a good time at our hotel - we’d love to see some snaps of that sunset you mention! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a lovely relaxing break. The hotel is very comfortable and the location is very pretty. Food was very good and service friendly. Wine tasting very good also. We liked the log fires and the comfortable lounges

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Felicity

Thank you for your review, I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wine tasting - we’re very proud of our cellar! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing