We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Borrowdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
592
294
111
47
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
592
294
111
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomwine tastingsilver serviceconservatory arealake districtsister hotelon arrivaldining roomsunday lunchsconesclassic roomcourse dinnerlovely hotelhigh standardshort breakfirst classtraditional hotel
Filter
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We held our wedding here 25-27 October 2013, hotel not licensed for marriages, but not a problem as we were getting married in the nearby village of Grange.
Food: Fri night meal excellent, good range of food for all guests (inc 1 vegetarian and 2 coeliacs). Breakfasts have good range of choices including cereals, fruit and excellent hot foods (Cumbrian breakfast very good).
Hotel cheeseboard is worthy of a mention as a particular feature!
Wedding breakfast was silver served by friendly well trained staff who ensured each table was served quickly. Even able to incorporate food choices. Beautiful food which our 80 guests complimented and obviously enjoyed.
Accommodation: hotel able to accommodate all our guests in various combinations. We had lots of children attending who shared rooms with adults; older children shared their own rooms, but hotel rules only allow this if one child is over 13. Hotel provided appropriate beds and travel cots for the younger guests.
Rooms were modern and nicely appointed, many with good views. Front rooms have stunning views across the valley and Derwentwater.
Staff: very good! Management excellent at getting things sorted and ensuring things get done! Restaurant staff are courteous and efficient. Reception staff also very helpful and pleasant. We had a guest who was unwell who received help from the hotel in contacting local NHS services etc.
All in all we wouldn't have done anything any differently and found the hotel a perfect intimate setting for a personalised wedding weekend unlike many of the local alternatives who seem to operate a wedding production line. This place tailored everything to our exact needs, making it a perfect weekend. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizzisouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked a 2 night stay with Travelzoo and we weren't disappointed. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent along with the service. Hotel atmosphere was very relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We are delighted to read your complimenting review of your recent stay with us at The Borrowdale hotel and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery Lake District hotels are renowned for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Borrowdale Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at The Borrowdale 25-27 October to share in the celebrations of our friends' wedding. The whole weekend was perfect - and I don't just mean the wedding. The food, the service, the comfortable beds, dressings gowns in the rooms, staff.....everything was lovely. The wedding breakfast was great, as were the (morning) breakfasts - I particularly enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The scenery was quite something and the fact that it didn't rain for the big day just topped off a great weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel....and we may be back to stay (with our dogs this time)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently it was a pleasure to help and look after the wedding party. We hope that the happy couple have a long and wonderful marriage and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming them to celebrate their first anniversary and hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Borrowdale, which included the Royal Photographic Society's Northern Region weekend, and in every respect our stay was just perfect.
A lovely old building with character, friendly helpful staff, a really comfortable bed (Room 29),
top-class food (good size portions,well-cooked and well-presented,and with no delays),lots of individual sitting areas,and a warming fire in the bar to accompany a pint of Something Borrowed Ale from the Brampton brewery (clever isn't it - Borrowed Ale).
Although we were on the second floor and there isn't a lift, the staff were more than willing to help with our luggage.Swimming pool and spa facilities are available free of charge at the nearby sister hotel, the Lodore Falls.
It's clearly a family-friendly and dog-friendly hotel and we were aware of perhaps 4 generations of the same family in residence at the time of our stay.It's the sort of place with a loyal clientele,who return on a regular basis.
There are little touches of quality everywhere,indicating that much thought has been given to ensuring guests' comfort and satisfaction.
We're already booked in for a return visit next year - it can't come soon enough !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We are delighted to read your review of your recent stay with us at The Borrowdale hotel and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.
The Borrowdale valley is a beautiful part of the world and is a wonderful area for photography any time of the year.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Borrowdale Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay booked through Travel Zoo. This included Tea and a slice of malt loaf when we arrived and a wine tasting experience at 6pm. The wine tasting was conducted in an extremely professional manner and was worth doing.
We upgraded to a classic room and as previously mentioned in reviews, this is certainly preferable due to an increase in size over the standard room.
Food was much better than we expected and this in conjunction with excellent service throughout made our experience so special at this hotel. Well done the management for creating this welcoming atmosphere. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a classic or superior
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stockton_on_teesIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review.We try to create a warm and welcoming hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews