We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our third visit to the Borrowdale and as always the service and the welcome one receives from the staff at the hotel is exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble whether you are asking the GM for update on the weather or for more Melba Toast in the dinning room from one of the excellent serving team. This is a hotel to relax in, to go for walks and to sit in front of fires with your dog. I believe there were 14 dogs on Christmas Evening and they all got on.

However there is always a fly in the ointment, not everybody likes dogs and although we as dog owners do our best to respect other people who may not share our love for our pets, there is always someone who makes an awful fuss as if it is the end of the world when your pet says hello. "Take that dog away " was a response from rather obnoxious man . Apart from that it was perfect, Good food, comfortable beds , a willing wife and a happy dog. What more could a man want?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaxtedMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for one night but could have stayed here for more, the room was on the small side but lovely and clean and very comfortable with all the little extras soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The bed was very comfy and we had a good nights sleep lovely and quiet. The food is superb compliments to the chef great job. The staff are so helpful they deserve a mention always polite and would do anything to help. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maciemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Having never stayed at the Borrowdale before, we were delighted we booked it. It is in one of the prettiest parts of the lake district and there are some fantastic walks right on your doorstep. Although it was early January we were blessed with good weather - even the sun came out for us. The hotel staff were all very welcoming and keen to make the stay a pleasant one. The dinner menu was not extensive but everything was well cooked and presented. We had booked a superior room which was very spacious and well furnished although for us the bed was a bit hard, but everything else was fine.
We will be booking again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chesterwelshman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel puts on a very good show for Christmas and New Year. The decorations are superb, the hotel is warm and welcoming and all the staff are friendly and well trained.

We had a very enjoyable time over 5 nights and the gala dinners on 30 Dec and 31st were first class.

The rooms, especially the premier ones, are quite spacious and newly refurbished with good facilities.

The hotel is dog friendly and mainly the dogs are kept under control in the bar areas where they are allowed. However if you are not too keen on dogs beware of arrogant owners (not all of them of course) who expect you to love their dog as they do!

We did have a small issue with an arrogant dog owner but the manager was sympathetic but could not do too much re the situation.

However,despite the weather, which was wet wet wet (!) we had a super time

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on first or second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Have just spent 3 nights over Christmas at this hotel and really didn't want to come home!
Wonderful service...fantastic atmosphere... amazing staff. ... fabulous food!.
Thank you to each member of "The Team" for a Christmas we will never forget.
Can't wait for next year.
Leann Warrington

Room Tip: All rooms have recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here as always, ive been coming to the hotel since i was a baby usually for sunday lunch as we stayed in a cottage but as became ilder began to stay in the hotel.
It has never lost its charm and really is fantastic!
Nice log fires fantastic food and rooms and staff are great!

You can use the facilities at the ladore falls to which is good, so pool gym etc.

We stayed in an upgraded room which is well worth the money.


The prices are steep however you get what you pay for i suppose!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine130388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A return to the Borrowdale hotel near Keswick. All set up for Christmas as was the Lodore 700m away where you can use the pool indoor and hot tub booking essential. Food was first class staff very attentive well sited and parking is no problem. This was our third visit and we will return again. We were lucky with the weather day after a gale a few trees down on the lake side walk but were already being cleared by the national trust. Don't forget the lake boats only run at the weekend in winter.

Room Tip: Some rooms have access at ground level if stairs are a problem with car parking outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
871 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £127 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing