We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 day stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 day stay at the Borrowdale Hotel it was my first visit to this hotel. The service, food and staff were all excellent. Cath and Steve were very efficient as were the East Europeon staff. Steve gave us a very informative wine tasting talk. Unfortunately the weather was not too good but managed to go walking on 2 occasions. Would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Tatty666

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us, I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you were looked after by our team of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future and fingers crossed the weather will be better next time.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    263
    92
    41
    25
See reviews for
128
639
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Borrowdale Hotel. We have visited many times before and it is better than ever now. The bar and conservatory area has been beautifully refurbished and gives extra room for sitting and relaxing in addition to the 2 lounges. As the weather was pretty atrocious we spent more time than usual in the hotel and enjoyed lunches there as well as the dinner which was part of our package. We noticed that many of the people staying there were "returnees" which speaks for itself. The staff were friendly as ever and the service good. Our dog enjoyed his time there too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Lynne B

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear of guests returning to the hotel time and time again, as it highlights the fact that we are doing our jobs well.

We are happy to hear that you like the new look conservatory and bar area, it has provided the hotel with a whole new look and feel, which we are extremely happy with.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future and lets hope you have better weather next time.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We normally stay in Lodore Falls Hotel, so I was a little wary of booking somewhere else, as I am the type of person who always 'sticks to what they know'. But I am very glad I booked. The Hotel was lovely!! The food was great, and the staff were all so nice. We loved the wine tasting session, it's a great little extra! We were in room 18 and it was lovely and big and so nice and quiet at night, I had the best couple of nights sleep I have had in ages! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Tui A

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us, I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that it was worthwhile trying somewhere new. Our wine tasting evenings are a great little extra to enjoy during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Borrowdale Hotel was a really good with a relaxed atmosphere.
The room was clean, well laid out, had a great view of Derwentwater and the bathroom was modern.
The recent ground floor improvements provide a wonderful bar, lounge & conservatory.
We really enjoyed the food and restaurant. Each night there was a different menu of delectable food to choose from. The wine list was so extensive it took me ages to choose. The staff were so good - efficiency, attentive & entertaining - they are a credit.
I can thoroughly recommend a stay here. We will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Rooms 27 to 29 on second floor have a good view of the lake. The hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear NeilCS

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review, from your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear your comments and we are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend the hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Borrowdale Hotel.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in February 2014 and despite poor weather we managed 2 good walks straight from the hotel. The hotel is at the foot of Derwentwater and the road from Keswick was blocked, but the hotel had sent a diversion route about a week before, which was most helpful of them. The hotel has cosy lounges with open fires and a nice oak-panelled bar. The food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast, although the dining room is very brightly lit at dinner time. The general manager gave new arrivals a wine tasting which was most enjoyable, and there is an extensive and very reasonably priced wine list
The room had a nice view up Borrowdale, was small, but well furnished and adequate for a short stay.
Guests can use the leisure facilities at the Lodore Falls Hotel a few minutes walk up the road, but we did not do that. If you want to use the outside hot tub at the Lodore, you need to book well in advance
This is an ideal hotel for a Lake District break. There seemed to be many regular visitors and if you want to do walking or just sitting in the lounge this is a lovely hotel. The staff were all friendly and efficient
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njwoodhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Aliwoodh

Thank you so much for your lovely review, from your recent stay at the Borrowdale Hotel. It’s great to hear your comments and we are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend the hotel to others.

The wine tasting evenings have proven to be very popular and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Borrowdale Hotel.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for a 3night break for my wife's birthday along with our two dogs, Frank the Clumber and Stanley the Scottie and we all had a fabulous stay. We booked a Prestige room, no 27, as we needed space for the dogs beds and it was great with views across the Lake from the bedroom windows.We had complimentary winter pimms and crumpets on arrival which was served in front of a roaring fire in one of the lounges. Dogs were allowed all over the hotel except the bar which was great.
All staff were extremely friendly, Charlie always had a story to tell. Food and wine were first class both at Dinner and Breakfast. Stephen's wine tasting was light hearted and informative.
There are plenty of walks nearby, shame the weather was so wet, but we can't control that and did walk everyday.
We will recommend to friends and hopefully return in the future.
Many thanks

Room Tip: worth upgrading to a prestige room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beardsmore-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely 5 star review and kind comments about our staff. We are delighted to hear that you, your partner, Frank and Stanley enjoyed your stay with us. We warmly welcome dog’s and love to see them around the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Borrowdale Hotel soon and fingers crossed the weather will be better for you next time.
Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Second visit to the Borrowdale on 6th and 7th Feb. Since our last visit all the rooms and most of the hotel have been refurbished the hotel looks stunning. The décor is as it should be, perfect for its setting. Just step outside the front door and the view is breath taking. On check in we were upgraded to a larger room with a lovely side view (44). The hotel staff were as lovely as ever, Stephen the manager needs a mention for running a tight ship, all the staff were polite and helpful. Boris seemed to be everywhere with a change of coat for each occasion. The food in the restaurant was as usual to a very high standard. The menu is placed in front of the restaurant each day so you can ponder over what might take your fancy while getting ready for dinner. I had the best sticky toffee pudding yumm, lovely Cath in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast gave first class service just the same as last time and is a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and I could not fault it (breakfast is cooked to order).
The open fires in the bar and lounges are perfect after a long day out in the cold.
I had one niggle and it is only a niggle that the new bath in the room does not slope at either end so you can't lay in it, the taps are on the side so you can't top up without burning yourself. Perhaps some sort of foam wedge might help with the slope. I have no idea why a bath was designed this way. There was a lovely range of bubble bath, shampoo etc.
In the toilets by the bar a nice touch was the hand towels which were face cloths. I have only seen this in the Savoy so I was very impressed.
We really enjoyed our stay and will come again, next time with our new dog.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleminx122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
385 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing