We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks for a wonderful break”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Myself, husband and 6 yr old daughter stayed for four nights DBB in June. The standard of food, accommodation and service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, professional staff. A huge Thankyou to everyone at The Borrowdale for making our family holiday so special, we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 29 was perfect for a family of three. Our daughter loved having her own space and TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ali Lamb

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay at the Borrowdale Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our hotel, service, facilities and staff have met our guests expectations, creating an enjoyable stay for you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Borrowdale in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    265
    97
    43
    25
See reviews for
132
651
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thank you for making my Mother in laws 60th Birthday and Father's Day a special day. Food was fantastic the service was very welcoming and friendly. The hotel was spotless. Value for money£19.95 for 5 courses you would be lucky to find anywhere else that serves such good food in such nice surroundings. We would love to come back and stay at the hotel for a short break to enjoy the hotels hospitality.
I will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astihult67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Astihult67

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation from your recent visit to the Borrowdale Hotel.

It is great to hear that we managed to make your Mother-in-laws birthday and Father’s Day a special treat for you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Borrowdale in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently enjoyed our second stay at the hotel. We love its simplicity and position with fab walks in every direction. The food is wonderfully presented and the many rooms where one can escape to with pint in hand are many. But i would like, if i may, say a huge thank you to the staff. They are the work horses of the place insuring that guests are not just numbers on a data sheet but real people with different personalities and wishes. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Forgive me for not remembering names but the lady behind the desk at reception is delightful, very professional and welcomes you from the moment you enter the hotel. Kath in the restaurant is a model of how to keep everything ticking over and yet still find time to chat with you. Then there's Boris - a big man with personality to match. he glides around the restaurant noting where everybody is and how far each table have got through their meal. His colleagues are so polite and treat you as if you're are royalty unlike many establishments ive had the misfortune to stay at.
So if you want a hotel which treats you like human beings, great food and beers, warm, comfortable and a great base to plan your walks for the week, you can do yourself a favour by taking a look and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Duncan

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff went out of their way to look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

With the newly refurbished Bar and Conservatory the renovations are now complete and this wonderful hotel can get on with doing what it has for many many years, making sure guests have a great stay.

The service was as always attentive and professional, The staff friendly and doing everything possible to make our stay perfect.

WE will be going back later in the year, this is to celebrate my wife's birthday, she first celebrated her birthday with lunch at the Borrowdale 40 years ago this year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Stuart23

Thank you for this fantastic review.

It’s lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have continued to visit us over the last 40 years.

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your wife’s birthday, later in the year.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My brother and I booked in for a short stay(only one night).
There was confusion in our booking, in that they had prepared a double not twin room.
The duty manager sorted it swiftly, and solved the problem with a free-of-charge upgrade to a superior room.
The room was superb, and dinner and breakfast both excellent.

Friendly, helpful staff, good food, magnificent scenery; what's not to like!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Billandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Bill and Sheila

Thank you for a great review from your recent stay with us.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Borrowdale Hotel ad that the mix up with your room was rectified.

We hope to welcome you back to the Borrowdale Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived 15 minutes early for our Sunday Lunch booking only to wait a further 50 minutes before they took our order followed by a further 15 minutes for our very sub standard meal to be served. I cannot fault the staff in the dinning room, although the barman could do with a smile, as they appeared to be coping very well with the busy restaurant. Our starters were okay but the roasts were tasteless with bland veg to match. I would strongly recommend finding a good restaurant in the area rather than this recently revamped dinosaur and don't be fooled by the 4 stars, remember that these are not necessarily given on quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CambieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First time visitor to this wonderful hotel, took my mum for an overnight stay on a Travelzoo deal.
Upon checking in they kindly upgraded us to a Fellside suite as it had two large single beds put together, it was lovely very large bathroom and settee area with large screen tv. We were blessed with the weather and sat out in the lovely gardens and indulged in the afternoon tea. The evening meal paired with wines was great.

Breakfast was of a high standard and freshly cooked to order.

The hotel looked newly renovated, the decoration is super and top quality, would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fellside suite which was super large bathroom and living area you can park your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmottley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Cmottley10

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us, I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
790 reviews
9.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing