We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Milnthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Me, my wife and our friends stayed one night here and had a lovely time. We checked in and the receptionist was very helpful (although we were not offered a welcome glass of sherry, I saw the decanter and if I'd asked I'm sure we would have been given a glass) Our room was on the ground floor number 47, it was pretty new and the decoration couldn't be faulted, it had a wet room and the suite was a good upmarket one. I don't usually use the t.v. in hotel rooms, but I did watch the news and the picture was very good. The bed was very comfortable and we both said that we had had a really good night sleep!
We unpacked and then went for a cream tea served outside in the sunshine. The scones were delicious and there was plenty of fresh butter, cream and jam. We went for a walk along the river Derwent, over the bridge and along the boardwalk and bridleway to the quaint village of Grange then back to the hotel. Dinner was exceptional we had a three course with a glass of wine with each. The food was really delicious the service very professional. After dinner there was complimentary coffee/tea and petit fours. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice on the menu.
We really enjoyed our brief stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    268
    101
    44
    26
See reviews for
138
665
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 3 nights there in June 2014 and had a very enjoyable stay. We had a Classic room which was spacious, and very well-furnished and comfortable. The meals were all very good with a nicely varied and interesting menu each day. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished with a very pleasant bar and conservatory looking out onto a pleasant garden. highly recommended!

Room Tip: Classic rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpt333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times, this was the first time after the refurbishment was finished, Hotel was just as we remembered, food was excellent, all staff very friendly and can't do enough for you, lots of doggie friends for Rydal and Layla, but equally welcoming for people without dogs, we were blessed with excellent weather, the Pimms and strawberries on the lawn was most welcome, expertly made by Boris. lovely walk around the lake, easy walks from the doorstep, will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Debra P

Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor

I’m so glad to hear that enjoyed your stay with us and that you have continued to visit us.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that weather is nice for you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautiful setting. Staff wonderful, room and facilities excellent, felt very welcome. Food delicious, service 5 star. Outstanding service from Florin, Boris and Nicolas among others. Magic as dog friendly ! We were so sorry to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sheila B

Thank you for your fantastic review from your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you were looked after by our friendly team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A cosy, friendly hotel, very relaxing and made to feel welcome all the time. Our room was clean and fresh and the towels and bed made up daily. The food was excellent and a wide choice to choose from. We was very lucky with the weather and was able to sit out in the evening or during the day in the lovely garden area. As always we took our fury baby stanley with us and he was made very welcome and sat with us in the evening. The walks around the hotel are breath taking, we had a long but enjoyable easy walk into keswick then caught the ferry back. Stanley enjoyed his daily swim in the lake where we met up with other families and doggies. We will be returning in the near future and can highly recommend the borrowdale hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Tracy T

We are delighted to read your complimenting review of your recent stay with us at The Borrowdale hotel and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery Lake District hotels are renowned for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you and Stanley back to The Borrowdale Hotel in the near future

Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for four nights this June, and really enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the staff friendly, and the bedroom, though not large, was newly refurbished, and the bed was comfortable. The public rooms were spacious and well-appointed, and the conservatory and gardens lovely. There are lovely walks from the front door. We will be going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear RogerC01

Thank you for your kind, helpful and informative review of the Borrowdale Hotel. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a lovely warm hotel with a very homely feel right in front of the lake. The food is to die for! Fantastic service in all aspects. Rooms are very well serviced and had everything I could need. I was especially pleased to have a double room for single occupancy which you very often don't get any more. As the outside temperatures were soaring it was extremely warm but the hotel provided me with a fan which was great.

Local buses run regularly through to take you into Keswick and all the spots of interest.

If you have time, take part in the cellar talk and tour, it's well worth it and Stephen was very interesting!

Well done Borrowdale staff, I look forward to another visit in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Stephanie M

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay at the Borrowdale Hotel.
I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were looked after by our friendly team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
398 reviews
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,639 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing