We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden, delightful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went to this hotel yesterday for afternoon tea (having booked). We ate outside, as the weather was glorious. The garden was extremely pretty and very well laid out. The tea was plentiful and delicious. The staff were very helpful indeed. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Borrowdale Hotel, but unsure whether we would return. Plus points; the hotel is in a great location in the beautiful Borrowdale valley, a few miles outside of Keswick. It is very close to Lake Derwentwater, so it's proximity for lots of walks and catching the boat at the nearby jetty makes it an ideal choice. The hotel has been recently refurbished, and the decor is clean and modern. The staff are polite & efficient. We ate dinner in the restaurant, and enjoyed the food and beverages. I had smoked salmon mousse to start, roast lamb and chocolate mousse for dessert, no complaints here. Now to the negative; we booked a Secret Escapes offer for dinner bed & breakfast in a Prestige room. There are 3 categories of room at the Hotel; Standard, Classic & Prestige. So we were expecting the room to be spacious and have views of either the garden or the lake. However, we were shown to room 1, a tiny room located at the rear of the building overlooking the car park. I immediately rang down to reception to let them know but was told this was indeed a Prestige room. However when I queried this with the manager, he was unable to show me other rooms to compare as 'the hotel was full'. Nor could they move us to a larger room. This disappointment marred what otherwise would have been a really enjoyable weekend, as the only reason I booked the deal was because of the Prestige room. I am still unclear as to whether this problem was down to Secret Escapes, or the hotel. Advice; book direct with the hotel; if you want to be guaranteed a Prestige room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for views of the lake. Room 1 is very small and located at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Angie367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for one night using a special offer. We had a standard room at the front with great view. The road in front did not cause us any problem. Room 10 was not very big with very small ensuite, but all good quality fittings and perfectly alright for short stay. We found the bed too hard unfortunately, but the room had all that we needed otherwise and was well presented. The dining room and other public rooms were lovely, and there is a superb conservatory and garden to relax in. The breakfast was good, and dinner also, though not overly generous main course
portions. I would recommend if you want a traditional, well appointed, friendly and spotlessly clean hotel in a great location, and I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BerylJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just come back from a 2 day break at this hotel and the memories I have are wonderful!
The room was lovely, the bed superb! We had a lunch & a dinner and the food was also superb!
The hotel is close to the launch which goes around Derwentwater and there is access to a track to take you round the lake on foot right outside the door. The staff are welcoming & efficient.
Definitely a hotel to return to!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rowan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a 2 night break at this lovely hotel, our second visit. Much improved, although it was good the first time! The recent refurbishment is excellent, everywhere looks good, clean and fresh, love the lounge areas, elegant and comfortable.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, very professional yet friendly. Food was delicious and well cooked. Just one point...expensive wine! it was very nice but in keeping with most hotels grossly overpriced!!
They welcomed our two small, clean and well behaved dogs, lovely walks not too far away and a good base for a drive to the beautiful lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Although this was a return visit, our first one was over 20 years ago! We had read that the hotel had recently been refurbished so when we saw a good Travelzoo deal we decided to book a one night stay and to tour the local area. Our reservation was for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal with a glass of wine included with each course. We arrived shortly after 2pm and were welcomed by the receptionist with no waiting. As we were filling out our details, the receptionist mentioned we had been given a complimentary upgrade to our room. We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to room 47 at the rear of the hotel. This was a huge and well appointed room, recently refurbished, with a massive king sized double bed, large 42" flat screen tv on the wall with plenty freeview channels to choose from, settee with two chairs and two vanity tables. The spacious wardrobe had automatic lighting when the doors were opened, and the drawer units had soft close mechanisms fitted. There were views out to the back overlooking the peaks and to the front overlooking the courtyard and gardens. The bathroom had a large bath at one end, two sinks on the facing wall and a large walk-in shower at the other end with good quality fittings. After settling in, we went back downstairs we were asked to go the conservatory where we would be served with tea and scones, also part of the deal. We then left to have a walk round Keswick and returned later to have a walk along Derwent Water. We had booked a dinner table for 8pm and ordered from the set menu. There was plenty of choice but no chicken dish - my wife orders chicken everywhere we go so she had to have something different! The white wine served with the starters was very nice, then a full bodied red with the main courses and finally a dessert wine with the puddings. Lovely food and good, attentive service. Coffee was then served in the lounge next door afterwards. After a good nights sleep, we went down for breakfast at 8.30 to find the restaurant quite full; lots of rooms had obviously been booked even though this was a Wednesday at the beginning of July. A full choice of breakfast items was on offer and set us up nicely for the day. All the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient, would certainly go back again and might not leave it another 20 years this time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RJM0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

my husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break early July with Secret Escapes. Check in was quick and efficient and we were shown to a room at the back of the hotel (No.50) although we would have preferred a room in the hotel this was perfectly acceptable - kIng size bed lovely bathroom and spotlessly clean. The complimentary tea and scones were a nice touch in fact we enjoyed them so much we had them again the next day (only down side we had to pay for them this time) The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner the only "beef" we had was with the wine list which we thought was a little pricy at around £20 for the cheapest bottle. The staff are mostly - we think- eastern european and they were all very friendly and efficient. A special mention for Kath in the dining room who informed us that she had been there many years - a recommendation in its self. We shall certainly return to this little gem but next time hope for for better weather (it rained all day on the 2nd day of our visit)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
849 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £106 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing