We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in the lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short break in the lakes”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our room was number 3 a standard classed room which was lovely but small with only enough room to walk around the double bed. The bathroom although clean and nice was again small with no shelfs for toiletries. The restaurant was beautiful and couldn't fault the food or wine, service excellent staff work very hard to please guests, The grounds were lovely very pretty with flowers all in bloom. Although the room was on a main road you could not here the traffic. You could get public transport outside the hotel to Keswick etc. We enjoyed our stay and would return if ever in the lakes again.

Room Tip: To have a large pay for premier if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bensue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    265
    97
    43
    25
See reviews for
132
653
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midhurst
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location and even though the weather had taken a turn for the worse by the time we arrived; we had a a pleasant time driving around and seeing some of the countryside and well as a riverside walk from the hotel with great views up Derwent Water. Room 1a was comfortable but a long way from reception though nearer the carpark which it overlooked. It was well decorated but the bathroom was a bit small and it wasn't particularly clean. Aslo the housekeeping generally seemed a bit poor, vacuum seemed to live at the top of the stairs and the door to the chambermaid's store seemed permanent open. Service in the restaurant was very slow, better in the conservatory. However the menu writer is 'imaginative' to say the least. I ordered 'Morcombe Bay Shrimp Trifle, with home baked bread'. We had a discussion about what it might consist of as it sounded interesting...perhaps bread soaked in sherry with a savory egg custard? No, it was a cocktail dish filled with iceberg lettuce and topped with said shrimps in a Marie Rose dressing...why didn't they just list it as Morcombe Bay shrimp cocktail ...Oh and I had to ask for the bread! They could do better.

Room Tip: Quiz them, it is big they will be very variable I should think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute on a deal and it exceeded our expectations. Stayed in room 4 which was tastefully decorated, exceptionally large and comfortable bed, The room did get very warm, not sure if this was because it was above the kitchen or if it was just because it is summer, but could have done with some airconditioning. Food in the restaurant and bar was to a good standard and the staff very friendly. Location couldn't be better, breathtaking views. Keswick only a few minutes drive, we took a boat trip around the lake (tickets purchased from the hotel which were discounted) and then a nice walk around the town. Would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanHolroyd, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for you positive review.

As you mention, we are fortunate to be in just the most fantastic location and during the exceptionally sunny weather we enjoyed when you stayed, being this close to Derwentwater and Keswick is just amazing.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I came for a 2 night stay in July, with my Mum, and my 2 small dogs.
This was our second visit, and we chose to return because last year we thourougly enjoyed our stay.
Like last year, our room was immaculately clean. The bed was comfortably, and the bathroom was clean and had products in it for our use.
The public areas were lovely and clean.
Our dogs were welcome anywhere that there was no food, and we enjoyed sitting in the bar area with them.
The staff were all friendly and polite, and the reception staff loved seeing my dogs in their rain macs!
Food, as usual was amazing! The portions looked small at first, but we were full up after eating what was put in front of us - and we both tried new things.|
We will be returning :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having just returned from the Borrowdale hotel after 2 night break we feel the need to extoll the virtues of this hotel. The staff were courteous , proffesional , smart & friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The whole hotel was emaculatlely clean and very well presented. Public lounges felt comfortable and inviting . Our room , Number 28 had a lovely view of the lake and hills beyond . The room was spotless as was the en-suite . We could not fault the food in the restaurant , a different menu each evening with plenty of choice . The food was beautifully presented and served by very efficient, profesional waiting staff. Wonderful choice at the breakfast buffet followed by freshly prepared hot borrowdale breakfast . All in all a very enjoyable stay and will certainly return again. (Probably many times !)

Room Tip: Best views from the front of hotel eg room 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwilson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a secret escapes offer, prior to our stay in Bowness. Hotel prices are rather expensive if paying full price. Lovely setting and situated in a lovely area for walking. We had hoped to climb Scaffell Pike from Borrowdale, but my husband had been advised not to do any hard walking just before we left due to injuring his achilles. However we did manage some lovely walks and a trip round Derwentwater on the lake. Part of the hotel has recently been updated and we stayed in one of these rooms, which was very spacious, although rather dark (we needed the lights on most of the time even during the day). We were booked on dinner, bed and breakfast and the food was excellent. The only complaint about the restaurant was the lack of wine available. The so called wine waiter was not very knowledgeable and our first choice of wine was unavailable. We decided not to have wine the second night as they were rather expensive. (Other people were also being told that the wine they had chosen was not available, perhaps they should not have such a vast range on their wine list if they cannot provide) Would go back again if another good offer came up, because of the beautiful setting and it is nice to go somewhere not normally within our price range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyPieLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is lovely, staff so attentive and very pleasant
We booked a package for room dinner and breakfast for two nights, they only had an executive room left so we upgraded, whilst the room was lovely and the facilities good, we were facing some old sheds and next to an extractor fan over the kitchens, for an executive room I would have expected a better view
Food was excellent, wine is a little expensive though
We were suppose to have received a bottle of wine but unfortunately they forgot to give it to us and we forgot to ask, we also missed the tea and scones

Room Tip: not room 6, not if paying for upgrade anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing