We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God's waiting room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We decided to opt for this hotel as a last minute booking as the Lodore Falls didn't have the room we wanted & it was absolutely fine. It did, however, feel a little bit like a residential home for the elderly, particularly at dinner but otherwise it was ok.
We made sure we had a refurbished room before we booked & we weren't disappointed. The bedroom & bathroom were decorated in a contemporary manner & it felt fresh & new. The only downsides were the shower - low water pressure meant it felt like a sprinkling watering can & also the cold water tap which took 5 minutes before cold water came out - varying between warm & hot !
The food was good overall - a starter, fish or sorbet course, main course & dessert. There was a reasonable choice every night + specials at an additional charge, although an extra £12 - £15 on top of the £29.95 menu charge seemed very steep.
Breakfast was good, although again, an additional charge of £2.50 for smoked salmon & scambled egg appears penny pinching when other hotels offer this at no extra cost.
I would recommend this hotel for a short break, although be sure to request a refurbished room prior to booking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2010

We have visited the Keswick area for more than 40 years and this is the first time we have stayed at the Borrowdale Hotel and, hopefully, it will not be the last. This is probably the oldest hotel in the Borrowdale Valley and is a lovely old building retaining many original features. We received a very warm welcome and the receptionist was typical of the rest of the staff - freindly, efficient and eager to please. I cannot understand the reviewer who complained about the standard and quality of the food - perhaps he was just unlucky - we are used to good food and were not disappointed with our 4 course dinner (including a very tasty Red Mullet in Saffron butter - or peach sorbet if you preferred). The wine list is very good and fairly priced. Perhaps the breakfast sausages could have been of the thick cumbrian variety (try Rob's butchers on High Hill in Keswick) but everything else was plentiful and well cooked. I sincerely hope they never get one of those awful 'do it yourself' canteen type toasters that comercial chains have - this elegant (brightly lit) dining room is definitely not the place for that. We also ate in the lovely conservatory and the food was very good. The Hotel has several lounges with log fires and lots of oak panelling - very atmospheric on a cold winters day. I would have liked to see a bit more reading material provided - perhaps a small library (this is only because the book I took with me was rubbish).

We had a warm comfortable room with lovely views and all the usual facilites. My only gripe about the room is that I hate carpet in bathrooms - this will possibly be changed to more hygienic flooring when the hotel is competely refurbished. I also wish that this, and all other hotels, would offer a choice of pillows - I usually take my own memory foam pillow but forgot to pack it and I found the pillows a bit hard - just a general observation.

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location with lovely food and attentive service - and guests can also use the spa facilities at the Lodore Hotel which is about half a mile away and owned by the same family. It is definitley worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed in the Borrowdale hotel room 29 on the 15/16/17 Feb it was not a refurbished room but a great front of hotel room and my dog George get his own jioned room. this is the second time at the borrowdale and we love it as its dog friendly. But i must mention the food FANTASTIC . all areas of the hotel are clean with great log fires. This hotel is just a place to chill after a few hard months at work. we hardly used our car as we can walk to Keswick ,cat bells, grange and the bowder stone. Charlie the barman always has a smile when you walk in the bar.

i recomended this hotel to my aunti and she rang to say her stay was fantastic as well

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ry40uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Our first break away to celebrate the new year in 6 years so we were looking forward to it & it didnt dissapoint us.Luckily reading other reviews we had a brand new refurbished room only completed days before we arrived.The updating is ongoing so try to get one of these rooms as some still need modernising.
We cant fault anything everything excellent- staff, hotel,room,food & the new year itinerary was very enjoyable .
Unfortunately we no longer have any dogs but this is the hotel to go to if you have some well behaved ones , very dog friendly.
Will definately return in 2010 to do some more fell walking.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We have stayed at the Borrowdale on an annual basis since 1980 when we wre there for our honeymoon !!!!! We have been regular visitors ever since although in the last years befor its recent take over by the present owners we did feel that the decor was getting decidedly 'sad' however the improvement made last year had pulled things up considerably.
The staff are wonderful and have been there for many years - not many establishments can hold onto good staff as has been the case here, one other great improvement is in the manager - the owner/manager Peter Fiduric was 'cold' and even after all the years we had been there was off-hand - happily things have improved. The dining staff are always happy and welcoming and it's great to see Cathy each time. Charlie is certainly a 'character' and adds to the relaxed ambience.
The bedrooms were very badly in need of refubishment but this is now being carried out thankfully.

We look forward to our next visit 11th Jan 2010 weather permitting!!!!!

Ivor & Avril Marriott

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoryDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed one night in early October. Noise from the kitchen extractor fan can be heard at reception so imagine what it's like in a "deluxe double" overlooking said fan. Was shown several other available rooms but was warned by the receptionist that they had not been modernised and were unlikely to be acceptable! She was right. Truly awful accommodation and totally unacceptable in h2009 - places like this really need to modernise or close down.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GS1200a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2009

We thank all are Guests for their comments, but would like to point out that you cannot hear the Kitchen fan at the reception The rooms are refurbished to a very high standard and the hotel retains its homely charm. With the restaurant due to be refurbished in January, the Hotel will be one of the best in the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend.a lovely hotel,just the job for a quite relaxing break.Only downside was the bathroom,which was far to small.Shower was not what you call a power shower.The upside was the dining room which was superb both in food,choice of food and service.The hotel is situated perfectly for touring the north lakes,or all the lakes as we did.There is plenty of parking space at front and secure parking at the rear.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
849 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £106 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing