We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay at the borrowdale hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2007

we stayed for two nights in this hotel.
the service was excellent, one of the receptionists though could have been a little more friendly, all the other staff could not do enough for us and were extremely pleasant.

The food on dinner bed and breakfast basis was excellent, and the service extremely good.

The room we had was small , but comfortable if a little warm at times.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2007

Had a lovely two night stay at this hotel.

This hotel appears to be fairly expensive for a 3 star and the room rates are per person per night. However, that rate includes dinner, bed and breakfast. The meals at this hotel are fantastic. Your table is pre-reserved all evening so there's no worrying about getting back for a certain time. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very relaxed and the serving staff are friendly and professional.

The hotel is right in the middle of Borrowdale with great scenary and walks. We took our dog with us and were made very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2007

My first visit was in 1947, just for a beer in the bar which was then located where reception is now. Since 1978 I have stayed there 40 times. There have been many changes to the interior, all great improvements. The Fidrmuc family do not stand still. I am one amongst dozens of regulars. There is a family atmosphere particularly at Christmas.

What makes a good Lake District Hotel? Comfort, good food, efficient and friendly staff, perfect situation. This hotel has them all.

Arthur Ray

arthur.taray@btinternet.com

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arthur.taray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fishermanray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mcnayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fussyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
lymm cheshire
18
Reviewed 6 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
454 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £117 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing