We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views fantastic area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
cumbrian in cumbria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful views fantastic area”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Another little treat for hubby and I staying over for dinner and one night at the Leathes Country House Hotel few mile outside of Keswick. It is located back from the road and in a very picture postcard area at the far end of the lake.Hubby and I were in room 6.I did detect a musty smell when entering the hotel from the back entrance as hubby missed the main turnoff up the the front of the hotel ..which may have looked grander then the rear of the hotel... The entrance does look quite grand on the website with the staircase and tiled reception area however, hubby and I did not accend said stair case but were allocated the rear accomodation. Still,the views were splendid. We had pre- dinner drinks in the conservatory which I found the furniture quite dated, binoculars were available to view the scenary. The hotel had been prepared for the christmas season and lit up with christmas trees and a roaring log fire in the lounge area. The bar was well stocked and a very pleasant young man assisted to serve hubby and I our fave tipple all evening...Dinner served in the dineing in very pleasant suroundings. Pear and brie, grouse and seasonal veg, choc torte for me. Pate, steak and sticky tofee for hubby... we are very predictable, bottle of pinot grigrio coffee and plenty of fave tipple...Not too keen on the starters too much Brie, grouse wonderfull meal could have been hotter, choc torte wonderfull. Hubby not to keen on his starter " nowt special" steak OK, pud, dee-lish.Dinner £65, added £4.95 supp for steak, wine £19.99 average price when eating out, bar bill a jaw dropping £65....had a good night! Room £100. As we were in the smallest room which is to be renovated I thought it quite pricey..Hotel is to close for three month for re- furbishment, I would like to revist again when the work is carried out and may be take our own "fave tipple".....

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel, larger than room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    27
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
216
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I visited this hotel to celebrate my birthday and it turned out to be the best present I had! The hotel is spotless throughout with a gorgeous bar, lounge and conservatory. Beautiful room with wonderful views and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is stunning but its greatest asset is its staff. Never has a vodka and coke been presented to a higher standard - worth making the trip for alone! The chef produces the most stunning meals served by Ben the waiter who was always friendly but unobtrusive. Jamie and Jane were warm and welcoming. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annielouh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

You really have to want to stay here. It is pretty far off the beaten track, with only one road in and out. Having said that, it is well worth the trip for a relaxing stay. We stayed for 3 nights in room 4 and our friends were in room 3. Both are on the front of the hotel, upstairs, with great views of the countryside. (The web site says "magnificent views of the lake and countryside". Well, the countryside anyway). Room 4 is the better of the two.

Showers are small with "rain heads". Not too great for women's hair-dos. I suppose that if you were hikers and walkers, which we are not at 70+ years old, that would not be a problem.

The staff is friendly, helpful and very attentive. Food is great for both breakfast and dinner. Presentation is well done. Parking is free.

If we were traveling in the Lakes again, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMnLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Such a wonderful find that I don't really want to spread the good word or too many people may discover it! Had a 3 night stay whilst doing some walking in the area and the Leathes Head Hotel was a lovely place to return to each evening. This small country house hotel is managed by a young couple who are enthusiastic, hard working and excellent hosts. Nothing was too much for them and they have an art of making you feel at ease and comfortable. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and the food and wine choices were excellent. Stayed in a superior room which was of a lovely size, nicely furnished with a lovely deep bath which was much needed after a hard day on the fells! Would definitely recommend and will defintely go back.

Room Tip: Room 3 had a double aspect with lovely views - even the bathroom had a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChampagneGirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have just enjoyed a relaxing break in a hotel that we had not previously heard of but will certainly visit again.
The new owners are gradually re furbishing and it will only get better.
The setting is lovely and we had coffee and flapjack in a lovely outdoor area with all kinds of birds feeding and views of skiddaw.
There is a very relaxed and homely feel which some of the 'grander' hotels we have stayed in lack.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The food is fabulous, evening meal and breakfast.
All in all a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked a hotel in this area primarily to explore Keswick and the surrounding areas and to have a relaxing romantic evening away. Borrowdale is a very central area to explore the Northern Lakes. Keswick, Ullswater and Castlerigg are just a stones throw away, amongst others. Borrowdale was a 'good quiet base', so we searched for a hotel in this location.

We opted for the Leathes Head based on the package being offered (half board), price and existing reviews, and boy, were we not disappointed! We were met on arrival by the Manageress of the hotel, who was friendly, chatty, warm, and remained attentive throughout our short stay. We were provided with a beautiful corner room in the Country House, which gave wonderful views over sprawling hills, brooks and becks.

The whole house was spotlessly clean with quaint country furniture, and as we settled for a drink in the sitting room, we were talked through the evenings menu by the management staff. After we had made our selections we were invited into the well lit and appointed dining room, to be served an absolutely delicious meal with a great wine selection. The quality of the wine and food completely surpassed both of our expectations.

We sat in the Conservatory to relax after our meal for an hour, and enjoyed the lovely scenery and tranquility before retiring to our room for a very peaceful nights sleep.

The standard of service and the standard of breakfast was also exceptional, as was the whole experience. We will definately be staying here again. Well done.

Room Tip: Smile, be courteous, ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Booked last minute through booking.com and on arrival was disappointed with room size, expected something on grander scale.
However, on inspection found it was immaculately clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom fantastic - well equipped etc.
Location is fabulous, views spectacular, welcome warm and friendly.
Food - beyond compare - evening meal -absolutely first class, dining room has pleasant ambience, especially if one is fortunate enough to have table in window, which we had.
Service attentive, but not intrusive.
Breakfast cooked to order - always a plus.
Would I stay at the Leathes Head again? Certainly! If there are rooms available - may be unlikely as I have recommended it to so many friends!
E W Sunderland

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainewinter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,050 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
940 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Property: The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Address: Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing