We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leathes Head

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Leathes Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A beautiful country house with a lovely garden and views. We were escorted to our room which was charming. Breakfast was beautifully cooked, while we ate, we sat and watched the different varieties of birds at the feeders, woodpecker, nut hatchers, finches.
We plan to revisit soon and stay for Dinner, if the standard of the breakfast is anything to go by, it should be excellent.
You cannot help but relax in this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    27
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
201
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night in mid-August. We had read some good reviews but we were mostly just pleased to find availability for a Saturday night at this time of year. The hotel surpassed all our expectations.

We arrived around 8pm after a long drive and the staff instantly made us feel relaxed and at home. The hotel is in Borrowdale, about 4 miles down the road from Keswick. It is set well back from the main road up its own drive so it is very quiet. Our room, a standard double, cost £115 for B & B and although the style was perhaps a little old-fashioned for our taste, the furnishing was good quality and the room was immaculately clean and a good size. The shower was powerful and my OH tells me that the toiletries were very nice!

Dinner was fantastic. We were a bit worried that we needed to hurry but the hostess told us to take our time so we started with a G&T in the bar. The waiter sat us at the table by the window looking out onto the beautiful scenery that surrounds the hotel then our food arrived - our starters of slow roasted belly pork and tian of crab and prawns were very good then there was a delicious champagne sorbet palate cleanser. The grilled sea bass main was excellent. The mixed grill of venison, beef and wild boar sausage was less successful as the venison and beef were a little tough, but we still enjoyed it. Blackcurrant meringue with clotted cream ice cream was fantastic and the cheese board was also good. Each course arrived promptly and the waiter was very attentive. The four course meal including coffee cost £32.50, which was excellent value for the quality.

Breakfast was of the same very high standard. The staff were happy to give us poached eggs instead of scrambled with our smoked salmon. We also ordered a packed lunch which was very good value at £7.50 for one and a half delicious sandwiches, a pear, a packet of crisps, a homemade flapjack, a mini Mars bar and a bottle of water.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and there is very little to fault. If you do stay, I recommend taking advantage of the excellent walking nearby. We did a short walk to Castle Crag which took about 2 1/2 hours for the round trip (http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/local-to-you/north-west/view-page/item579221/). There are fantastic views from the Crag.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here for one night in the superior room 4. The room was spotless and the views were stunning. Bathroom very well done though perhaps a tad cramped for a superior room.

The food was beautifully prepared and presented, only nighle I wasn't asked how I liked my steak and it came medium rare when I prefer well done, it wasn't a problem as it was sorted very promptly and efficiently.

Lovely breakfast on Sunday morning. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating.

I would certainly recommend the leathes head for an adult only relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of Keswick.... Near enough to visit but far enough away too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boosucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of July to cover some of the Coast to Coast route nearby. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. The room while a little dated was very comfortable and met our needs. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel on both nights and the standard was very high. The staff pitched their level of attentiveness just perfectly to meet our needs. We were also provided with a substantial packed lunch for our walk on the Sunday which we very much appreciated at the top of High Stile Ridge. We are looking forward to returning soon. The garden was a most pleasant place to take in the views on a summer's evening with a glass of Rose!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireCelticTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I booked a three night break, bed and breakfast staying in one of the superior rooms; we cannot wait to return. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a relaxing break.The hotel is in a beautiful setting, set back a short distance from the road with amazing views. The first thing that took us was how peaceful and quiet the area is.The staff were very helpful and the location is perfect being just a few miles from the centre of Keswick. The views around the hotel are truly breathtaking. The dinning room and lounges provide a beautiful and relaxing enviroment and the breakfast choice was very comprehensive. We also ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the superior rooms and the view from the bed room windows was amazing. The was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our 3 night break was a surprise for my husband on our 30th wedding anniversary, and it couldn't have been a better choice!
The hotel is set in beautiful gardens,with its own privated drive away from the road. We had a lovely cosy room on the ground floor close to the back door, which was perfect for our 2 dogs. There was even a hose for cleaning them down and a drying room for the wet towels.
The countryside was perfect for walking, of course, with walking available right from the back door.
I am so glad I chose dinner, B&B, because the chef is in a class of his own! I wish I could have taken him home with me and the charming waiter, Ben!
The hotel is warm, comfortable, clean, relaxing and beautifully decorated. The staff are a joy.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We had dogs so we were allocated a classic double, which was surprisingly good for a "dog"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My Wife and I had a really enjoyable stay at Leathes Head over the weekend of 6/7/8 July. We cannot fault the standard of service, comfort,quality and dinning experience.Great location too being only a few minutes away by car from Keswick. The hotel is under new ownership and it is clear the new guys are making a real effort with a bedroom refurbishment plan well underway.We selected to dine in both evenings and are happy to confirm that the food is of a very high standard, being prepared, cooked and presented with flair.
Our tip for the owners would be to offer a little more choice at breakfast for those who do not wish for something cooked and prefer more of a continental style approach to breakfast.
We stayed in room 5 which is a large very well equiped and newly refurbished bedroom of an exceptional standard. We did notice however that not all the bedrooms were of this standard.

Room Tip: Room 5 is by far the best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drazzi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head

Property: The Leathes Head
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Leathes Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing