We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit & birthday treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“second visit & birthday treat!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Husband and I booked for a well earned rest and also booked a special room as a treat for my daughter (the birthday girl) and her partner. We asked for the same room as previously - mainly for the fabulous views - best view from a toilet in the Lakes my OH reckons! My daughter had room 5 - newly renovated & fantastic - a local designer has done the most amazing job.Even down to the posh coffee machine - not to mention the double ended spa bath We'd arranged champagne + flowers for her arrival and everything was just perfect.The rooms were great - the food and the service was in no way lacking either- we thoroughly enjoyed everything - really it was all wonderful. We both work in the trade and know how hard staff have to work to achieve this level of satisfaction. Like Arnie - we'll be back!

Room Tip: room3 - great views room 5 - just all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    27
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
215
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at The Leathes Head Hotel. It was as good as the last time. There was the same staff and they had done their homework and seen that we had been before which was a nice touch.
The room was different but still very comfortable. The owner explained that the room was next in line for refurbishing which on close inspection we could see why. The hotel is very clean and fresh even though guests can take dogs as well.
The hotel is not suitable for children which is another reason why we like to stay there. You can sit in the lounge or conservatory and just watch the world go by which consists mainly of birds feeding outside. It is very quiet, ideal for walkers and the chef is superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetJohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Only stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was lovely (very clean) and the staff were friendly. The Hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the area is very peaceful and relaxing. We booked Leathes Head Hotel for our wedding anniversary treat and were very pleased with it. Our evening meal and breakfast were excellent. All in all a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireHolsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I changed my opinion on this hotel during our one night stay in August. We had decided to add an extra night in the Lakes impromptu and after seeing good reviews, we booked a standard room. The staff we met (although we only saw about 2) were friendly. Our room was I felt a bit unexciting, the bland pine furniture making it feel dated. The heating was on which we initially appreciated as there was a nip in the air - but then we tried to adjust the radiator, and the valve seemed to just spin, so we ended up uncomfortably hot for the night -- the hotel is locked at 10.30pm so we did not attempt to find a member of staff to help but just stuck it out. By the morning we were feeling a bit disappointed with the room. However here is where I then changed my mind a little: breakfast was in a charming high-ceiling room with two large bay windows overlooking the grounds. We seemed to be only one of two couples staying, so a window seat was set for us and we enjoyed a very leisurely breakfast looking over the garden and hills/Derwent Water beyond. The choice of breakfast was good and we enjoyed the American breakfast with hash browns. The same man who had checked us in served breakfast and brought extra toast and drinks with a smile. We then took our coffee into the lounge and sat for an hour flicking through magazines and enjoying the view - and felt so thoroughly relaxed that when we checked out, I was fully prepared to give the hotel a good review, despite my initial disappointment.
It would be nice to have newspapers available though - at least in the breakfast room if not delivered to your bedroom on request.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I have just returned from another relaxing stay at this hotel but stayed in room 5 the Superior Spa room this time. The room is beautifully furnished, spotless with the added bonus of the spa bath which us truly fabulous. The food as normal is outstanding and all the staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. We have been recommending this hotel to friends and family for a total relaxing and pampering experience because we know that they will not be disappointed in any way. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alphabet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A beautiful country house with a lovely garden and views. We were escorted to our room which was charming. Breakfast was beautifully cooked, while we ate, we sat and watched the different varieties of birds at the feeders, woodpecker, nut hatchers, finches.
We plan to revisit soon and stay for Dinner, if the standard of the breakfast is anything to go by, it should be excellent.
You cannot help but relax in this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night in mid-August. We had read some good reviews but we were mostly just pleased to find availability for a Saturday night at this time of year. The hotel surpassed all our expectations.

We arrived around 8pm after a long drive and the staff instantly made us feel relaxed and at home. The hotel is in Borrowdale, about 4 miles down the road from Keswick. It is set well back from the main road up its own drive so it is very quiet. Our room, a standard double, cost £115 for B & B and although the style was perhaps a little old-fashioned for our taste, the furnishing was good quality and the room was immaculately clean and a good size. The shower was powerful and my OH tells me that the toiletries were very nice!

Dinner was fantastic. We were a bit worried that we needed to hurry but the hostess told us to take our time so we started with a G&T in the bar. The waiter sat us at the table by the window looking out onto the beautiful scenery that surrounds the hotel then our food arrived - our starters of slow roasted belly pork and tian of crab and prawns were very good then there was a delicious champagne sorbet palate cleanser. The grilled sea bass main was excellent. The mixed grill of venison, beef and wild boar sausage was less successful as the venison and beef were a little tough, but we still enjoyed it. Blackcurrant meringue with clotted cream ice cream was fantastic and the cheese board was also good. Each course arrived promptly and the waiter was very attentive. The four course meal including coffee cost £32.50, which was excellent value for the quality.

Breakfast was of the same very high standard. The staff were happy to give us poached eggs instead of scrambled with our smoked salmon. We also ordered a packed lunch which was very good value at £7.50 for one and a half delicious sandwiches, a pear, a packet of crisps, a homemade flapjack, a mini Mars bar and a bottle of water.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and there is very little to fault. If you do stay, I recommend taking advantage of the excellent walking nearby. We did a short walk to Castle Crag which took about 2 1/2 hours for the round trip (http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/local-to-you/north-west/view-page/item579221/). There are fantastic views from the Crag.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
937 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Property: The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Address: Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing